跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
國家自然歷史博物館化石廳的恐龍化石 - 華盛頓特區史密森尼博物館的免費展覽

必須參觀國家自然歷史博物館新化石館的 6 個理由



不要錯過備受期待的“Deep Time”展覽,這是一個絕對的奇蹟,可以免費參觀,非常適合全家參觀。

經過五年的改造, 史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館 已經重新開放了 大衛 H. 科赫化石館. 耗資 110 億美元、佔地 31,000 平方英尺的展覽的主題是 深時,借用了一個科學短語,該短語說明了地球的歷史如何在數十億年間上演——我們認為的歷史只是地球過去的一小部分。

準備好驚訝、不知所措、參與、眼花繚亂等等。 深時 是多年來來到 DC 的最大展覽之一,應該在您的夏季待辦事項列表中名列前茅。 繼續閱讀,了解為什麼您不能錯過這場穿越地球科學和生物歷史的驚人冒險。

探索華盛頓特區的免費史密森學會博物館 - 非裔美國人歷史和文化、國家動物園、航空航天、美國歷史等

01

你將穿越數十億年

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 Deep Time 展覽 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館展覽

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 Deep Time 展覽 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館展覽

在其廣闊的範圍內, 深時 反映了聯繫、進化、滅絕和氣候變化的主題。 這種體驗囊括了數十億年的科學,通過令人印象深刻的化石標本、信息豐富的文本、立體模型、壁畫、視頻、交互式觸摸屏和可觸摸物體總結了許多時間段。

大多數遊客將從博物館的圓形大廳開始他們的旅程,第一次主要遭遇是與大約 15,500-11,500 年前(稱為第四紀時期)的美國乳齒象相遇。 從那裡,奇蹟永無止境——您將穿越恐龍時代(在那裡您將看到 67 萬年前的 霸王龍 準備吃掉一個 三角龍),了解過去的大規模滅絕及其巨大影響,了解氣候變化的影響,見證生命從海洋到岸上的演變等等。

02

展出的化石標本著實令人瞠目結舌

 

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的兩件恐龍化石在華盛頓特區國家廣場展出

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的兩件恐龍化石在華盛頓特區國家廣場展出

深時 擁有大約 700 個化石標本,其中許多標本以前從未展示過。 除了前面提到的 T.雷克斯 和美洲乳齒象,您可以凝視猛獁象、15,200-11,100 年前的巨型鹿、巨型樹懶和雷獸類哺乳動物、內布拉斯加州超過 30 萬年前的化石以及展覽中最古老的未變骨骼坐騎。 我們可以繼續前進,但我們不想破壞更多重大的驚喜。

03

交互式視頻和圖表突出重要問題並分享引人入勝的事實

 

自然歷史博物館的深度時間展覽的互動展示 - 華盛頓特區的免費活動

自然歷史博物館的深度時間展覽的互動展示 - 華盛頓特區的免費活動

新的 Fossil Hall 總共提供 13 個視頻和 XNUMX 個交互式觸摸屏,補充了其令人難以置信的文物展示。 視頻“我們如何改變地球?” 恰恰說明了這一點,而“地球的古熱”顯示了過去和現在之間的相似之處,以及古代氣候可以告訴我們什麼是未來。 一個觸摸屏闡明了人們如何解決氣候變化問題; 另一個題為“你的身體隨著時間的推移”,展示了人體的逐漸演變,每個身體部位都會觸發一段視頻,解釋為什麼該部位變得必要。 技術元素將在整個展覽中吸引您和您的思想。

04

Fossil Basecamp 提供有趣的實踐活動

 

自然歷史博物館 Deep Time 展覽中的化石——華盛頓特區國家廣場上的免費活動

自然歷史博物館 Deep Time 展覽中的化石——華盛頓特區國家廣場上的免費活動

Coralyn W. Whitney Fossil Basecamp 是一個互動區域,在整個過程中引入了重要的概念和主題 深時,靈感來自博物館的 Q?rius 學習空間。 活動由博物館工作人員協助和監督,兒童和成人遊客都可以參與並向這些工作人員詢問他們在博物館的工作。 演示將展示可觸摸的物品,這些物品將啟發遊客有關化石年代測定、化石化和進化的主題。

05

您可以在 FossiLab 看到化石是如何收集、準備和儲存的

 

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 FossiLab - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 FossiLab - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館

你有沒有想過化石是如何在博物館裡展出的? 深時的 FossiLab 提供了令人難以置信的過程洞察。 該空間由化石製備者和博物館志願者組成,讓遊客有機會看到化石是如何保存和準備在博物館進行科學研究和觀賞的。

06

詳細展示了氣候變化、其影響和可能的解決方案

 

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 Deep Time 展覽 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館展覽

史密森尼國家自然歷史博物館的 Deep Time 展覽 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館展覽

氣候變化部分和人類時代畫廊都深入探討了氣候變化的話題。 前者探索了古新世-始新世熱最大值,這是一種發生在 56 萬年前的令人難以置信的快速全球變暖事件,以及它如何幫助預測現代氣候變化的影響。 氣候變化繼續展示人類如何加速類似的變暖效應,以及他們可以做出哪些選擇來阻止它。 在《人類時代》中,參觀者可以看到人類在過去 10,000 年中如何在地球上引發了無與倫比的變化。 劇院空間詳細說明了我們的人口為應對不斷變化的地球所做的事情,觸摸屏顯示了您如何通過自己喜歡的主題和活動在這種響應中發揮自己的作用。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

6 Reasons Why You Must Visit the New Fossil Hall at the National Museum of Natural History in Washington, DC

Dinosaur fossil at Fossil Hall at the National Museum of Natural History - Free Smithsonian Museum exhibit in Washington, DC

Don’t miss the highly anticipated ‘Deep Time’ exhibit, an absolute marvel to behold that’s free to visit and perfect for the whole family.

After a five-year renovation, the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History has reopened its David H. Koch Hall of Fossils. The $110 million, 31,000-square-foot exhibit’s theme is Deep Time, borrowed from a scientific phrase that illustrates how Earth’s history has played out over billions of years – what we think of as history is just a small fraction of our planet’s past.

Prepare to be amazed, overwhelmed, engaged, dazzled and more. Deep Time is one of the biggest exhibitions to come to DC in years and should be at the top of your summer to-do list. Read on for more reasons why you can’t miss this stunning adventure through Earth’s scientific and biological history.

Discover free Smithsonian Institution Museums in Washington, DC - African American History and Culture, National Zoo, Air and Space, American History and more

1 You will journey back billions of years

Deep Time exhibit at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Free museum exhibit in Washington, DC

Throughout its expanse, Deep Time reflects themes of connection, evolution, extinction and climate change. The experience encapsulates billions of years of science, summarizing numerous time periods through impressive fossil specimens, informative text, dioramas, murals, videos, interactive touchscreens and touchable objects.

Most visitors will begin their journey from the museum’s rotunda, with the first major encounter coming with an American mastodon dated roughly 15,500-11,500 years ago (known as the Quaternary period). From there, the wonder never ceases – you’ll traverse the age of dinosaurs (where you’ll see a 67 million-year old T. rex preparing to eat a fallen Triceratops), learn about past mass extinctions and their resounding effects, see the effects of climate change, witness the evolution of life from the oceans to ashore and so much more.

2 The fossil specimens on display are truly jaw-dropping

Two dinosaur fossils at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Deep Time exhibit on the National Mall in Washington, DC

Deep Time features roughly 700 fossil specimens, many never displayed before. Aside from the previously mentioned T. Rex and the American mastodon, you can gaze at a woolly mammoth, a giant deer from 15,200-11,100 years ago, a giant sloth and the brontothere mammal, a fossil from Nebraska over 30 million years old and the oldest unchanged skeletal mount in the exhibit. We could keep going, but we don’t want to ruin any more momentous surprises.

3 Interactive videos and diagrams highlight important issues and share fascinating facts

Interactive display at the Museum of Natural HIstory's Deep Time Exhibit - Free things to do in Washington, DC

In total, the new Fossil Hall offers 13 videos and eight interactive touchscreens, supplementing its incredible display of artifacts. The video “How Are We Changing The Planet?” shows just that, while “Earth’s Ancient Fever” shows similarities between the past and present and what ancient climate can tell us about the future. One touchscreen illuminates how people are addressing the issue of climate change; another, entitled “Your Body Through Time,” shows the gradual evolution of the human body, with each body part triggering a video that explains why the part became necessary. Technological elements will engage you and your mind throughout the exhibit.

4 Fossil Basecamp offers fun, hands-on activities

Fossils at the Natural History Museum's Deep Time exhibit - Free things to do on the National Mall in Washington, DC

The Coralyn W. Whitney Fossil Basecamp is an interactive area that introduces important concepts and themes throughout Deep Time, inspired by the museum’s Q?rius learning space. Activities are facilitated and supervised by the museum staff, and both kid and adult visitors can participate and ask these staff members about their work at the museum. Demonstrations will feature touchable objects that will enlighten visitors on the topics of fossil dating, fossilization and evolution.

5 You can see how fossils are collected, prepared and stored at the FossiLab

FossiLab at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Free museums in Washington, DC

Have you ever wondered how fossils end up on display in a museum? Deep Time’s FossiLab provides incredible insight into the process. The space is populated by fossil preparators and museum volunteers, giving visitors the opportunity to see how fossils are preserved and prepped for scientific study and viewing in the museum.

6 Climate change, its impact and possible solutions are showcased in detail

Deep Time exhibit at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History - Free museum exhibit in Washington, DC

Both the Changing Climates section and the Age of Humans Gallery dive deep into the topic of climate change. The former explores the Paleocene-Eocene Thermal Maximum, an incredibly rapid global warming event that occurred 56 million years ago, and how it can help predict the effects of modern climate change. Changing Climates goes on to show how humans have accelerated a similar warming effect and what choices they can make to stop it. In Age of Humans, visitors are shown how people have launched unparalleled change on the planet over the last 10,000 years. A theater space details what our population is doing in response to the changing planet and a touchscreen shows how you can do your own part in this response through subjects and activities that you love.

Free Things to Do in Washington, DC - Discover free events, museums, tours, attractions and more