跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
本的辣椒碗的讚助人

華盛頓特區的 20 多家黑人廚師和黑人擁有的餐廳和酒吧



從當地美食到克里奧爾和加勒比美食,這些值得信賴的餐廳定義了該地區的餐飲場所。

華盛頓悠久的非裔美國人歷史及其作為來自世界各地的才華橫溢的企業家和廚師的熱門登陸地的地位,為該市已經繁榮的黑人廚師和黑人擁有的餐廳和酒吧社區增添了活力。 每次訪問都可以體驗到很多東西。 品嚐所有一流的菜餚,並通過每次預訂來支持社區 EatOkra應用, 原路返回 當地黑人廚師生活中的一天 並將您的日曆標記為年度 黑色餐廳週,當您可以享受超值餐飲優惠和獨家節目時。
 

下面,我們整理了一些餐廳、酒吧和咖啡館,以表彰一些以 DC 為家的有才華的廚師和當地有色人種企業主。 有些將帶您前往遙遠的國家,有些將提供其他地方無法提供的本地 DC 氛圍和品味。 他們的共同點是,他們定義了 DC 的餐廳場景,並邀請您深入了解。請注意,由於 COVID-19 危機,下面列出的許多餐廳此時可能僅提供外賣或外送服務。

01

本的辣椒碗

很少有人親眼目睹該地區的變化如此之大 弗吉尼亞·阿里,她和她的丈夫 Ben 一起開設了 DC 機構 本的辣椒碗 on U街 1958 年 XNUMX 月。 DC 標誌性的熱狗在 1968 年馬丁·路德·金被暗殺後的種族騷亂中,半煙中,阿里家族發揮了獨特的作用,因為他們在宵禁後仍然開放,為活動家和當地警察和消防員提供服務。 這家餐廳經受住了時間的考驗,經歷了 1960 年代後期導致 1970 年代和 1980 年代衰敗的騷亂、80 年代後期地鐵綠線的建設以及 U 街社區作為餐飲和餐飲場所的最終振興之後夜生活聖地。 說 Ben's 取得了成功是輕描淡寫的說法,因為這家古色古香的商店曾接待過奧巴馬總統和無數名人。

02

由 Jeanine Prime 創立,將特立尼達的美食運送到華盛頓特區。 這家餐廳的名字可以追溯到英國統治特立尼達期間被奴役的非洲人辛勤勞作的甘蔗田。 從這場悲劇中,Cane 變出了一份菜單,其中還包含西班牙、法國、東亞和印度風味,包括孜然五花肉和甜椒熏雞翅等菜餚。 試試 Paratha Tiffin Box,裡面有印度麵包,配上各種咖哩和酸辣醬。 Cane 在 2020 年 DC 米其林指南中被評為 Bib Gourmand。

03

噢噢噢噢噢

因其對靈魂食物的經典演繹而在當地和全國獲得認可, 噢噢噢噢噢 由在該地區出生和長大的著名廚師 Oji Abbott 領導。 樸素的餐廳提供南方舒適的菜餚,讓您感覺彷彿走進了奶奶的廚房。 鱈魚和翅膀(從燒烤、水牛、檸檬胡椒和照燒中選擇)都很受歡迎,而通心粉、奶酪和玉米麵包等配菜也不容忽視。

04

杜克埃塞俄比亞

華盛頓經常被稱為“小埃塞俄比亞”,因為它擁有眾多提供來自非洲國家的美味佳餚的餐廳。 杜克埃塞俄比亞 十多年來,它的特色菜品如kitfo(用辣椒粉混合香料和澄清黃油醃製的生牛肉末)和tibs(可以熱食或溫和食用的炒肉)等特色菜深受大眾喜愛。 U街街區. 任何 DC 餐飲鑑賞家都必須沉迷於 Dukem 的拼盤式餐點之一。

05

佛羅里達大道燒烤

被譽為世界上最古老的靈魂美食餐廳, 佛羅里達大道燒烤 自 1944 年開業以來,一直以善意和精心準備的食物招待顧客。 企業家 Imar Hutchins 於 2005 年購買了 Grill,該公司在 40 年前由 Wilson 家族擁有和管理。 哈欽斯保留了餐廳的所有魅力和風味。 您可以全天享用早餐,或者停下來享用他們受歡迎的家庭式晚餐,配上玉米鬆餅和兩面 - 就像它應該的那樣。

06

葫蘆茶滋補品

葫蘆她的根源可以追溯到 1976 年的紐約市,年輕的 Sunyatta Amen 在她父母的健康食品店和果汁吧工作時學習了來自世界各地的茶、食品和香料的藥用價值。 現在,Amen 承諾在她的社區創造就業機會和促進健康,她為她提供 100 種茶和咖啡混合物 布魯克蘭 店面和在線市場。 您還可以購買芳香滋補品、烤純素食品、康普茶等等。

07

甜蜜之家咖啡廳

流行 甜蜜之家咖啡廳 在 史密森尼國家歷史博物館由主廚杰羅姆格蘭特 (Jerome Grant) 帶頭,將帶您踏上與博物館藏品一樣龐大、引人入勝且複雜的歷史烹飪之旅。 餐廳供應代表四個不同地區的食物:農業南部、克里奧爾海岸、北部各州和西部山脈。 格蘭特從頭開始烹飪並使用當地食材製成令人垂涎的鯰魚男孩或紅薯麵包上的牛腩三明治。

08

Horace & Dickie 的海鮮外賣


20 多年來,這個樸實無華但備受推崇的外賣店讓您的味蕾興奮不已 H街NE. 可悲的是,那個傳奇的地方最近關閉了,但你仍然可以品嚐 賀拉斯和迪基 深情的味道在他們在塔科馬的地方和他們的 食品運輸車 在整個城市反彈。 當地人對炸魚、蟹餅、通心粉和奶酪、安靜的小狗、豆餅贊不絕口……很難出錯。

09

新素食咖啡館

業主弗農 (Vernon) 和林恩伍德蘭 (Lynn Woodland) 在 新素食咖啡館,它在華盛頓有兩個地點,一個在馬里蘭州大學公園,另一個在弗吉尼亞州里士滿。伍德蘭茲旨在製作吸引所有人的純素食品,製作炸雞三明治和芝士漢堡的創意,同時也提供香草藜麥、鷹嘴豆和姜味豆腐。

10

布科姆咖啡館

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Bukom Cafe (@bukomcafe) 分享的帖子

居民 亞當斯·摩根(Adams Morgan) 知道一切 布科姆咖啡館,一種社區主食,以其出色的西非美食令食客眼花繚亂。 有 goosi,一種起源於塞內加爾的牛奶米飯甜點,以及 fufu,一種您用手食用的粘性麵團。 我們還聽說 jollof 大米是必須嘗試的。 Bukom 還提供濃烈的雞尾酒和肯尼亞啤酒,並在周末晚上舉辦現場雷鬼音樂。

11

甜蜜的大堂

你知道嗎 國會山 是一家由麻省理工學院受過教育且愛吃甜食的工程師所擁有的精品麵包店嗎? 好吧,你現在知道了。 甜蜜的大堂總部位於 Barracks Row,由 Winnette McIntosh Ambrose 博士擁有,他是一位自學成才的糕點師,他調製具有國際風味的甜點。 溫內特贏得了食品網絡的 紙杯蛋糕大戰 在 The Sweet Lobby 開業的幾個月內,她就變成了明星,並將這家商店變成了那些渴望吃馬卡龍、脆餅和泡芙的人的必去之地。

12

牙買加餐廳內格里爾

內格里爾 40 年前由牙買加本地人厄爾·欽恩 (Earl Chinn) 創立,他看到了將自己的本土美食帶到這個國家首都的機會。 這家餐館現在在該地區有四個分店,所以可以說 Chinn 做出了正確的決定。 Negril 的菜單由一系列牙買加和加勒比特色主菜組成,從可可麵包到肉乾雞,再到朗姆酒蛋糕和椰子蛋撻等令人垂涎的甜點。

13

Sankofa

電影製作夫婦海爾和 Shirikiana Gerima 於 1998 年創立了這家可愛的書店和咖啡館,並以他們 1993 年廣受好評的電影命名。 在裡面,您會找到專注於非洲僑民的書籍和視頻,就像 Gerimas 的大部分作品一樣。 一個社區前哨,還提供一家咖啡館,供應早餐食品、帕尼尼、捲餅、冰沙甚至比薩餅, Sankofa 經常舉辦活動,包括電影放映和詩歌朗誦。

14

寶男孩吉姆

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Po Boy Jim (@poboyjim) 分享的帖子

這家家族企業 酒吧和燒烤 現在在 DC 有兩個地點——一個在 H街NE,另一個在 林藪. 加勒比食譜在豐富的菜單上以卡津風味進行詮釋,其中包括 District Po Boy(沙朗牛排、培根、普羅臥乾酪、蝦、remoulade 醬)和 Gumbo on H(安多維爾香腸、蝦、卡津風味雞肉、蔥油飯)。 Po Boy Jim 還提供早午餐和深夜餐飲,這意味著它應該在您週六​​深夜和周日清晨目的地的清單上。

15

安居房

Fried Rice Collective 的最新作品(該團隊為該地區帶來了一種新型的快速休閒亞洲餐飲) 奇科)是 安居房 in 杜邦環島. 行政總廚 Angel Barreto 曾與 The Source 和 CHIKO 的 Fried Rice Collective 廚師/合夥人 Scott Drewno 合作,將韓國烹飪提升到 DC 前所未有的水平。 現代烹飪與傳統韓國風味相融合,帶來誘人的美食,如炸雞配上棗鼴鼠、白燒烤醬和辣味辣椒醬。

16

MLK熟食店

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Arlando (@lowdohlivin) 分享的帖子

雖然 DC 已經將半煙和流行音樂放在了地圖上,但另一個家鄉英雄是 mumbo 醬。 這種辛辣甜的混合物很適合搭配翅膀、比薩餅和幾乎任何東西。 在 MLK熟食店 in 國會高地, 招牌醬汁裝飾盧克先生的炸雞三明治,配上奶油蛋捲麵包。 熟食店還提供各種經典菜餚,從豐盛的魯本斯到沉重的蟹餅。 將其中一種與朴素的檸檬水搭配,您就到了天堂。

17

DCity 煙房

品嚐舔手指的熏肉 DCity 煙房,來自pitmaster Shawn McWhirter 的完美燒烤等待著您。 DCity 的美國特色木煙變種包括史詩般的三明治,如 Meaty Palmer,它以五花肉和火雞胸肉為主角,上面堆滿了鱷梨、番茄和墨西哥辣椒蒜泥蛋黃醬。 我們也是坑熏雞翅、牛腩、肋條的忠實粉絲……看,去試試吧 一切.

18

這是獨家新聞

企業家卡琳塞勒斯落後 這是獨家新聞,開場就受到了熱烈的歡迎 哥倫比亞高地. 菜單上有很多好吃的:12 種冰淇淋口味可供選擇(包括咸焦糖、黃油山核桃和生日蛋糕)、一系列餡餅和餅乾以及招牌奶昔。 塞勒斯也來自該地區,並致力於將 Here's the Scoop 打造成社區中心,附近霍華德大學的學生可以在這裡交流,並且可以誕生該市的下一位企業家。 她還僱用和指導新興麵包師。

19

牛奶和蜂蜜咖啡館

每週 XNUMX 天供應早午餐, 牛奶和蜂蜜咖啡館 是一家屢獲殊榮的餐廳,起源於亞特蘭大,位於馬里蘭州鮑伊和學院公園以及弗吉尼亞州亞歷山大市。即將在華盛頓特區 H 街 NE 開設分店。 餐廳是與朋友和家人快速召開早餐會議或慶祝早午餐的理想場所。 Milk & Honey 行政總廚 Sammy Davis 是切碎和切碎的救贖明礬,而他的商業夥伴 Monique Rose 是該行業的資深人士。 兩人一起創建了一個菜單,裡面有南方人的最愛,你可以一次又一次地回來。

20

半煙

由前投資分析師安德烈麥凱恩創立, 半煙 結合了美食酒吧、餐廳和咖啡館。 佛羅里達大道的熱點顯然以其同名而聞名,這是一種在燃木烤架上烹製的深受喜愛的 DC 菜餚。 然而 目錄 比這更深入。 Snack Time 產品包括有趣的食品,如蟹肉薯條和 mac 'n 奶酪咬,而主賽事則為您提供什錦醬、蝦和糝和蝴蝶雞等菜餚。 這 Butter Me Up 菜單 堆滿了美味的三明治,HalfSmoke 也提供早午餐。

21

H餐廳

Martel Stone 是 The H 餐廳的行政總廚,該餐廳位於內部 聚會地點,一個精心策劃的 DC 社區,您可以申請加入 (網上). 斯通在真人秀節目中表現出色,例如 亞歷克斯與美國切碎的下一代. 在 H 餐廳,廚師將美國和非洲美食結合起來,創造出反映他自己背景和國際旅行的菜單。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

Where to Find Black Chefs and Black-Owned Restaurants & Bars in Washington, DC

Ben's Chili Bowl - Places to Eat on U Street - Washington, DC

From local favorites to Creole and Caribbean cuisine, these trusted restaurants define the District’s dining scene.

DC’s strong African American history and its status as a popular landing place for talented entrepreneurs and chefs from all over the world has added to the city's already thriving community of black chefs and black-owned restaurants and bars. There's so much you can experience with each visit. Savor all the stellar dishes and support the community with each reservation through the EatOkra app, retrace the footsteps from a day in the life of a local black chef and mark your calendar for the annual Black Restaurant Week, when you can take advantage of great dining deals and exclusive programming.

Below, we've compiled more than 20 restaurants, bars and cafes that recognize some of the talented chefs and local business owners of color who call DC home. Some will take you on a journey to far-off nations, others will provide local DC vibes and tastes no other place can. What they all share is that they define DC's restaurant scene and they invite you to dig in.

The Best Restaurants and Places to Eat in Washington, DC

1 Ben’s Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl in DC's U Street neighborhood - Where to enjoy all-American eats in Washington, DC

Few people have witnessed as much change in the District as Virginia Ali, who, along with her husband Ben, opened up the DC institution Ben’s Chili Bowl on U Street in August 1958. Purveyors of DC’s signature take on a hot dog, the half-smoke, the Ali family played a unique role during the 1968 race riots following the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr, as they stayed open past curfew to serve both activists and local police and firemen. The restaurant has stood the test of time, persevering after the late 1960s riots that led to decay in the 1970s and 1980s, the construction of the Metro's Green Line in the late ‘80s and the eventual revitalization of the U Street neighborhood as a dining and nightlife mecca. To say Ben’s has been a success is an understatement, as the quaint shop has hosted President Barack Obama and countless celebrities.

2 Kith/Kin

Chef Kwame Onwuachi James Beard Award winner - Black chefs in Washington, DC

Before the age of 30, chef Kwame Onwuachi achieved things chefs everywhere can only dream of. He released his critically acclaimed memoir, Notes From a Young Black Chef, which is now being turned into a feature film and Onwuachi also received the James Beard Foundation's Rising Star Chef of the Year award. If that wasn’t enough, he also reigns over the kitchen of the waterfront Afro-Caribbean concept, Kith/Kin. The modest-yet-sophisticated spot celebrates the chef’s heritage, from West Africa to the Caribbean and from New Orleans to New York. Pro tip: make sure you try the goat roti.

3 Cane

Channa from Cane by chef Peter Prime - Trinidadian food in Washington, DC

Chef Peter Prime has shown he’s ready for primetime at Cane, which he founded along with his sister, Jeanine. Chef Peter has transported the cuisine of Trinidad to Washington, DC after honing his skills at Spark at Old Engine 12 and at the French Culinary Institute, where he worked with well-known chefs like Todd Gray and Michel Richard. Cane’s name hearkens back to the sugar cane fields where enslaved Africans toiled during British rule in Trinidad. From this tragedy, Prime has conjured a menu that additionally features Spanish, French, East Asian and Indian flavors, with dishes like cumin-spiced pork belly and pimento-smoked jerk wings. Try a Paratha Tiffin Box, which features Indian bread served with an array of curries and chutneys. Cane was named a Bib Gourmand in the 2020 Michelin Guide for DC.

4 Ooh's & Aah's

Ooh's and Aahh's soul food restaurant on U Street in DC - Black-owned businesses in Washington, DC

Recognized both locally and nationally for its classic rendition on soul food, Ooh's & Aah's is led by Oji Abbott, an acclaimed chef who was born and raised in the District. The no-frills restaurant dishes out Southern comfort; you will feel as if you’ve stepped into grandma’s kitchen. The whiting fish is beloved, as are the wings (choose from barbecue, Buffalo, lemon pepper and teriyaki), while sides like the macaroni and cheese and cornbread cannot be ignored.

5 Dukem Ethiopian

@jenniferannconrad - Meal from Dukem Ethiopian on U Street - Where to eat Ethiopian food in Washington, DC

DC has often been referred to as “Little Ethiopia” for its plethora of restaurants that offer the delicious cuisine from the African country. Dukem Ethiopian has stood above the rest for more than a decade, its take on specialties like kitfo (minced raw beef marinated in chili powder-based spice blend and clarified butter) and tibs (sauteed meat that can be served hot or mild) endearing it to the U Street neighborhood. Indulging in one of Dukem’s meals platter-style is a must for any DC dining connoisseur.

6 Florida Avenue Grill

@gastrotacular - Breakfast at Florida Avenue Grill in Shaw - Black-owned restaurants in Washington, DC

Billed as the oldest soul food restaurant in the world, Florida Avenue Grill opened its doors in 1944 and has been treating customers with kindness and lovingly prepared food ever since. Entrepreneur Imar Hutchins purchased the Grill in 2005, which was owned and managed by the Wilson family for 40 years prior. Hutchins has kept all the charm and flavor of the restaurant intact. You can enjoy breakfast all day, or stop in for one of their popular home-style dinners, served with a corn muffin and two sides – like it should be.

7 Calabash Tea & Tonic

Guests at Calabash Tea and Tonic - Black-owned cafe in Washington, DC

Calabash’s roots go back to 1976 in New York City, where a young Sunyatta Amen learned the medicinal value of teas, foods and spices from all over the world while working at her parents’ health food shop and juice bar. Now Amen, who has stated a commitment to creating jobs and encouraging wellness in her community, offers 100 tea and coffee blends across her two shops – one in Shaw, the other in Brookland. You can also purchase aromatic tonics, baked vegan treats, kombucha and much more.

8 Sweet Home Café

@thestolenword - Ribs from  Sweet Home Cafe at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC

The popular Sweet Home Café at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, helmed by chef Jerome Grant, will take you on a historical culinary journey as vast, spellbinding and complex as the museum’s collection. The restaurant serves up food that represents four distinct regions: the Agricultural South, the Creole Coast, the North States and Western Range. Grant’s from-scratch cooking and use of local ingredients makes for a mouthwatering catfish po’ boy or beef brisket sandwich on a sweet potato bun.

9 Horace & Dickie's Seafood Carryout

@flavorsbychefscotty - Fried fish from Horace and Dickie's Seafood Carryout - Black-owned restaurants in Washington, DC

For more than 20 years, this unadorned but adored carryout spot has been exciting taste buds just off of H Street NE. If you’re looking for seafood with a whole lotta soul, Horace & Dickie’s should be your go-to. Locals rave about the fried fish, the crab cakes, the mac and cheese, the hush puppies, the bean pie ... it’s hard to go wrong. Come in with a smile, chat with some locals and then be on your merry way. Horace & Dickie’s also has a location in Takoma Park and a food truck that bounces all over the city throughout the week.

10 NuVegan Café

@howtobeveganinthehood - Vegan soul food from NuVegan Cafe in Park View - Black-owned restaurant in Washington, DC

Owners Vernon and Lynn Woodland cook up a 100% vegan menu at NuVegan Café, which has two locations in DC, one in College Park, Md. and another in Richmond, Va. The Woodlands aim to make vegan food that appeals to everyone, crafting creative takes on the fried chicken sandwich and cheeseburger, but also serving up herbed quinoa, chick peas and ginger-spiced tofu.

11 Bukom Café

West African dishes from Bukom Cafe in Adams Morgan - Where to try African cuisine in Washington, DC

Inhabitants of Adams Morgan know all about Bukom Café, a neighborhood staple that dazzles diners with its outstanding West African cuisine. There’s goosi, a milk rice dessert that originated in Senegal, as well as fufu, a sticky dough that you consume by hand. We’ve also heard the jollof rice is a must-try. Bukom also doles out strong cocktails and Kenyan beer and hosts live reggae music on weekend nights.

12 The Sweet Lobby

Did you know that Capitol Hill is home to a boutique bakery owned by an MIT-educated engineer with a sweet tooth? Well, you do now. The Sweet Lobby, based in Barracks Row, is owned by Dr. Winnette McIntosh Ambrose, a self-taught pastry chef who concocts internationally inspired sweet treats. Winnette won Food Network’s Cupcake Wars within months of opening The Sweet Lobby, turning her into a star and turning the store into a must-stop shop for those craving macarons, shortbread and éclairs that are to die for.

13 Negril the Jamaican Eatery

@dccheapeats - Jamaican food from Negril the Jamaican Eatery - Caribbean food in Washington, DC

Negril was founded 40 years ago by Jamaican native Earl Chinn, who saw an opportunity to bring his native cuisine to the nation’s capital. The eatery now has four locations in the area, so one could say Chinn made the right call. Negril’s menu is populated by a mélange of signature Jamaican and Caribbean mainstays, from the coco bread to the jerk chicken to mouthwatering desserts like rum cake and coconut custard tart.

14 Sankofa

Visitor at Sankofa bookstore and cafe - Black-owned business in Washington, DC

Filmmaking couple Haile and Shirikiana Gerima founded this endearing bookstore and cafe in 1998 and named it after their acclaimed 1993 film. Inside, you will find books and videos focused on the African diaspora, as much of the Gerimas work has been. A community outpost that also offers a cafe featuring breakfast items, paninis, wraps, smoothies and even pizza, Sankofa frequently hosts events, including film screenings and poetry readings.

15 Po Boy Jim

Po' boy sandwich with French fries from Po Boy Jim - Cajun restaurant in Washington, DC

This family-owned bar and grill now sports two locations in DC – one on H Street NE, the other in Shaw. Caribbean recipes are interpreted with a Cajun flair on the robust menu, which features signatures like the District Po Boy (sirloin steak, bacon, provolone, shrimp, remoulade sauce) and the Gumbo on H (andouille sausage, shrimp, Cajun-style chicken, scallion rice). Po Boy Jim also offers brunch and late-night dining, meaning it should be on your list of late Saturday night AND early Sunday morning destinations.

16 The Caged Bird

@foodtographii - Fried chicken and waffles from The Caged Bird - Great spot for soul food and weekend brunch in DC

Co-owner and executive chef of The Caged Bird, Meshach Cisero, turned a passion project into a successful restaurant and neighborhood gathering place. Initially a data scientist, Cisero began a food blog that showcased recipes and the author’s thoughts on a range of topics. The blog’s notoriety led to an appearance on Good Morning America, where Cisero was judged by the famous Gordon Ramsay. Before long, The Caged Bird was born, where you can savor authentic soul food during weekend brunch, dinner and late-night services (the restaurant is open until 3 a.m. on Friday and Saturday). The locale also doubles as an entertainment venue, featuring open mic nights, spoken-word poetry, DJ sets and trivia.

17 MLK Deli

Jerk chicken from the MLK Deli in Congress Heights - Black-owned restaurants and places to eat in Washington, DC

While DC has put the half-smoke and go-go music on the map, another hometown hero is mumbo sauce. This spicy-sweet concoction goes well on wings, pizza and, well, just about anything. At the MLK Deli in Congress Heights, the signature sauce adorns Mr. Luke’s fried chicken sandwich, which is served on a brioche bun. The deli also delivers on all kinds of classics, from hearty Reubens to weighty crab cakes. Pair one of those with a homespun lemonade and you’re in heaven.

18 DCity Smokehouse

Smoked barbecue meats and sides from DCity Smokehouse - Where to find the best barbecue BBQ in Washington, DC

Feast on finger-licking smoked meats at DCity Smokehouse, where barbecue perfection from pitmaster Shawn McWhirter awaits. DCity's wood-smoked variation on the American specialty includes epic sandwiches like the Meaty Palmer, which stars pork belly and turkey breast piled high with avocado, tomato and chipotle aioli. We’re also big fans of the pit-smoked chicken wings, the brisket, the rib tips ... look, just go and try everything.

19 Nocturne

Tapas and drinks at Nocturne bar underneath Sugar Shack - Hidden bars in Washington, DC's Shaw neighborhood

Your next hidden bar experience awaits in Shaw – all you need to do is take an elevator downstairs from the neighborhood’s Sugar Shack doughnut shop. That’s where you’ll find Nocturne, a funky-yet-intimate space from the mind of beverage director Hakim Hamid. Expect a menu that jet sets around the globe. Hamid takes you to Scandinavia, where savory cocktails include fennel and pine, or you can travel to Appalachia, where bourbon is the star.

20 Smith Commons & Smith Public Trust

Dishes from Smith Commons on H Street NE - Black-owned restaurants and places to eat in Washington, DC

Howard University alum Miles Gray III’s outposts – Smith Public Trust in Brookland and Smith Commons on H Street NE – are devoted to approachable dining fare and promoting the arts in a communal space. The tri-level Smith Commons pairs craft beers with seasonal favorites and cuts loose on the weekends with a DJ, while Smith Public Trust frequently hosts live performances on its stage.

21 Anju

Korean fried chicken from Anju restaurant in Dupont Circle - Danny Lee and Scott Drewno restaurant in Washington, DC

The latest creation from the Fried Rice Collective (the team that brought the District a new breed of fast-casual Asian dining with CHIKO) is Anju in Dupont Circle. Executive chef Angel Barreto, who previously worked with Fried Rice Collective chef/partner Scott Drewno at The Source and CHIKO, takes Korean cooking to levels not previously seen in DC. Modern cooking melds with traditional Korean flavors, resulting in tantalizing delights like the fried chicken complemented by jujube mole, white barbecue sauce and spicy gochujang sauces.

22 Here's the Scoop

Here's the Scoop ice cream shop and bakery in Columbia Heights - Black-owned business in Washington, DC

Entrepreneur Karin Sellers is behind Here’s the Scoop, which opened to great acclaim in Columbia Heights. The menu is packed with goodies: 12 ice cream flavors to choose from (including salted caramel, butter pecan and birthday cake), an array of pies and cookies and signature milkshakes. Sellers is also from the area and works to make Here’s the Scoop a community hub, where students from nearby Howard University can mingle and the city’s next entrepreneurs can be born. She also hires and mentors emerging bakers.

Discover the Real DC - Discover the most exciting dining experiences in Washington, DC