Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol
Schirmherr bei Ben's Chili Bowl

Über 20 schwarze Köche und Restaurants und Bars in Schwarzbesitz in Washington, DC



Von lokalen Favoriten bis hin zu kreolischer und karibischer Küche – diese vertrauenswürdigen Restaurants bestimmen die Gastronomieszene des Bezirks.

DCs starke afroamerikanische Geschichte und sein Status als beliebter Landeplatz für talentierte Unternehmer und Köche aus der ganzen Welt haben die bereits florierende Gemeinschaft der schwarzen Köche und Restaurants und Bars in der Stadt noch verstärkt. Bei jedem Besuch kann man so viel erleben. Genießen Sie alle hervorragenden Gerichte und unterstützen Sie die Community bei jeder Reservierung durch das EatOkra App, verfolge die Spuren von ein Tag im Leben eines lokalen schwarzen Kochs und markiere deinen Kalender für das jährliche Schwarze Restaurantwoche, wenn Sie von tollen Essensangeboten und exklusiven Programmen profitieren können.
 

Im Folgenden haben wir Restaurants, Bars und Cafés zusammengestellt, die einige der talentierten Köche und lokalen Geschäftsinhaber von Farbe erkennen, die DC ihr Zuhause nennen. Einige nehmen Sie mit auf eine Reise in ferne Länder, andere bieten lokale DC-Vibes und Geschmäcker, die kein anderer Ort bieten kann. Allen gemeinsam ist, dass sie die Restaurantszene von DC definieren und Sie zum Eintauchen einladen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass viele der unten aufgeführten Restaurants aufgrund der COVID-19-Krise derzeit möglicherweise nur zum Mitnehmen oder Liefern anbieten.

01

Bens Chili Bowl

Nur wenige Menschen haben so viel Veränderung im Bezirk miterlebt wie Virginia Ali, die zusammen mit ihrem Mann Ben die DC-Institution eröffnete Bens Chili Bowl on U-Straße im August 1958. Lieferanten von DCs charakteristische Version eines Hot Dogs, dem Halbraucher, spielte die Familie Ali während der Rassenunruhen 1968 nach der Ermordung von Martin Luther King Jr. eine einzigartige Rolle, da sie nach der Ausgangssperre offen blieb, um sowohl Aktivisten als auch der örtlichen Polizei und Feuerwehr zu dienen. Das Restaurant hat den Test der Zeit bestanden und überdauert nach den Unruhen in den späten 1960er Jahren, die in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren zum Verfall führten, dem Bau der Grünen Linie der Metro in den späten 80er Jahren und der späteren Wiederbelebung des Viertels U Street als Restaurant und Mekka des Nachtlebens. Zu sagen, dass Ben's ein Erfolg war, ist eine Untertreibung, da der urige Laden Präsident Barack Obama und unzählige Prominente beherbergt hat.

02

Hund

Hund, gegründet von Jeanine Prime, transportiert die Küche von Trinidad nach Washington, DC. Der Name des Restaurants geht auf die Zuckerrohrfelder zurück, auf denen versklavte Afrikaner während der britischen Herrschaft in Trinidad schufteten. Aus dieser Tragödie hat Cane ein Menü gezaubert, das zusätzlich spanische, französische, ostasiatische und indische Aromen enthält, mit Gerichten wie mit Kreuzkümmel gewürztem Schweinebauch und mit Piment geräucherten Jerk Wings. Probieren Sie eine Paratha Tiffin Box mit indischem Brot, das mit einer Auswahl an Currys und Chutneys serviert wird. Cane wurde im Michelin-Führer 2020 für DC als Bib Gourmand ausgezeichnet.

03

Oohhs & Aahhs

Sowohl lokal als auch national anerkannt für seine klassische Interpretation von Soul Food, Oohhs & Aahhs wird von Oji Abbott geleitet, einem gefeierten Koch, der im Distrikt geboren und aufgewachsen ist. Das schnörkellose Restaurant serviert südländische Gemütlichkeit, die Ihnen das Gefühl gibt, in Omas Küche eingetreten zu sein. Der Wittling ist beliebt, ebenso wie die Flügel (wählen Sie aus Barbecue, Büffel, Zitronenpfeffer und Teriyaki), während Beilagen wie Makkaroni und Käse und Maisbrot nicht ignoriert werden können.

04

Dukem äthiopisch

DC wird wegen seiner Vielzahl an Restaurants, die die köstliche Küche des afrikanischen Landes anbieten, oft als „Klein-Äthiopien“ bezeichnet. Dukem äthiopisch steht seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt über den anderen, seine Interpretation von Spezialitäten wie Kitfo (rohes Rinderhackfleisch mariniert in einer Gewürzmischung auf Chilipulverbasis und geklärter Butter) und Tibs (sautiertes Fleisch, das heiß oder mild serviert werden kann) U-Straße Nachbarschaft. Ein Muss für jeden DC-Gastronomiegenießer ist es, sich einer von Dukems Mahlzeiten im Plattenstil zu gönnen.

05

Florida-Avenue-Grill

Als ältestes Soulfood-Restaurant der Welt bekannt, Florida-Avenue-Grill öffnete seine Türen im Jahr 1944 und behandelt seither die Kunden mit Freundlichkeit und liebevoll zubereiteten Speisen. Der Unternehmer Imar Hutchins kaufte den Grill im Jahr 2005, der zuvor 40 Jahre lang im Besitz der Familie Wilson war und von ihr geführt wurde. Hutchins hat den Charme und Geschmack des Restaurants bewahrt. Sie können den ganzen Tag frühstücken oder zu einem der beliebten, gutbürgerlichen Abendessen vorbeischauen, serviert mit einem Mais-Muffin und zwei Beilagen – wie es sich gehört.

06

Kalebasse Tee & Tonic

Kalebasse's Wurzeln reichen bis ins Jahr 1976 in New York City zurück, wo eine junge Sunyatta Amen den medizinischen Wert von Tees, Lebensmitteln und Gewürzen aus aller Welt lernte, während sie im Reformhaus und in der Saftbar ihrer Eltern arbeitete. Jetzt bietet Amen, die sich zur Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und zur Förderung des Wohlbefindens in ihrer Gemeinde verpflichtet hat, 100 Tee- und Kaffeemischungen in ihr an Brookland Schaufenster und Online-Marktplatz. Sie können auch aromatische Tonics, gebackene vegane Leckereien, Kombucha und vieles mehr kaufen.

07

Süßes Zuhause Café

Der beliebte Süßes Zuhause Café im Smithsonian National Museum für afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur, angeführt von Küchenchef Jerome Grant, nimmt Sie mit auf eine historische kulinarische Reise, die so umfangreich, faszinierend und komplex ist wie die Sammlung des Museums. Das Restaurant serviert Speisen, die vier verschiedene Regionen repräsentieren: den landwirtschaftlichen Süden, die kreolische Küste, die Nordstaaten und die Western Range. Grants frische Küche und die Verwendung lokaler Zutaten sorgen für einen köstlichen Wels-Po'boy oder ein Sandwich mit Rinderbrust auf einem Süßkartoffelbrötchen.

08

Horace & Dickie's Seafood Carryout


Seit mehr als 20 Jahren begeistert dieser schlichte, aber verehrte Carryout-Spot die Geschmacksknospen direkt vor der Tür H-Straße NE. Leider wurde dieser legendäre Ort vor kurzem geschlossen, aber Sie können es immer noch genießen Horace & Dickies gefühlvolle Aromen an ihrem Platz in Takoma und von ihrem Food-Truck das hüpft in der ganzen Stadt. Die Einheimischen schwärmen von dem gebratenen Fisch, den Krabbenkuchen, dem Mac and Cheese, den Hush Puppies, dem Bohnenkuchen ... es ist schwer, etwas falsch zu machen.

09

NuVegan Café

Die Besitzer Vernon und Lynn Woodland kochen ein 100 % veganes Menü bei NuVegan Café, das über zwei Standorte in DC verfügt, einen in College Park, Md. und einen weiteren in Richmond, Virginia. The Woodlands hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, veganes Essen zuzubereiten, das jeden anspricht Quinoa, Kichererbsen und Ingwer-gewürzter Tofu.

10

Bukom-Café

Einwohner von Adam Morgan weiß alles über Bukom-Café, ein Grundnahrungsmittel in der Nachbarschaft, das seine Gäste mit seiner hervorragenden westafrikanischen Küche verzaubert. Es gibt Goosi, ein Milchreis-Dessert, das aus dem Senegal stammt, sowie Fufu, ein klebriger Teig, den man mit der Hand verzehrt. Wir haben auch gehört, dass der Jollof-Reis ein Muss ist. Bukom verteilt auch starke Cocktails und kenianisches Bier und veranstaltet an Wochenenden Live-Reggae-Musik.

11

Die süße Lobby

Wusstest du das Capitol Hill befindet sich eine Boutique-Bäckerei, die einem am MIT ausgebildeten Ingenieur mit Naschkatzen gehört? Nun, das tust du jetzt. Die süße Lobby, mit Sitz in Barracks Row, gehört Dr. Winnette McIntosh Ambrose, einer autodidaktischen Konditorin, die international inspirierte süße Leckereien zubereitet. Winnette gewann Food Networks Muffin Kriege innerhalb weniger Monate nach der Eröffnung von The Sweet Lobby, verwandelte sie in einen Star und verwandelte den Laden in einen Must-Stop-Shop für diejenigen, die sich nach Macarons, Shortbread und Eclairs sehnen, für die man sterben möchte.

12

Negril das jamaikanische Restaurant

Negril wurde vor 40 Jahren vom jamaikanischen Earl Chinn gegründet, der eine Gelegenheit sah, seine einheimische Küche in die Hauptstadt des Landes zu bringen. Das Lokal hat jetzt vier Standorte in der Gegend, also könnte man sagen, dass Chinn den richtigen Anruf gemacht hat. Die Speisekarte des Negril wird von einer Mischung aus charakteristischen jamaikanischen und karibischen Hauptgerichten bevölkert, vom Kokosbrot über das Jerk Chicken bis hin zu köstlichen Desserts wie Rumkuchen und Kokosnuss-Puddingtörtchen.

13

Sankofa

Das Filmemacherehepaar Haile und Shirikiana Gerima gründeten 1998 diesen liebenswerten Buchladen mit Café und benannten ihn nach ihrem gefeierten Film von 1993. Im Inneren finden Sie Bücher und Videos, die sich auf die afrikanische Diaspora konzentrieren, wie es auch viele der Gerimas-Arbeiten waren. Ein Außenposten der Gemeinde, der auch ein Café mit Frühstücksartikeln, Paninis, Wraps, Smoothies und sogar Pizza bietet. Sankofa veranstaltet häufig Veranstaltungen, darunter Filmvorführungen und Dichterlesungen.

14

Po Boy Jim

Dieses Familienunternehmen Bar und Grill hat jetzt zwei Standorte in DC – einen auf H-Straße NE, der andere in Shaw. Auf der robusten Speisekarte werden karibische Rezepte mit Cajun-Flair interpretiert, die mit Signaturen wie dem District Po Boy (Lendensteak, Speck, Provolone, Garnelen, Remouladensauce) und dem Gumbo on H (Andouille-Wurst, Garnelen, Cajun-Hühnchen, Schalottenreis). Po Boy Jim bietet auch Brunch und Abendessen bis spät in die Nacht an, was bedeutet, dass es auf Ihrer Liste der Ziele am späten Samstagabend UND am frühen Sonntagmorgen stehen sollte.

15

Anju

Die neueste Kreation des Fried Rice Collective (dem Team, das dem District eine neue Art von schnell-lässiger asiatischer Küche mit Chiko) ist Anju in Dupont Kreis. Küchenchef Angel Barreto, der zuvor mit dem Koch/Partner Scott Drewno von Fried Rice Collective bei The Source und CHIKO zusammengearbeitet hat, bringt die koreanische Küche auf ein Niveau, das in DC bisher nicht zu sehen war. Moderne Küche verschmilzt mit traditionellen koreanischen Aromen, was zu verlockenden Köstlichkeiten wie dem Brathähnchen, ergänzt durch Jujube-Mole, weiße Barbecue-Sauce und würzige Gochujang-Sauce, führt.

16

MLK Feinkost

Während DC die Halbrauch- und Go-Go-Musik auf die Karte gesetzt hat, ist ein weiterer Heimatstadtheld Mumbo-Sauce. Dieses würzig-süße Gebräu passt gut zu Flügeln, Pizza und einfach zu allem. Bei der MLK Feinkost in Kongresshöhen, die charakteristische Sauce ziert Mr. Lukes gebratenes Hühnchen-Sandwich, das auf einem Brioche-Brötchen serviert wird. Das Deli liefert auch allerlei Klassiker, von deftigen Reubens bis hin zu wuchtigen Krabbenkuchen. Kombiniere eine davon mit einer hausgemachten Limonade und du bist im Himmel.

17

DCity Räucherei

Schlemmen Sie geräuchertes Fleisch bei DCity Räucherei, wo Grill-Perfektion von Pitmaster Shawn McWhirter auf Sie wartet. Die holzgeräucherte Variante der amerikanischen Spezialität von DCity umfasst epische Sandwiches wie das Meaty Palmer, bei dem Schweinebauch und Putenbrust mit Avocado-, Tomaten- und Chipotle-Aioli die Hauptrolle spielen. Wir sind auch große Fans von den pit-smoked Chicken Wings, dem Brisket, den Rib Tips... alles.

18

Hier ist der Scoop

Unternehmerin Karin Sellers steckt dahinter Hier ist die Schaufel, die mit großem Beifall eröffnet wurde Columbia Heights. Die Speisekarte ist vollgepackt mit Leckereien: 12 Eissorten zur Auswahl (einschließlich gesalzener Karamell, Butterpekannuss und Geburtstagstorte), eine Auswahl an Kuchen und Keksen sowie charakteristische Milchshakes. Sellers kommt ebenfalls aus der Gegend und arbeitet daran, Here's the Scoop zu einem Gemeinschaftszentrum zu machen, in dem sich Studenten der nahe gelegenen Howard University treffen und die nächsten Unternehmer der Stadt geboren werden können. Sie stellt auch aufstrebende Bäcker ein und betreut sie.

19

Milch & Honig Café

Sieben Tage die Woche Brunch servieren, Milch & Honig Café ist ein preisgekröntes Restaurant mit Wurzeln in Atlanta und Standorten in Bowie und College Park, Md. und Alexandria, Virginia. Ein Standort in der H Street NE in DC wird bald folgen. Das Restaurant ist der perfekte Ort für ein schnelles Frühstückstreffen oder einen festlichen Brunch mit Freunden und Familie. Milk & Honey Executive Chef Sammy Davis ist ein Chopped and Chopped Redemption Alaun, während seine Geschäftspartnerin Monique Rose eine Veteranin in der Branche ist. Gemeinsam haben die beiden ein Menü voller Südstaaten-Favoriten kreiert, zu dem Sie immer wieder zurückkehren können.

20

Halbrauch

Gegründet vom ehemaligen Investmentanalysten Andre McCain, Halbrauch vereint Gastro-Pub, Restaurant und Café. Der Hot Spot an der Florida Avenue ist offensichtlich für seinen Namensgeber bekannt, ein beliebtes Gericht in DC, das auf einem Holzgrill zubereitet wird. Allerdings ist die menu geht viel tiefer. Die Snack-Time-Angebote umfassen lustige Dinge wie Krabben-Pommes und Mac'n-Cheese-Häppchen, während das Main Event Sie mit Gerichten wie Jambalaya, Garnelen und Grütze und Schmetterlingshuhn füllt. Das Butter Me Up-Menü ist gestapelt mit leckeren Sandwiches und HalfSmoke macht auch Brunch.

21

Das H-Restaurant

Martel Stone ist der Chefkoch im The H Restaurant, das sich im Inneren befindet Der Treffpunkt, eine kuratierte DC-Community, deren Beitritt Sie beantragen können Online. Stone hat DC in Reality-Shows wie z Alex gegen Amerika und Gehackte Next-Gen. Im H Restaurant kombiniert der Küchenchef amerikanische und afrikanische Küche zu einem Menü, das seinen eigenen Hintergrund und seine internationalen Reisen widerspiegelt.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Where to Find Black Chefs and Black-Owned Restaurants & Bars in Washington, DC

Ben's Chili Bowl - Places to Eat on U Street - Washington, DC

From local favorites to Creole and Caribbean cuisine, these trusted restaurants define the District’s dining scene.

DC’s strong African American history and its status as a popular landing place for talented entrepreneurs and chefs from all over the world has added to the city's already thriving community of black chefs and black-owned restaurants and bars. There's so much you can experience with each visit. Savor all the stellar dishes and support the community with each reservation through the EatOkra app, retrace the footsteps from a day in the life of a local black chef and mark your calendar for the annual Black Restaurant Week, when you can take advantage of great dining deals and exclusive programming.

Below, we've compiled more than 20 restaurants, bars and cafes that recognize some of the talented chefs and local business owners of color who call DC home. Some will take you on a journey to far-off nations, others will provide local DC vibes and tastes no other place can. What they all share is that they define DC's restaurant scene and they invite you to dig in.

The Best Restaurants and Places to Eat in Washington, DC

1 Ben’s Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl in DC's U Street neighborhood - Where to enjoy all-American eats in Washington, DC

Few people have witnessed as much change in the District as Virginia Ali, who, along with her husband Ben, opened up the DC institution Ben’s Chili Bowl on U Street in August 1958. Purveyors of DC’s signature take on a hot dog, the half-smoke, the Ali family played a unique role during the 1968 race riots following the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr, as they stayed open past curfew to serve both activists and local police and firemen. The restaurant has stood the test of time, persevering after the late 1960s riots that led to decay in the 1970s and 1980s, the construction of the Metro's Green Line in the late ‘80s and the eventual revitalization of the U Street neighborhood as a dining and nightlife mecca. To say Ben’s has been a success is an understatement, as the quaint shop has hosted President Barack Obama and countless celebrities.

2 Kith/Kin

Chef Kwame Onwuachi James Beard Award winner - Black chefs in Washington, DC

Before the age of 30, chef Kwame Onwuachi achieved things chefs everywhere can only dream of. He released his critically acclaimed memoir, Notes From a Young Black Chef, which is now being turned into a feature film and Onwuachi also received the James Beard Foundation's Rising Star Chef of the Year award. If that wasn’t enough, he also reigns over the kitchen of the waterfront Afro-Caribbean concept, Kith/Kin. The modest-yet-sophisticated spot celebrates the chef’s heritage, from West Africa to the Caribbean and from New Orleans to New York. Pro tip: make sure you try the goat roti.

3 Cane

Channa from Cane by chef Peter Prime - Trinidadian food in Washington, DC

Chef Peter Prime has shown he’s ready for primetime at Cane, which he founded along with his sister, Jeanine. Chef Peter has transported the cuisine of Trinidad to Washington, DC after honing his skills at Spark at Old Engine 12 and at the French Culinary Institute, where he worked with well-known chefs like Todd Gray and Michel Richard. Cane’s name hearkens back to the sugar cane fields where enslaved Africans toiled during British rule in Trinidad. From this tragedy, Prime has conjured a menu that additionally features Spanish, French, East Asian and Indian flavors, with dishes like cumin-spiced pork belly and pimento-smoked jerk wings. Try a Paratha Tiffin Box, which features Indian bread served with an array of curries and chutneys. Cane was named a Bib Gourmand in the 2020 Michelin Guide for DC.

4 Ooh's & Aah's

Ooh's and Aahh's soul food restaurant on U Street in DC - Black-owned businesses in Washington, DC

Recognized both locally and nationally for its classic rendition on soul food, Ooh's & Aah's is led by Oji Abbott, an acclaimed chef who was born and raised in the District. The no-frills restaurant dishes out Southern comfort; you will feel as if you’ve stepped into grandma’s kitchen. The whiting fish is beloved, as are the wings (choose from barbecue, Buffalo, lemon pepper and teriyaki), while sides like the macaroni and cheese and cornbread cannot be ignored.

5 Dukem Ethiopian

@jenniferannconrad - Meal from Dukem Ethiopian on U Street - Where to eat Ethiopian food in Washington, DC

DC has often been referred to as “Little Ethiopia” for its plethora of restaurants that offer the delicious cuisine from the African country. Dukem Ethiopian has stood above the rest for more than a decade, its take on specialties like kitfo (minced raw beef marinated in chili powder-based spice blend and clarified butter) and tibs (sauteed meat that can be served hot or mild) endearing it to the U Street neighborhood. Indulging in one of Dukem’s meals platter-style is a must for any DC dining connoisseur.

6 Florida Avenue Grill

@gastrotacular - Breakfast at Florida Avenue Grill in Shaw - Black-owned restaurants in Washington, DC

Billed as the oldest soul food restaurant in the world, Florida Avenue Grill opened its doors in 1944 and has been treating customers with kindness and lovingly prepared food ever since. Entrepreneur Imar Hutchins purchased the Grill in 2005, which was owned and managed by the Wilson family for 40 years prior. Hutchins has kept all the charm and flavor of the restaurant intact. You can enjoy breakfast all day, or stop in for one of their popular home-style dinners, served with a corn muffin and two sides – like it should be.

7 Calabash Tea & Tonic

Guests at Calabash Tea and Tonic - Black-owned cafe in Washington, DC

Calabash’s roots go back to 1976 in New York City, where a young Sunyatta Amen learned the medicinal value of teas, foods and spices from all over the world while working at her parents’ health food shop and juice bar. Now Amen, who has stated a commitment to creating jobs and encouraging wellness in her community, offers 100 tea and coffee blends across her two shops – one in Shaw, the other in Brookland. You can also purchase aromatic tonics, baked vegan treats, kombucha and much more.

8 Sweet Home Café

@thestolenword - Ribs from  Sweet Home Cafe at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, DC

The popular Sweet Home Café at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, helmed by chef Jerome Grant, will take you on a historical culinary journey as vast, spellbinding and complex as the museum’s collection. The restaurant serves up food that represents four distinct regions: the Agricultural South, the Creole Coast, the North States and Western Range. Grant’s from-scratch cooking and use of local ingredients makes for a mouthwatering catfish po’ boy or beef brisket sandwich on a sweet potato bun.

9 Horace & Dickie's Seafood Carryout

@flavorsbychefscotty - Fried fish from Horace and Dickie's Seafood Carryout - Black-owned restaurants in Washington, DC

For more than 20 years, this unadorned but adored carryout spot has been exciting taste buds just off of H Street NE. If you’re looking for seafood with a whole lotta soul, Horace & Dickie’s should be your go-to. Locals rave about the fried fish, the crab cakes, the mac and cheese, the hush puppies, the bean pie ... it’s hard to go wrong. Come in with a smile, chat with some locals and then be on your merry way. Horace & Dickie’s also has a location in Takoma Park and a food truck that bounces all over the city throughout the week.

10 NuVegan Café

@howtobeveganinthehood - Vegan soul food from NuVegan Cafe in Park View - Black-owned restaurant in Washington, DC

Owners Vernon and Lynn Woodland cook up a 100% vegan menu at NuVegan Café, which has two locations in DC, one in College Park, Md. and another in Richmond, Va. The Woodlands aim to make vegan food that appeals to everyone, crafting creative takes on the fried chicken sandwich and cheeseburger, but also serving up herbed quinoa, chick peas and ginger-spiced tofu.

11 Bukom Café

West African dishes from Bukom Cafe in Adams Morgan - Where to try African cuisine in Washington, DC

Inhabitants of Adams Morgan know all about Bukom Café, a neighborhood staple that dazzles diners with its outstanding West African cuisine. There’s goosi, a milk rice dessert that originated in Senegal, as well as fufu, a sticky dough that you consume by hand. We’ve also heard the jollof rice is a must-try. Bukom also doles out strong cocktails and Kenyan beer and hosts live reggae music on weekend nights.

12 The Sweet Lobby

Did you know that Capitol Hill is home to a boutique bakery owned by an MIT-educated engineer with a sweet tooth? Well, you do now. The Sweet Lobby, based in Barracks Row, is owned by Dr. Winnette McIntosh Ambrose, a self-taught pastry chef who concocts internationally inspired sweet treats. Winnette won Food Network’s Cupcake Wars within months of opening The Sweet Lobby, turning her into a star and turning the store into a must-stop shop for those craving macarons, shortbread and éclairs that are to die for.

13 Negril the Jamaican Eatery

@dccheapeats - Jamaican food from Negril the Jamaican Eatery - Caribbean food in Washington, DC

Negril was founded 40 years ago by Jamaican native Earl Chinn, who saw an opportunity to bring his native cuisine to the nation’s capital. The eatery now has four locations in the area, so one could say Chinn made the right call. Negril’s menu is populated by a mélange of signature Jamaican and Caribbean mainstays, from the coco bread to the jerk chicken to mouthwatering desserts like rum cake and coconut custard tart.

14 Sankofa

Visitor at Sankofa bookstore and cafe - Black-owned business in Washington, DC

Filmmaking couple Haile and Shirikiana Gerima founded this endearing bookstore and cafe in 1998 and named it after their acclaimed 1993 film. Inside, you will find books and videos focused on the African diaspora, as much of the Gerimas work has been. A community outpost that also offers a cafe featuring breakfast items, paninis, wraps, smoothies and even pizza, Sankofa frequently hosts events, including film screenings and poetry readings.

15 Po Boy Jim

Po' boy sandwich with French fries from Po Boy Jim - Cajun restaurant in Washington, DC

This family-owned bar and grill now sports two locations in DC – one on H Street NE, the other in Shaw. Caribbean recipes are interpreted with a Cajun flair on the robust menu, which features signatures like the District Po Boy (sirloin steak, bacon, provolone, shrimp, remoulade sauce) and the Gumbo on H (andouille sausage, shrimp, Cajun-style chicken, scallion rice). Po Boy Jim also offers brunch and late-night dining, meaning it should be on your list of late Saturday night AND early Sunday morning destinations.

16 The Caged Bird

@foodtographii - Fried chicken and waffles from The Caged Bird - Great spot for soul food and weekend brunch in DC

Co-owner and executive chef of The Caged Bird, Meshach Cisero, turned a passion project into a successful restaurant and neighborhood gathering place. Initially a data scientist, Cisero began a food blog that showcased recipes and the author’s thoughts on a range of topics. The blog’s notoriety led to an appearance on Good Morning America, where Cisero was judged by the famous Gordon Ramsay. Before long, The Caged Bird was born, where you can savor authentic soul food during weekend brunch, dinner and late-night services (the restaurant is open until 3 a.m. on Friday and Saturday). The locale also doubles as an entertainment venue, featuring open mic nights, spoken-word poetry, DJ sets and trivia.

17 MLK Deli

Jerk chicken from the MLK Deli in Congress Heights - Black-owned restaurants and places to eat in Washington, DC

While DC has put the half-smoke and go-go music on the map, another hometown hero is mumbo sauce. This spicy-sweet concoction goes well on wings, pizza and, well, just about anything. At the MLK Deli in Congress Heights, the signature sauce adorns Mr. Luke’s fried chicken sandwich, which is served on a brioche bun. The deli also delivers on all kinds of classics, from hearty Reubens to weighty crab cakes. Pair one of those with a homespun lemonade and you’re in heaven.

18 DCity Smokehouse

Smoked barbecue meats and sides from DCity Smokehouse - Where to find the best barbecue BBQ in Washington, DC

Feast on finger-licking smoked meats at DCity Smokehouse, where barbecue perfection from pitmaster Shawn McWhirter awaits. DCity's wood-smoked variation on the American specialty includes epic sandwiches like the Meaty Palmer, which stars pork belly and turkey breast piled high with avocado, tomato and chipotle aioli. We’re also big fans of the pit-smoked chicken wings, the brisket, the rib tips ... look, just go and try everything.

19 Nocturne

Tapas and drinks at Nocturne bar underneath Sugar Shack - Hidden bars in Washington, DC's Shaw neighborhood

Your next hidden bar experience awaits in Shaw – all you need to do is take an elevator downstairs from the neighborhood’s Sugar Shack doughnut shop. That’s where you’ll find Nocturne, a funky-yet-intimate space from the mind of beverage director Hakim Hamid. Expect a menu that jet sets around the globe. Hamid takes you to Scandinavia, where savory cocktails include fennel and pine, or you can travel to Appalachia, where bourbon is the star.

20 Smith Commons & Smith Public Trust

Dishes from Smith Commons on H Street NE - Black-owned restaurants and places to eat in Washington, DC

Howard University alum Miles Gray III’s outposts – Smith Public Trust in Brookland and Smith Commons on H Street NE – are devoted to approachable dining fare and promoting the arts in a communal space. The tri-level Smith Commons pairs craft beers with seasonal favorites and cuts loose on the weekends with a DJ, while Smith Public Trust frequently hosts live performances on its stage.

21 Anju

Korean fried chicken from Anju restaurant in Dupont Circle - Danny Lee and Scott Drewno restaurant in Washington, DC

The latest creation from the Fried Rice Collective (the team that brought the District a new breed of fast-casual Asian dining with CHIKO) is Anju in Dupont Circle. Executive chef Angel Barreto, who previously worked with Fried Rice Collective chef/partner Scott Drewno at The Source and CHIKO, takes Korean cooking to levels not previously seen in DC. Modern cooking melds with traditional Korean flavors, resulting in tantalizing delights like the fried chicken complemented by jujube mole, white barbecue sauce and spicy gochujang sauces.

22 Here's the Scoop

Here's the Scoop ice cream shop and bakery in Columbia Heights - Black-owned business in Washington, DC

Entrepreneur Karin Sellers is behind Here’s the Scoop, which opened to great acclaim in Columbia Heights. The menu is packed with goodies: 12 ice cream flavors to choose from (including salted caramel, butter pecan and birthday cake), an array of pies and cookies and signature milkshakes. Sellers is also from the area and works to make Here’s the Scoop a community hub, where students from nearby Howard University can mingle and the city’s next entrepreneurs can be born. She also hires and mentors emerging bakers.

Discover the Real DC - Discover the most exciting dining experiences in Washington, DC