跳到主要內容
首頁
國家廣場上的史密森尼國家非洲藝術博物館 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館

參觀位於華盛頓特區的史密森尼國家非洲藝術博物館

在國家廣場上的這個免費史密森尼博物館接觸非洲藝術和歷史。

國家非洲藝術博物館已正式重新開放,並將於 30 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日恢復每週 XNUMX 天的日程安排。有關營業時間、入場和安全規程的更多信息,請訪問博物館的 網站.

 

史密森尼國家非洲藝術博物館是什麼?它在哪裡?

國家非洲藝術博物館 位於獨立大道西南 國家廣場. 該博物館擁有美國最大的公開收藏的非洲藝術藏品,共有約 12,000 件藏品。 其使命:向遊客傳授非洲藝術,以創造跨越文化界限的對話。

博物館每天上午 10 點至下午 5 點 30 分免費向公眾開放,25 月 XNUMX 日除外。博物館的所有公共空間、展覽和項目均可供殘障人士使用。

前往國家非洲藝術博物館的最簡單方法是乘坐公共交通工具。 如果乘車 捷運, 在 L'Enfant Plaza 站下車(藍線、橙線、銀線、綠線和黃線),然後使用 Maryland Avenue/Smithsonian Museums 出口。 如果乘公共汽車旅行,請乘坐 DC Circulator 的 國家廣場路線 或 30、32、34 或 36 條 Metrobus 線路。

我會在國家非洲藝術博物館內找到什麼?

隨著 彙集 博物館收藏了從古代到現代的文物,全面展示了非洲藝術表現形式的歷史,通過您在其他任何地方都很難找到的創意鏡頭展示非洲大陸。

 

收藏亮點包括 非洲馬賽克:永久收藏精選,收集跨越十年的博物館購買和禮物。 傑出作品:由塞內加爾藝術家 Ousmane Sow 創作的海地領導人 Toussaint Louverture 令人難以置信的雕塑。 這 Walt Disney-Tishman 非洲藝術收藏集錦 展出來自撒哈拉以南非洲地區的稀有傳統藝術作品。 博物館也有令人驚嘆的船隻 攝影檔案世界級圖書館.

潮流:非洲藝術中的水博物館正在進行的展覽之一,以水為主題的作品,沿途會遇到神話、隱喻和儀式。 水的重要性體現在該系列中強調的許多不同材料和風格中。

國家非洲藝術博物館每週還提供由講解員帶領的博物館之旅,以及電影放映和小組討論,以增加圍繞非洲及其藝術的對話。 博物館還可以在其整個空間舉辦私人活動,包括展館、夾層、演講廳和會議室。

 

探索華盛頓特區的免費史密森學會博物館 - 非裔美國人歷史和文化、國家動物園、航空航天、美國歷史等

 

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

Visiting the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art

Smithsonian National Museum of African Art - Washington, DC

Engage with African art and history at this free museum on the National Mall.

What is the National Museum of African Art and where is it?

Smithsonian National Museum of African Art

The Smithsonian National Museum of African Art is located on Independence Avenue SW in DC, on the National Mall. The museum possesses the largest publicly held collection of African art in the United States, with roughly 12,000 objects in total. Its mission: to teach visitors about African art in order to create a dialogue that crosses cultural boundaries.

The museum is free and open to the public from 10 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. daily, except for Dec. 25. All public spaces, exhibitions and programs at the museum are accessible to visitors with disabilities.

The easiest way to reach the National Museum of African Art is via public transportation. If traveling by Metrorail, exit at the L’Enfant Plaza stop (on the Blue, Orange, Silver, Green and Yellow lines) and use the Maryland Avenue/Smithsonian Museums exit. If traveling by bus, take the DC Circulator’s National Mall route or 30, 32, 34 or 36 Metrobus lines.

What will I find inside?

With a collection of artifacts that spans from the ancient to the contemporary, the museum provides a comprehensive look at the history of artistic expressions in Africa, presenting the continent through a creative lens that you would be hard-pressed to find anywhere else.

Collection highlights include African Mosaic: Selections from the Permanent Collection, which collects museum purchases and gifts spanning a decade. The standout piece: an incredible sculpture of Haitian leader Toussaint Louverture by Senegalese artist Ousmane Sow. The Walt Disney-Tishman African Art Collection Highlights features rare works of traditional art from sub-Saharan Africa. The museum also boats stunning photographic archives and a world-class library.

 Water in African Art - Simon George Mpata 1942–1984, Tanzania, Untitled, 1971–73

Currents: Water in African Art, one of the museum’s ongoing exhibits, focuses on pieces with water as their theme, encountering myths, metaphors and rituals along the way. Water’s importance is reflected across the many different materials and styles highlighted in this collection.

The National Museum of African Art also offers docent-led tours of the museum every week, as well as film screenings and panel discussions that serve to increase the dialogue surrounding Africa and its art. The museum can also host private events throughout its spaces, including a pavilion, a mezzanine, a lecture hall and conference rooms.

Interested in seeing what other Smithsonian Institution museums are in Washington, DC? Explore all the Smithsonians the District has to offer.