跳到主要內容
首頁

@abroadwife

@abroadwife - 史密森國家郵政博物館的家人 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館

參觀位於華盛頓特區的史密森國家郵政博物館

在這個免費博物館中享受適合所有年齡段的大量郵票、郵政文物和信息豐富的展品。

自 1993 年在歷史悠久的城市郵局大樓開業以來, 史密森尼國家郵政博物館 一直致力於紀念和慶祝美國引以為豪的郵政歷史。 位於 DC 的聯合車站旁邊 諾瑪社區,博物館收藏了大量郵票、歷史文物和互動展品。 參觀者將了解美國人如何使用郵件相互交流和與世界交流的迷人演變。

 

史密森國家郵政博物館裡面有什麼?

無論是泥濘道路上的早期汽車,穿越全國的驛馬車,高空的螺旋槳飛機還是被真正的馬力牽引,客人都將穿越歷史,看看郵件是如何以各種引人注目的方式運輸的顯示。

郵政博物館的參觀者還將發現郵票製作和設計的藝術,以及如何開始自己的收藏,讓顧客看到來自世界各地的郵資的多樣性。 收藏家將驚嘆於同類中最大的威廉 H.格羅斯郵票畫廊。

郵政博物館的中庭設有 90 英尺高的天花板和郵政歷史中的重要物品。 三架航空郵件飛機懸掛在頭頂,而 1851 年的驛馬車和 1932 年的福特 A 型郵政卡車也裝飾了房間。 踏上殖民郵路之旅,瀏覽 1920 年代風格的郵局,體驗收藏超過 5.9 萬件物品的國家集郵館。

 

史密森國家郵政博物館 - 華盛頓特區

史密森國家郵政博物館 - 華盛頓特區

計劃您參觀國家郵政博物館

國家郵政博物館位於馬薩諸塞州大道 2 號,每天上午 10 點至下午 5:30 開放。 25 月 XNUMX 日是一年中唯一一個博物館關閉且免費入場的日子。

附近有街邊停車位,博物館旁邊的聯合車站可以全天付費停車。 如果您選擇使用公共交通工具,請乘坐 地鐵乘坐紅線至聯合車站並使用馬薩諸塞大道出口 - 博物館就在街對面。 這 直流環行器 還將博物館和聯合車站連接到國家廣場。

該博物館可通過美國郵局乘坐輪椅進入,其 1 街入口和北國會街入口處設有坡道。

 

探索華盛頓特區的免費史密森學會博物館 - 非裔美國人歷史和文化、國家動物園、航空航天、美國歷史等

 

 

 

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

Visiting the Smithsonian National Postal Museum

Smithsonian National Postal Museum

Enjoy a vast collection of stamps, postal artifacts and informative exhibits for all ages.

Since its opening in 1993 in the historic City Post Office Building, the Smithsonian National Postal Museum has served to honor and celebrate America’s proud postal history. Located next to Union Station in DC’s NoMa neighborhood, the museum houses a vast collection of stamps, postal artifacts and informative exhibits for all ages. Visitors will learn the fascinating evolution of how Americans have used the mail to communicate with each other and the world.

What’s inside?

Smithsonian National Postal Museum - Washington, DC

Whether it be early automobiles on dirt roads, stagecoaches chugging across the country, prop-planes in the skies above, or being pulled by real horsepower, guests will take a walk through history and see how mail has been transported in a variety of eye-catching displays.

Visitors to the Postal Museum will also discover the art of stamp making and design, as well as how to start their own collection, allowing patrons to see the diversity of postage from around the globe. Collectors will marvel at the William H. Gross Stamp Gallery, the largest of its kind. Don’t miss the 1856 British Guiana One-Cent Magenta, dubbed “The World’s Most Famous Stamp,” on display through Nov. 2017.

The Postal Museum houses an atrium sporting a 90-foot-high ceiling and vital objects from the postal past. Three airmail planes hang overhead, while a stagecoach from 1851 and a 1932 Ford Model A postal truck also adorn the room. Take a journey on a colonial post road, browse through a 1920s-style post office and experience the National Philatelic Collection, which features more than 5.9 million items.

Planning your visit

Smithsonian National Postal Museum - Washington, DC

The National Postal Museum resides at 2 Massachusetts Avenue NE and is open from 10 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. daily. December 25 is the only day of the year that the museum is closed. Admission is free.

Street parking is available nearby and all-day paid parking can be had at Union Station, located right next to the museum. If you elect to use public transportation, take the Metro's Red Line to Union Station and use the Massachusetts Avenue exit – the museum is across the street. The DC Circulator also connects the museum and Union Station to the National Mall. Check their website for route maps and schedules.

The museum is accessible by wheelchair, with ramps at its 1st Street entrance and North Capitol Street entrance, via the U.S. Post Office.

Interested in seeing what other Smithsonian Institution museums are in Washington, DC? Explore all the Smithsonians the District has to offer.