Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

@michellefortephotography

@michellefortephotography - Atrium im Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History in der National Mall - Free Museum in Washington, DC

Besuch des Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History in Washington, DC

Erkunden Sie die Natur um Sie herum, entdecken Sie Dinosaurierfossilien und vieles mehr in diesem kostenlosen Juwel in der National Mall.

Das Nationalmuseum für Naturgeschichte wurde offiziell wiedereröffnet. Weitere Informationen zu Öffnungszeiten und Sicherheitsprotokollen finden Sie im Museum Website .

Planen Sie Ihren Besuch im Naturkundemuseum

Das Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History 1910 eröffnet, um die Entdeckung und Bildung der natürlichen Welt zu fördern. Seine grüne Kuppel und die immense Größe (vergleichbar mit 18 Fußballfeldern) sind ebenso charakteristisch wie die über 140 Millionen naturwissenschaftlichen Exemplare und kulturellen Artefakte, die das Museum enthält.

Das Museum of Natural History liegt zentral in Washington, DC an der Nationale Mall. Wie alle Museen der Smithsonian Institution, der Eintritt ist frei. Die regulären Öffnungszeiten sind von 10:5 bis 30:7 Uhr, aber im Frühjahr und Sommer werden die Öffnungszeiten mit einer Schließzeit von 30:25 Uhr verlängert. Das Museum ist täglich außer am XNUMX. Dezember geöffnet. Der bequemste Weg zu erreichen Das Museum ist mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar. Öffentliche Parkplätze sind knapp, aber es gibt Parkplätze für Besucher mit Behinderungen. Bei Verwendung von metrorail, nehmen Sie die orangefarbene oder blaue Linie bis zum Bahnhof Smithsonian und nutzen Sie den Ausgang Mall. Wenn Sie Metrobus nehmen, verwenden Sie die Linien 32, 34 oder 36.

 

Was befindet sich im Nationalmuseum für Naturgeschichte?

Das Museum enthält einige der berühmtesten Artefakte der Welt. Das Janet Annenberg Hooker Hall of Geology, Gems and Minerals hat den angeblich verfluchten Hope Diamond ausgestellt. Inzwischen, Q? Rius, das Bildungszentrum des Museums, bietet Teenagern und Tweens ein Labor, in dem sie ihre eigenen wissenschaftlichen Entdeckungen machen können.

Nach fünfjähriger Renovierung hat das Museum seine David H. Koch Hall of Fossils wiedereröffnet. Das Das Thema der 31,000 Quadratmeter großen Ausstellung ist Tiefe Zeit, einem wissenschaftlichen Ausdruck entlehnt, der veranschaulicht, wie sich die Erdgeschichte über Milliarden von Jahren entwickelt hat. Bereiten Sie sich darauf vor, von einer der größten Ausstellungen in DC seit Jahren überrascht, überwältigt, engagiert und geblendet zu werden.

Weitere Dauerausstellungen sind ein Insektenzoo und Die Sant Ocean Hall, die eine exakte Nachbildung eines lebenden Nordatlantischen Glattwals zeigt.

 

Entdecken Sie kostenlose Smithsonian Institution Museen in Washington, DC - Geschichte und Kultur der Afroamerikaner, National Zoo, Luft- und Raumfahrt, amerikanische Geschichte und mehr
Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Visiting the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History in Washington, DC

@michellefortephotography - Atrium at Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History on the National Mall - Free Museum in Washington, DC

Explore the natural world around you, discover dinosaur fossils and more at this free gem on the National Mall.

@districtofchic - Mother with child at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History's fossil hall - Free things to do in Washington, DC

Planning your visit to the Natural History Museum

The Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History opened in 1910 to invoke discovery and education of the natural world. Its green dome and immense size (comparable to 18 football fields) are signatures, as well as the 140 million-plus natural science specimens and cultural artifacts that the museum contains.

The Museum of Natural History is centrally located in Washington, DC on the National Mall. Like all Smithsonian Institution museums, admission is free. Its regular hours are 10 a.m. – 5:30 p.m., but hours are extended during the spring and summer with a closing time of 7:30 p.m. The museum is open every day of the year except Dec. 25. The most convenient way to reach the museum is via public transportation. Public parking is scarce, but there are parking spaces available for visitors with disabilities. If using Metrorail, take the Orange or Blue lines to the Smithsonian station and use the Mall exit. If taking Metrobus, use the 32, 34 or 36 routes.

@ray.payys

What’s inside the National Museum of Natural History?

The museum contains some of the most famous artifacts in the world. The Janet Annenberg Hooker Hall of Geology, Gems and Minerals has the supposedly cursed Hope Diamond on display. Meanwhile, Q?rius, the museum’s education center, offers teens and tweens a lab where they can make their own scientific discoveries.

After a five-year renovation, the museum has reopened its David H. Koch Hall of Fossils. The 31,000-square-foot exhibit’s theme is Deep Time, borrowed from a scientific phrase that illustrates how Earth’s history has played out over billions of years. Prepare to be amazed, overwhelmed, engaged and dazzled by one of the biggest exhibitions to come to DC in years.

Other permanent exhibits include an insect zoo and The Sant Ocean Hall, which features an exact replica of a living North Atlantic right whale.

Discover free Smithsonian Institution Museums in Washington, DC - African American History and Culture, National Zoo, Air and Space, American History and more