Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol

Historische Georgetown-Tour



Georgetown wurde fünfzig Jahre vor Washington DC gegründet und begann als eine düstere Hafenstadt am Ufer des Potomac River, die von Abigail Adams als "schmutziges kleines Loch" beschrieben wurde.

Sonntags, jetzt – 19. Mai 2024. Von: 10:00 bis 12:30 Uhr

Georgetown wurde fünfzig Jahre vor Washington DC gegründet und begann als eine düstere Hafenstadt am Ufer des Potomac River, die von Abigail Adams als "schmutziges kleines Loch" beschrieben wurde. Trotz seiner bescheidenen Anfänge beherbergt Georgetown heute palastartige Herrenhäuser, elegante Friedhöfe, stattliche Kirchen und eine Weltklasse-Universität. Erkunden Sie die Highlights und Geheimnisse von DCs exklusivstem Viertel und erfahren Sie mehr über die Transformation von Georgetown in dieser Geschichte vom Tellerwäscher zum Reichtum mit DC Design-Touren. Sehenswürdigkeiten und Haltestellen sind:



  • Chesapeake & Ohio Canal

  • Altes Steinhaus

  • Laird-Dunlop-Haus

  • Newton D. Baker-Haus

  • Miss Lydias Englische Seminarschule für Mädchen

  • Grafton Tyler Doppelhaus

  • Christ Episcopal Church

  • Gelbe Taverne

  • Pomanderweg

  • Volta Labor

  • Georgetown Vorbereitungsschule

  • Georgetown University

  • Georgetown Autoscheunetown

  • Cadys Gasse

  • Georgetown Waterfront


Wir besuchen das unscheinbare älteste Gebäude der Stadt, einen Blick in die Hintergassen, blicken eine dramatische Reihe berühmter Treppen hinunter, überqueren den alten C&O-Kanal und enden am Ufer des Potomac River an der wunderschönen Georgetown Waterfront.


Unsere Touren beginnen normalerweise vor dem Lieblingskaffee-/Dessertladen der Einheimischen von Georgetown, Baked & Wired. Schnapp dir einen Snack und lass uns auf Entdeckungsreise gehen! Wir beginnen am C&O Canal und erhalten einen Überblick über die geschichtsträchtige Geschichte von Georgetown. Dann werfen wir einen Blick in das älteste Gebäude in Washington DC, bevor wir die Hauptstraße verlassen, um die Nachbarschaft zu erkunden. Wir schlendern durch Kopfsteinpflasterstraßen und diskutieren über die Häuser von Umzugsunternehmen und Machern wie Jackie Kennedy und Ben Bradley. Wir werden imposante Herrenhäuser, stattliche Kirchen und ein ehemals prunkvolles Etablissement sehen, bevor wir die Wisconsin Avenue zur Westseite der Stadt überqueren. Auf dem Weg zur Georgetown University und die Exorcist Steps hinunter machen wir uns am Ufer des Potomac River an der wunderschönen Georgetown Waterfront ein.


Diese Tour findet vor dem Café Baked and Wired in 1052 Thomas Jefferson St NW statt. Die Tour dauert 2 bis 2.5 Stunden und umfasst etwa 2 Meilen. Besuch www.dcdesigntours.com um mehr zu erfahren und sich anzumelden.

KONTAKT

1052 Thomas Jefferson Str. NW
Washington, DC 20007
United States

+240 (229) 6795
$ 35

Favoriten in der Nähe

Washington dC

Planet Wort Museum

Sprache macht uns menschlich.

VIEW DETAILS

GESPONSERT

Washington dC

Das Fluchtspiel

The Escape Game ist ein episches Abenteuer im Herzen von Georgetown!

VIEW DETAILS

GESPONSERT

Washington dC

Nationales Kindermuseum

Nationales Kindermuseum

VIEW DETAILS

GESPONSERT

Partnerinhalt

Skip to main content
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon

Historic Georgetown Tour



Established fifty years before Washington DC, Georgetown began as a gritty port city on the banks of the Potomac River, described by Abigail Adams as a "dirty little hole".

Now - Jul 23, 2023. From: 10:00 AM to 12:30 PM

Established fifty years before Washington DC, Georgetown began as a gritty port city on the banks of the Potomac River, described by Abigail Adams as a "dirty little hole". Despite its modest start, Georgetown is now home to palatial mansions, elegant cemeteries, stately churches, and a world class University. Explore the highlights and secrets of DC's most exclusive neighborhood while learning about Georgetown's transformation in this rags to riches tale with DC Design Tours. Sights and stops include:

  • Chesapeake & Ohio Canal
  • Old Stone House
  • Laird-Dunlop House
  • Newton D. Baker House
  • Miss Lydia's English Seminary School for Girls
  • Grafton Tyler Double House
  • Christ Episcopal Church
  • Yellow Tavern
  • Pomander Walk
  • Volta Laboratory
  • Georgetown Preparatory School
  • Georgetown University
  • Georgetown Car Barn
  • Cady's Alley
  • Georgetown Waterfront

We'll visit the unassuming oldest building in the city, a peak into back alleys, gaze down a dramatic set of famous stairs, cross the old C&O Canal, and finish up on the banks of the Potomac River at the gorgeous Georgetown Waterfront.

Our tours usually begin outside the favorite coffee/dessert shop for Georgetown locals, Baked & Wired. Grab a snack and let's go exploring! We'll start at the C&O Canal, getting an overview of the storied history of Georgetown. Then we'll peek inside the oldest building in Washington DC, before leaving the main drag to explore the neighborhood. We'll stroll along cobble stone streets, discussing the homes of movers and shakers like Jackie Kennedy and Ben Bradley. We'll see imposing mansions, stately churches, and a formerly salacious establishment, before crossing Wisconsin Avenue to the west side of town. Making our way over to Georgetown University and down the Exorcist Steps, we'll wrap up on the banks of the Potomac River at the beautiful Georgetown Waterfront.

This tour meets outside the coffee shop Baked and Wired at 1052 Thomas Jefferson St NW. The tour takes 2-2.5 hours and covers approximately 2 miles. Visit www.dcdesigntours.com to learn more and sign up.

CONTACT

1052 Thomas Jefferson St NW
Washington, DC 20007
United States

(240) 229-6795
$35

Nearby Favorites

washington dc

National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center

The Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center is now open. Visitors will need to res...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

washington dc

George Washington's Mount Vernon

The iconic riverside estate of George Washington. Open daily, 365 days...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

washington dc

The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Write your own history in a timeless elegant and boutique-style city r...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

Partner Content