Direkt zum Inhalt
Meeting-Planung
search search search search search search
search
Startseite

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol

Der Standort des Weißen Hauses an der Pennsylvania Avenue wurde im Juni 1791 als Sitz aller US-Präsidenten außer George Washington ausgewählt

Der Standort des Weißen Hauses an der Pennsylvania Avenue wurde im Juni 1791 als Wohnsitz aller US-Präsidenten außer George Washington ausgewählt. Der Entwurf für das Presidential Mansion (wie es ursprünglich genannt wurde) wurde durch einen Wettbewerb entschieden, und der Gewinner war James Hoban , gebürtig aus Irland. Der Bau der Presidential Mansion, der weitaus größer und prächtiger ist als er ist, begann im Oktober 1792 und wurde 1800 fertiggestellt.

Der erste Präsident, der im Weißen Haus lebte, das überraschenderweise ursprünglich gelb gestrichen war, war John Adams. Britische Soldaten eroberten und brannten das Gebäude während des Krieges von 1812, als James Madison im Amt war. Der Wiederaufbau wurde 1817 abgeschlossen und Präsident James Monroe und seine Familie konnten in das Gebäude einziehen, das heute weiß gestrichen ist. Im Jahr 1902 bestimmte Präsident Theodore Roosevelt, dass der Spitzname für das Herrenhaus nun sein offizieller Name ist, das Weiße Haus.

Eine Tour durch das Weiße Haus erfordert eine gewisse Vorausplanung. Anfragen für öffentliche Führungen müssen über Ihr Kongressmitglied gestellt und bis zu drei Monate im Voraus und mindestens 21 Tage vor Ihrem Besuch eingereicht werden. Touren werden nach dem First-Come-First-Served-Prinzip gefüllt. Alle Führungen im Weißen Haus sind kostenlos.

Weitere Informationen zur Tour durch das Weiße Haus finden Sie unter https://washington.org/DC-faqs-for-visitors/how-can-i-tour-white-house

Grundrisse
U-Bahn Station

Bundesdreieck, McPherson Square

KONTAKT

1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500
USA

(202) 456-7041

Favoriten in der Nähe

Washington dC

Stadtkreuzfahrten

Machen Sie unvergessliche Erinnerungen mit diesen beliebten Erlebnissen

MEHR ERFAHREN

GESPONSERT

Washington dC

YOTEL Washington DC, Capitol Hill

Das Hotel genießt eine erstklassige Lage im historischen Capitol Hi...

MEHR ERFAHREN

GESPONSERT

Washington dC

Anacostia-Gemeindemuseum

Willkommen im Anacostia Community Museum

MEHR ERFAHREN

GESPONSERT

Partnerinhalt

Skip to main content
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon

White House



The home of every U.S. president except George Washington, the site of the White House on Pennsylvania Avenue was selected in June 1791

The home of every U.S. president except George Washington, the site of the White House on Pennsylvania Avenue was selected in June 1791. The design for the Presidential Mansion (as it was originally called) was decided by a contest, and the winner was James Hoban, a native of Ireland. Designed to be far larger and grander than it is, the building of the Presidential Mansion began in October 1792 and was finished in 1800.

The first president to live in the White House, which, surprisingly, was originally painted yellow, was John Adams. British soldiers captured and burned the building during the War of 1812 when James Madison was in office. Reconstruction was completed in 1817, and President James Monroe and his family were able to move into the building, which was now painted white, as it is today. In 1902, President Theodore Roosevelt designated that the nickname for the mansion would now be its official name, the White House.

Touring the White House requires some advance planning. Public tour requests must be made through your member of Congress and submitted up to three months in advance and no less than 21 days prior to your visit. Tours are filled on a first-come, first-served basis. All White House tours are free.

For more information on how to tour the White House, please visit https://washington.org/DC-faqs-for-visitors/how-can-i-tour-white-house

Meeting Space Details

Inside Reception Capacity: Array

Metro Station

Federal Triangle, McPherson Square

CONTACT

1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20500
United States

(202) 456-7041

Nearby Favorites

washington dc

George Washington's Mount Vernon

The beautiful riverside estate of George Washington includes his iconi...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

washington dc

Free2Move

Free2move is ready to serve you with a free-floating car rental servic...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

Thumbnail

Oakwood Suites & Studios Dupont Circle

A heritage landmark that keeps you close to business by day and social...

VIEW DETAILS

SPONSORED

Partner Content