跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
華盛頓特區的黑人命也是命廣場

黑人的命也是命廣場指南



了解該國首都最新地標之一背後的詳細信息

Black Lives Matter Plaza 位於街道的兩個街區,為華盛頓特區的一長串景點增添了光彩,這些景點植根於爭取種族平等的鬥爭。 在您下次訪問之前了解有關該廣場的更多信息,從它的起源故事到它在歷史上的位置。

它看起來像什麼

黑人的命也是命廣場在哪裡?

這幅壁畫位於華盛頓市中心西北 16 街的兩個街區,以 50 英尺高的黃色和全大寫字母寫著“黑人的命也是命”,以及該地區的旗幟。

展示壁畫的第 16 街部分位於白宮外,市長穆里爾·鮑澤 (Muriel Bowser) 正式將其更名為“西北黑人命也是命廣場”。 該地區在一天中的任何時間都對遊客開放。


最近的地鐵站是 麥克弗森廣場, 在藍色、橙色和銀色線上。

 

 

Black Lives Matter 廣場衛星視圖

參觀是什麼感覺?

由於在政治緊張局勢加劇的時候揭幕,並作為對警察暴行的強烈抗議,黑人命也是命廣場在成立後不久就吸引了許多示威者。

今天,它仍然是一個對步行開放的公共聚會場所,讓未來的遊客能夠反思街道上的文字。 許多遊客為沿著美國最具標誌性的街道之一延伸的黃色大字母拍照。


哥倫比亞特區市長穆里爾·鮑澤

“有些人渴望被傾聽和被看到,渴望被認可。我們有機會在我們城市的一條非常重要的街道上大聲而清晰地傳達這一信息。”

壁畫背後有什麼故事?

在明尼阿波利斯的喬治·弗洛伊德 (George Floyd) 和路易斯維爾的布倫娜·泰勒 (Breonna Taylor) 死亡的刺激下,全國范圍內抗議警察暴行,抗議活動貫穿 2020 年整個夏天,並成為 Black Lives Matter Plaza 的靈感來源。

 

從 1 月下旬開始,數千名和平抗議者走上華盛頓街頭,加入抗議活動。 2020 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,和平示威者(其中許多來自華盛頓特區)在拉斐特公園和聖約翰教堂之間的聯邦部隊遭遇暴力和催淚瓦斯,靠近廣場現址。

 

四天后,Black Lives Matter 壁畫在抗議者聚集的廣場上揭幕,由市長 Bowser 委託,華盛頓公共工程部在 MuralsDC 計劃的協助下完成。

 

Bowser 還宣布正式更名為西北 16 街的部分,該部分由華盛頓特區市議會於 2020 年 XNUMX 月永久命名。 Black Lives Matter Plaza 是華盛頓特區的永久性設施。

合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Meetings
search search search search search search
search
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon
Black Lives Matter Plaza in Washington, DC

Guide to Black Lives Matter Plaza



Get the details behind one of the newest landmarks in the nation’s capital

A two-block section of street, Black Lives Matter Plaza adds to Washington, DC's long list of sights rooted in the fight for racial equality. Learn more about the plaza before your next visit, from its origin story to its place in history. Additionally, make sure to mark your calendar for the 60th anniversary of the March on Washington, which will take place on Aug. 26.

What It Looks Like

Where is Black Lives Matter Plaza?

Located along a two-block area of 16th Street NW in Downtown DC, the mural features the words “Black Lives Matter” in 50-foot-tall letters, in yellow and all caps, as well as the flag of the District.

The portion of 16th Street on which the mural is showcased, located just outside of the White House, was officially renamed by Mayor Muriel Bowser as “Black Lives Matter Plaza NW.” The area is open to visitors at any time of the day.


The nearest Metro station is McPherson Square, on the Blue, Orange and Silver lines.

 

 

Black Lives Matter Plaza Satellite View

What’s it like to visit?

Due to its unveiling in a time of heightened political tension and as an outcry against police brutality, Black Lives Matter Plaza attracted many demonstrations shortly after its inception.

Today, it remains a public gathering place that is open to foot traffic, allowing for future visitors to reflect on the words emblazoned on the street. Many visitors take photographs of the large yellow letters that stretch down one of the nation's most iconic streets.


District of Columbia Mayor Muriel Bowser

"There are people who are craving to be heard and to be seen and to have their humanity recognized. We had that opportunity to send that message loud and clear on a very important street in our city."

What’s the story behind the mural?

Nationwide protests against police brutality, spurred on by the deaths of George Floyd in Minneapolis and Breonna Taylor in Louisville, took place throughout the summer of 2020 and served as the inspiration for Black Lives Matter Plaza.

 

Beginning in late-May, thousands of peaceful protesters took to the streets of DC to join in the outcry. On June 1, 2020, peaceful demonstrators – many of whom were from DC – were met with violence and tear gas by federal forces between Lafayette Park and St. John’s Church, near the current site of the plaza.

 

Four days later, the Black Lives Matter mural was unveiled across the plaza where protesters had gathered, commissioned by Mayor Bowser and completed by the DC Public Works Department with the assistance of the MuralsDC program.

 

Bowser also announced the official renaming of the segment of 16th Street NW, which was made permanent by the DC City Council in October 2020. Black Lives Matter Plaza is a permanent installation in Washington, DC.

Partner Content