Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

@eandmbambrick

@eandmbambrick - Erkundung der Library of Congress - Washington, DC

Besuch der Library of Congress in Washington, DC

Die größte Bibliothek der Welt bietet ein faszinierendes historisches und literarisches Erlebnis in der Hauptstadt des Landes.

Was und wo ist die Library of Congress?

Die Library of Congress ist auf drei Gebäude verteilt Capitol Hill in Washington, DC: das Thomas Jefferson Building (10 1st Street SE), das James Madison Memorial Building (101 Independence Avenue SE) und das John Adams Building (2nd Street SE, zwischen Independence Avenue und East Capitol Street). Die Bibliothek beherbergt mehr als 164 Millionen Medien, von Büchern über Fotos bis hin zu Aufnahmen, Karten und noch viel mehr. Es dient auch als Museum mit zahlreichen Exponaten im unglaublichen Thomas Jefferson Building.

 

Alle Gebäude der Library of Congress können kostenlos betreten werden. Das Thomas Jefferson Building ist von Montag – Samstag, 8 – 30 Uhr geöffnet. Das Gebäude ist jeden Sonntag sowie an Thanksgiving, Weihnachten und Neujahr geschlossen. Das James Madison Memorial Building und das John Adams Building werden hauptsächlich für die Forschung genutzt – Erfahren Sie mehr über die Gebäude der Library of Congress, inklusive Führungen und aktuellen Ausstellungen, und sehen Sie sich die Stunden für Lesesäle über die drei Gebäude.

Am einfachsten erreichen Sie die Library of Congress über metrorail oder die U-Bahn-Linie Union Station-Navy Yard von DC Circulator. Die nächste U-Bahn-Station ist die Station Capitol South der Linien Orange, Blue und Silver. Verlassen Sie den Bahnhof einfach durch den Hauptausgang und gehen Sie zwei Blocks in Richtung Norden auf der First Street SE. Die Route Union Station-Navy Yard hält an der First Street, von der aus Sie die Gebäude der Library of Congress bequem zu Fuß erreichen.

Was befindet sich in der Library of Congress?

Das beste Besuchererlebnis finden Sie im Thomas Jefferson Building der Library of Congress. Sie werden geblendet sein, wenn Sie die Tür des Jefferson Building betreten. Die Architektur des vergoldeten Zeitalters macht sein Inneres zu einem visuellen Meisterwerk, einem Kunstwerk, das es wert ist, das immense Wissen, das es birgt, zu beherbergen. Sobald Sie mit dem Fotografieren für Instagram fertig sind, ist es an der Zeit, die vielen Exponate des Gebäudes zu erkunden.

 

Derzeit laufen sieben der Ausstellungen des Thomas Jefferson Building. Hier zu bleiben: Das Vermächtnis von George und Ira Gershwin enthüllt das Leben des Geschwisterduos und ihren starken Einfluss auf die moderne Musik. Das Swann-Galerie ist ein unterhaltsamer Tauchgang in politische Cartoons, Comics, Animationskunst und Karikaturen, während die Herblock-Galerie enthüllt die fantasievolle Arbeit des politischen Karikaturisten Herbert L. Block. Thomas Jeffersons Bibliothekson ist eine atemberaubende Nachbildung der riesigen Büchersammlung des Gründervaters, mit der die Library of Congress gegründet wurde.

Erkundung des frühen Amerikas Chronik der Kultur der amerikanischen Ureinwohner und ihres Konflikts mit den Europäern. Bemerkenswert ist die Weltkarte von Martin Waldseemüller aus dem Jahr 1507, die erstmals das Wort „Amerika“ enthält. Hoffnung für Amerika: Darsteller, Politik und Popkultur konzentriert sich auf die Karriere von Bob Hope und vielen anderen Entertainern, die sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Politik beschäftigt haben, und wie sich diese Schnittmenge auf die amerikanische Gesellschaft auswirkt. Kartierung einer wachsenden Nation: Von der Unabhängigkeit zur Eigenstaatlichkeit zeigt die erste Karte der unabhängigen USA, die in Amerika von einem Amerikaner (sein Name war Abel Buell) zusammengestellt, gedruckt und veröffentlicht wurde.

Es gibt auch zahlreiche Ausstellungen im Jefferson Building, die regelmäßig wechseln. Schauen Sie sich unbedingt alle an aktuelle Ausstellungen in der Library of Congress.

Die Library of Congress bietet auch regelmäßig Veranstaltungen und Führungen an – werfen Sie einen Blick auf die Veranstaltungskalender für Ihre Planung. Die Institution kuratiert auch die Nationales Buchfestival jedes Jahr und veranstaltet im Sommer oft ein Outdoor-Filmfestival auf dem Gelände.

 

Entdecken Sie die besten und interessantesten Museen in Washington, DC
Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Visiting the Library of Congress in Washington, DC

@eandmbambrick - Exploring the Library of Congress - Washington, DC

The largest library in the world makes for a fascinating historical and literary experience in the nation’s capital.

What and where is the Library of Congress?

The Library of Congress is housed across three buildings on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC: the Thomas Jefferson Building (10 1st Street SE), the James Madison Memorial Building (101 Independence Avenue SE) and the John Adams Building (2nd Street SE, between Independence Avenue and East Capitol Street). The library houses more than 164 million items, from books to photos to recordings to maps to…much, much more. It also serves as a museum, with numerous exhibits inside the incredible Thomas Jefferson Building.

Library of Congress Main Reading Room in the Thomas Jefferson Building - Largest Library in the World in Washington, DC

All the Library of Congress’ buildings can be entered free of charge. The Thomas Jefferson Building is open from Monday – Saturday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. The building is closed every Sunday and on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The James Madison Memorial Building and the John Adams Building are primarily used for research – learn more about the Library of Congress’ buildings, including tours and current exhibitions, and check out the hours for reading rooms across the three buildings.

The easiest way to reach the Library of Congress is via Metrorail or the DC Circulator’s Union Station-Navy Yard Metro route. The closest Metro stop is Capitol South station on the Orange, Blue and Silver lines. Simply exit the station using the main exit and walk two blocks north on First Street SE. The Union Station-Navy Yard route stops on First Street, making for a short walk to the Library of Congress’ buildings.

What’s inside the Library of Congress?

The best visitor experience can be found inside the Library of Congress’ Thomas Jefferson Building. However, over in the James Madison Memorial Building, don’t miss Baseball’s Greatest Hits: The Music of Our National Game, which is on display through Dec. 31, 2017.

Library of Congress Thomas Jefferson Building Great Hall - Largest Library in the World in Washington, DC

You will be dazzled upon walking in the door of the Jefferson Building. Gilded Age architecture makes its interior a visual masterpiece, a work of art worthy of housing the immense amount of knowledge that it holds. Once you’re done snapping photos for Instagram, it’s time to explore the building’s many exhibits.

Currently, seven of the Thomas Jefferson Building’s exhibits are ongoing. Here to Stay: The Legacy of George and Ira Gershwin reveals the lives of the sibling duo and their powerful influence on modern music. The Swann Gallery is a fun dive into political cartoons, comics, animation art and caricatures, while the Herblock Gallery reveals the imaginative work of political cartoonist Herbert L. Block. Thomas Jefferson’s Library is a stunning recreation of the Founding Father’s immense collection of books that founded the Library of Congress.

Exploring the Early Americas chronicles Native American culture and their conflict with Europeans. Notably, the exhibit features Martin Waldseemüller’s 1507 map of the world, the first to feature the word “America”. Hope for America: Performers, Politics and Pop Culture focuses on the career of Bob Hope and many other entertainers who have engaged with politics in their work, and how this intersection impacts American society. Mapping a Growing Nation: From Independence to Statehood showcases the first map of the independent U.S. compiled, printed and published in America by an American (his name was Abel Buell).

There are also numerous exhibits inside the Jefferson Building that rotate regularly. Through Oct. 28, 2017, you can view Drawing Justice: The Art of Courtroom Illustration, which displays drawings of courtrooms while illuminating how the artists are able to replicate the dynamics of the setting. Echoes of the Great War: American Experiences of World War I (on display through Jan. 2019) examines the tremendous impact of the Great War, both in America and abroad.

The Library of Congress also frequently hosts events and tours – take a look at the events calendar for your planning. The institution also curates the National Book Festival every year, and often hosts an outdoor film festival on its grounds during the summer.

Continue exploring American history in the nation’s capital by visiting the Smithsonian National Museum of American History and the National Archives.