Passer au contenu principal
Réunions
recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche
recherche
Accueil

CARTE TI

icône de carte icône de fermeture
Lincoln Memorial à l'automne

8 monuments et mémoriaux incontournables sur le National Mall



Émerveillez-vous devant les monuments nationaux gratuits à Washington, DC, qui constituent la cour avant de l'Amérique.

Selon l'American Institute of Architects, la moitié des 12 joyaux architecturaux préférés des Américains bordent le Centre commercial national. On ne peut nier l'importance du centre commercial pour ses symboles de l'histoire américaine et pour ses monuments au design unique. Découvrez-les tous ici, puis il est temps d'explorer à pied ou en prenant un Visite en grand bus.

01

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial

En l'honneur des quatre mandats du président Franklin Delano Roosevelt, le mémorial est divisé en quatre « salles » extérieures où des statues et des peintures murales représentent les problèmes de la Grande Dépression à la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Lors de la visite du Mémorial du FDR, les visiteurs ont la possibilité d'apprendre et de réfléchir sur certains des événements les plus importants de l'histoire de ce pays tout en profitant des meilleures vues sur le bassin de marée et les cerisiers emblématiques qui l'entourent.

02

Mémorial des anciens combattants de la guerre de Corée

Le Mémorial des anciens combattants de la guerre de Corée a été consacrée en 1995, à l'occasion du 42e anniversaire de l'armistice qui a mis fin au conflit. Le mémorial se compose de 19 statues de soldats représentant une escouade en patrouille, tirées de chaque branche des forces armées. Les 19 personnages créent un reflet sur le mur, symbolisant la frontière entre la Corée du Nord et la Corée du Sud : le 38e parallèle. Aux côtés des soldats se dresse le mur mural avec plus de 2,400 XNUMX photographies d'hommes, de femmes et de chiens qui ont servi en Corée.

03

Mémorial Thomas Jefferson

Souvent classé par les visiteurs comme leur pièce d'architecture préférée sur le National Mall, le Mémorial de Jefferson sert de site à de nombreux événements et cérémonies annuels, notamment des exercices commémoratifs, un service du lever du soleil de Pâques et le Festival national des fleurs de cerisier. Le mémorial, symbole de liberté, a été conçu comme une version plus petite du Panthéon romain avec des marches en marbre et des colonnes ioniques monumentales ; son intérieur abrite une statue en bronze de Jefferson et les murs sont incrustés d'extraits de ses lettres, de ses discours et de la déclaration d'indépendance.

04

Mémorial des vétérans du Vietnam

Ce mémorial rend hommage aux membres des forces armées américaines qui ont combattu, sont morts en service ou ont été inscrits sur la liste MIA pendant la guerre du Vietnam. Il est divisé en trois parties distinctes : la statue des trois soldats, le mémorial des femmes du Vietnam et le célèbre mur commémoratif des anciens combattants du Vietnam. La controverse a entouré la conception non conventionnelle du mémorial pour sa couleur sombre et son manque de décoration, mais il est rapidement devenu un lieu de deuil, de pèlerinage et de guérison ; Aujourd'hui, il est l'un des monuments commémoratifs les plus visités et les plus émouvants du National Mall, car les visiteurs ont pour tradition de laisser des souvenirs, des lettres et des photographies d'êtres chers perdus pendant la guerre.

05

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

Dédié en 2011, ce mémorial rend hommage au célèbre pasteur américain, activiste, humanitaire et leader le plus connu du mouvement des droits civiques : Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Le mémorial lui-même est basé sur une ligne du célèbre "I Have a Dream" du Dr King. discours prononcé depuis les marches voisines du Lincoln Memorial lors de la marche sur Washington pour l'emploi et la liberté en 1963 : « Avec cette foi, nous pourrons creuser d'une montagne de désespoir, une pierre d'espoir. » Le mémorial représente le Dr King comme la « pierre de l'espoir » et les deux morceaux de granit placés près de lui comme la « montagne du désespoir ».

06

Mémorial national de la Seconde guerre mondiale

Le Mémorial national de la Seconde guerre mondiale, qui honore l'esprit et le sacrifice des 16 millions d'hommes et de femmes qui ont servi outre-mer et des plus de 400,000 2004 qui ont péri, a ouvert au public en avril 4.2. Le mémorial construit pour célébrer les héros de la plus grande génération reste l'un des plus sites visités sur le National Mall, avec plus de 2014 millions de visites en 300. Chaque année, plus de XNUMX vols d'honneur amènent des vétérans de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ainsi que ceux qui ont servi dans les guerres de Corée et du Vietnam, aux mémoriaux dédiés à leur service .

07

le monument de Washington

Cela a récemment rouvert obélisque monumental a été construit pour honorer George Washington, le premier président des États-Unis, et se présente aujourd'hui comme la structure en pierre autoportante la plus haute du monde. La construction a commencé en 1848, mais un manque de fonds, des querelles politiques et la guerre civile ont interrompu les travaux de 1854 à 1877. Un changement clair de la couleur des pierres peut être vu environ un tiers de la hauteur du monument ; les pierres légèrement plus sombres du bas ont été placées avant la pause de la construction, tandis que les pierres plus claires au-dessus ont été importées d'une carrière différente après la guerre civile.

08

Lincoln Memorial

Un éternel favori des visiteurs, le Lincoln Memorial se dresse à l'extrémité ouest du National Mall en tant que monument néoclassique au 16e président des États-Unis. Une statue de 19 pieds d'Abraham Lincoln surplombe le Reflecting Pool et le Washington Monument depuis son siège permanent sur la cour avant de l'Amérique. Inauguré en 1922, le Lincoln Memorial a abrité de nombreux moments marquants de l'histoire américaine. Martin Luther King, Jr. a prononcé son discours « I Have a Dream » depuis les marches du Lincoln Memorial devant 250,000 XNUMX participants.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire

You are here

8 Must-See Memorials on the National Mall

Sunset at the World War II Memorial & Lincoln Memorial - Washington, DC

Marvel at the national landmarks that make up America’s front yard.

According to the American Institute of Architects, half of Americans’ top 12 favorite architectural gems line the National Mall. There’s no denying the significance of the Mall for its symbols to American history and for its uniquely designed marvels. Check them all out here, then it's time to explore by foot, or while taking a Big Bus Tour.

1 Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial

FDR Memorial Statue in Washington, DC

In honor of President Roosevelt's four terms in office, the monument is divided into four outdoor "rooms," where statues and murals stand to represent issues from the Great Depression to World War II. When visiting the memorial, visitors have the opportunity to learn about and reflect on some of the most significant events in this country's history while enjoying some of the best views of the Tidal Basin and iconic cherry blossom trees that surround it.

2 Korean War Veterans Memorial
Korean War Veterans Memorial

The Korean War Veterans Memorial was dedicated in 1995, on the 42nd anniversary of the armistice that ended the conflict. The memorial consists of 19 statues of soldiers representing a squad on patrol, drawn from each branch of the Armed Forces. The 19 figures create a reflection on the wall, symbolizing the border between North and South Korea: the 38th parallel. Alongside the soldiers stands the Mural Wall with more than 2,400 photographs of men, women, and dogs who served in Korea.

3 Thomas Jefferson Memorial
Thomas Jefferson Memorial

Frequently ranked by visitors as their favorite piece of architecture on the National Mall, the Jefferson Memorial serves as the site of many annual events and ceremonies including memorial exercises, an Easter sunrise service and the National Cherry Blossom Festival. The memorial, which stands as a symbol of liberty, was designed as a smaller version of the Roman Pantheon with marble steps and monumental Ionic columns; its interior holds a bronze statue of Jefferson and the walls are inlaid with excerpts from his letters, speeches and the Declaration of Independence.

4 Vietnam Veterans Memorial

@506thcurrahee - Sunrise at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Washington, DC

This memorial honors members of the U.S. armed forces who fought, died in service or were labeled MIA in the Vietnam War. It is divided into three separate parts: the Three Soldiers statue, the Vietnam Women’s Memorial and the well-known Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall. Controversy surrounded the memorial’s unconventional design for its dark color and lack of decoration, but it quickly became a place of grieving, pilgrimage and healing; today it stands as one of the most visited and moving memorials on the National Mall, as visitors have made a tradition of leaving mementos, letters and photographs of loved ones lost in the war.

5 Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial - National Mall - Washington, DC

Dedicated in 2011, this memorial pays tribute to the famous American pastor, activist, humanitarian, and best-known leader in the civil rights movement: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr. King received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1964 for combating racial inequality through nonviolent means.

The memorial itself is based on a line from Dr. King's famous "I Have a Dream” speech, which was delivered from the nearby steps of the Lincoln Memorial during the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom in 1963: "With this faith, we will be able to hew out of a mountain of despair, a stone of hope." The memorial depicts King as the “stone of hope” and the two pieces of granite placed near him as the “mountain of despair."

6 World War II Memorial

@_chriscruz - Fall Sunrise at the National World War II Memorial - Washington, DC

The World War II Memorial, which honors the spirit and sacrifice of the 16 million men and women who served overseas and the more than 400,000 that perished, opened to the public in April 2004. The memorial built to celebrate the the heroes of the Greatest Generation remains one of the most visited sites on the National Mall, with more than 4.2 million visits in 2014. Each year, more than 300 Honor Flights bring World War II veterans, as well as those who served in the Korean and Vietnam wars, to the memorials dedicated to their service.

7 Washington Monument
Washington Monument

This monumental obelisk was built to honor George Washington, America’s first president, and stands today as the world’s tallest freestanding stone structure. Construction began in 1848, but a lack of funds, political squabbling and the Civil War interrupted the work from 1854 to 1877. A clear change in the color of the stones can be seen about one-third of the way up the monument; the slightly darker stones at the bottom were placed before construction paused, while the lighter stones above it were brought in from a different quarry following the Civil War.

The Washington Monument is currently closed for repairs. Check the National Park Service's website for updates before you plan your visit.

8 Lincoln Memorial
Lincoln Memorial

A perennial visitor favorite, the Lincoln Memorial stands at the west end of the National Mall as a neoclassical monument to America’s 16th president. A 19-foot statue of Abraham Lincoln sits overlooking the Reflecting Pool and the Washington Monument from his permanent seat on America's front yard. Dedicated in 1922, the Lincoln Memorial has been home to many defining moments in American history. Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered his "I Have a Dream" speech from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial in front of 250,000 attendees.

Monuments and memorials aren’t the only thing to love about the National Mall. Get the most out of the Mall by reading up on its full array of museums.