Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

Besuch des Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC

Das ikonische Denkmal zu Ehren des 16. US-Präsidenten ist ein Muss für jeden Besucher der Hauptstadt des Landes.

Das Lincoln Memorial erleben

Das große Lincoln Memorial thront über dem Reflecting Pool und verankert das westliche Ende des Nationale Mall. Die Gedenkstätte erreicht man am besten von Osten, über den Washington Monument und der National World War II Memorial. Dies bringt Sie an den Rand des Reflecting Pool, einer schimmernden Weite, die die großartigen Strukturen zu Ehren unserer berühmtesten Führer am besten beleuchtet.

 

Herbstlaub am Lincoln Memorial in der National Mall - Monumente in Washington, DC

Herbstlaub am Lincoln Memorial in der National Mall - Monumente in Washington, DC

Machen Sie einen Spaziergang zum Denkmal und beobachten Sie, wie es allmählich größer wird. Wenn Sie direkt davor stehen, bestaunen Sie die hübschen Marmorsäulen, die von Grün umgeben sind und Teil eines von antiken griechischen Tempeln inspirierten Designs sind. Es gibt 36 Spalten, von denen jede einen US-Bundesstaat zum Zeitpunkt des Todes von Präsident Lincoln repräsentiert. Das Denkmal selbst ist 190 Fuß lang und 119 Fuß breit und erreicht eine Höhe von fast 100 Fuß.

Steigen Sie die Treppe hinauf, die zum Innenraum führt, und schauen Sie nach oben. Dort ist in die Wand ein denkwürdiges Zitat eingraviert: "In diesem Tempel, wie in den Herzen der Menschen, für die er die Union rettete, ist die Erinnerung an Abraham Lincoln für immer verankert."

Unter dem Zitat steht eine 19 Fuß hohe, 175 Tonnen schwere Statue von Präsident Lincoln, der selbst auf die Mall of the Country blickt, für die er so hart gekämpft hat, um sie zu erhalten und zu vereinen. Die Statue wurde von Daniel Chester French entworfen, der Lincoln während des Bürgerkriegs herrschaftlich und würdevoll darstellen wollte. Interessanterweise wurde das Denkmal zwar Jahrzehnte zuvor genehmigt, der Bau begann jedoch erst 1914 und das Denkmal wurde 1922 der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

 

Links von der Statue befindet sich Lincolns große Rede, die Gettysburg-Adresse, eine der berühmtesten in der US-Geschichte. Jedes einzelne Wort der Ansprache ist in die Wand eingraviert, um die Amerikaner genau wie 1863 zu inspirieren. Rechts ist die gesamte Zweite Antrittsrede, die im März 1865 gehalten wurde – nur wenige Monate vor Lincolns Tod.

Lincoln Memorial Öffnungszeiten und Wegbeschreibung Memorial

Das Lincoln Memorial ist das ganze Jahr über 24 Stunden am Tag geöffnet. Ranger sind täglich von 9 bis 30 Uhr im Einsatz. Die Gedenkstätte erreicht man am einfachsten mit metrorail or Metrobus. Die nächsten Metrostationen sind Foggy Bottom und Smithsonian, beide auf den Linien Orange, Blue und Silver. Wenn Sie mit dem Metrobus reisen, nehmen Sie die Linien 32, 34 oder 36. Hauptstadt Bikeshare hat auch eine Anlegestelle in der Nähe, am Daniel French Drive SW. Finde einen Liste der Veranstaltungen an der Gedenkstätte, um Ihren Besuch zu planen.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Visiting the Lincoln Memorial

Lincoln Memorial at night - National Mall - Washington, DC

The memorial built to honor the 16th president is a must-see for every visitor to the nation’s capital.

The experience

The grand Lincoln Memorial towers over the Reflecting Pool, anchoring the western end of the National Mall. The best way to approach the memorial is from the east, by the Washington Monument and the National World War II Memorial. This will put you at the edge of the Reflecting Pool, a shimmering expanse which best illuminates the grand structures honoring our most storied leaders.

Lincoln Memorial at sunrise

Take a stroll toward the memorial and watch as it gradually gets larger. When you stand directly in front, gaze at the handsome marble columns surrounded by greenery, part of a design inspired by ancient Greek temples. There are 36 columns, each one representing one state in the U.S. at the date of President Lincoln’s death. The memorial itself is 190 feet long and 119 feet wide, and reaches a height of almost 100 feet.

Climb the stairs leading to the interior, and look up. There, etched into the wall, is a memorable quote: "In this temple, as in the hearts of the people for whom he saved the Union, the memory of Abraham Lincoln is enshrined forever."

Below the quote sits a 19-foot tall, 175-ton statue of President Lincoln, himself looking out over the Mall of the country that he fought so hard to preserve and unite. The statue was designed by Daniel Chester French, who worked to depict Lincoln during the Civil War, stately and dignified. Interestingly, though the memorial was approved decades earlier, construction did not begin until 1914, and the memorial opened to the public in 1922.

Discover Washington, DC in 360 Degrees - Find out why a trip to Washington, DC is the best vacation ever by experiencing it in 360-degree video

@pearlrough - Lincoln Memorial statue of Abraham Lincoln - Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, DC

To the left of the statue is Lincoln’s great speech, the Gettysburg Address, one of the most famous in U.S. history. Every single word of the address is etched into the wall to inspire Americans just as it did in 1863. To the right is the entire Second Inaugural Address, given in March of 1865 — mere months before Lincoln’s death.

Visiting the Lincoln Memorial

The Lincoln Memorial is open 24 hours a day, every day of the year. Rangers are on duty from 9:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. The easiest way to reach the Memorial is by Metrorail or Metrobus. The nearest Metro stations are Foggy Bottom and Smithsonian, both on the Orange, Blue and Silver lines. If traveling by Metrobus, take the 32, 34 or 36 routes. Capital Bikeshare also has a dock nearby, on Daniel French Drive SW. Find a schedule of events at the Memorial here.

After exploring the Lincoln Memorial, you will want to see what else the National Mall has to offer. Read up on the other awesome monuments and memorials that can be found there.