跳到主要內容
首頁

@travelwith_caro

@travelwith_caro - 國家廣場史密森尼城堡的夏日場景 - 今年夏天在華盛頓特區要做的最好的事情

史密森尼城堡:通往博物館和歷史的門戶

在國家廣場標誌性的紅色建築中,了解史密森尼博物館及其背後的人物。

城堡重新開放。 有關營業時間和安全協議的更多信息,請訪問大樓的 網頁.

 

英國恩人和美國城堡

對於一個從未涉足華盛頓特區的人來說,法國出生、英國長大的詹姆斯史密森對這座城市產生了巨大的影響。 這位英國科學家(1765-1829 年)是一位公爵的私生子,他將自己的巨額財產留給了一個侄子,並規定,如果侄子在沒有繼承人的情況下死去,這筆錢將“流向美利堅合眾國,在華盛頓,以史密森學會的名義,是一個增加和傳播知識的機構。” 侄子死了,一個博物館綜合體誕生了。

為什麼史密森將如此大筆遺產留給他從未去過的地方? 這是一個謎,但理論比比皆是。 也許他覺得自己的祖國失去了合法性? 也許他覺得美國可能比歐洲更好地推進科學?

那份禮物的結果, 史密森學會,由國會於 1846 年通過一項法案正式創建。它的第一座建築,獨特的馬里蘭州紅色砂岩史密森尼城堡於 1855 年竣工。這座高聳的新哥特式建築由紐約市嶄露頭角的建築師 James Renwick 設計,最初擁有整個機構:畫廊,自然歷史收藏,實驗室,甚至是該組織公寓的第一秘書。

 

國家廣場上的史密森尼城堡 - 華盛頓特區的免費博物館

史密森尼城堡裡面有什麼?

hi維多利亞時代的拱門和城堡的深色木製品暗示著過去的時代,它現在擁有一個完全現代化的遊客中心,交互式 3-D 地圖精確定位和詳細描述了 17 個 DC 區域 史密森學會財產,包括博物館、畫廊和 國家動物園.

由於大多數都在相鄰的 國家廣場,這些地圖對於繪製一天的博物館之旅特別有用。 講解員還提供服務台並分發印刷指南。 還有一家咖啡和小吃店以及一個帶免費 Wi-Fi 的大型休息區,是休息和計劃下一步行動的理想場所,無論是在 國家自然歷史博物館 或深入了解當代藝術 赫希洪博物館和雕塑園.

同樣位於宏偉的教堂式結構中的是展覽 好奇心的城堡, 深入了解城堡的歷史以及史密森生平的鮮為人知的一面。 在遠處高高的房間裡,另一個展覽,歡迎來到史密森尼博物館,在古老的閃閃發光的木製展示櫃中展示了代表該機構所有成員的藝術品和手工藝品。 留意國家動物園的“熊貓攝像機”,展示其廣受歡迎的熊和來自世界各地的古老佛像 薩克勒畫廊.

也許最感人的是,城堡還擁有詹姆斯史密森的地下室。 雖然他於 1905 年在意大利熱那亞去世並被埋葬在那裡,但他被重新安葬在一個大理石墓穴中,這裡有一個像教堂一樣的小房間。 在這裡向他致敬,或者通過參觀他的願景發起的許多博物館。

 

探索華盛頓特區的免費史密森學會博物館 - 非裔美國人歷史和文化、國家動物園、航空航天、美國歷史等

 

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

The Smithsonian Castle: Gateway to Museums & History

Smithsonian Castle

At the Mall’s iconic red building, learn about Smithsonian museums and the man behind them

Smithsonian Castle on the National Mall - Washington, DC

Brit benefactor and an American castle

For a man who never set foot in Washington, DC, French-born, British-raised James Smithson has had a huge impact on the city. The British scientist (1765-1829), an illegitimate son of a Duke, left his considerable fortune to a nephew with the stipulation that, were the nephew to die without heirs, the money go “to the United States of America, to found at Washington, under the name of the Smithsonian Institution, an establishment for the increase and diffusion of knowledge.” The nephew died, and a museum complex was born.

Why did Smithson leave such a large bequest to a place he’d never been? It’s a mystery, but theories abound. Perhaps he felt delegitimized by his homeland? Maybe he felt the U.S. might further science better than Europe?

The result of that gift, The Smithsonian Institution, was officially created by an act of Congress in 1846. Its first building, the distinctive red Maryland sandstone Smithsonian Castle, was completed in 1855. The towered, neo-Gothic structure, designed by up-and-coming New York City architect James Renwick, initially held the entire institution: a gallery, a natural history collection, a laboratory and even the first secretary of the organization’s apartment.

What’s inside

Interior of Smithsonian Castle - Washington, DC

While the Victorian arches and dark woodwork of the Castle suggest a bygone era, it now holds a thoroughly modern visitors center with interactive 3-D maps pinpointing and detailing the 17 DC-area Smithsonian Institution properties, including museums, galleries and the National Zoological Park.

Since most are on the adjacent National Mall, the maps can be particularly helpful for plotting a day of museum-hopping. Docents also man a help desk and distribute printed guides. There’s also a coffee and snack shop and a large seating area with free Wi-Fi, an ideal place to take a break and plan your next move, be it bug-viewing at the National Museum of Natural History or a dip into contemporary art the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden.

Also housed in the grand, church-like structure is the exhibit A Castle of Curiosities delving into the history of the castle and the little that is known of Smithson’s life. In the high-ceilinged rooms beyond, another exhibit, Welcome to the Smithsonian, holds art and artifacts representing all of the institution’s members in old-timey gleaming wooden display cases. Look out for the National Zoo’s “panda cam” showing its popular bears and ancient buddhas from the Asian Sackler Gallery.

Perhaps most touching, the Castle also holds James Smithson’s crypt. Though he died in Genoa, Italy and was buried there, in 1905, he was reinterred in a marble crypt in a small, chapel-like room here. Pay tribute to him here, or by visiting the many museums his vision launched.

There are so many Smithsonian Museums in Washington, DC covering topics from American history to Asian art, discover them here.