Direkt zum Inhalt
Home
Haupteingang zum Smithsonian's National Zoo - Leitfaden für den Zoo in Washington, DC

Besuch des Smithsonian National Zoo in Washington, DC

Erleben Sie einen der beliebtesten (und kostenlosen) zoologischen Parks der Nation direkt hier in der Hauptstadt des Landes.

Der Smithsonian National Zoo ist geöffnet! Weitere Informationen zu Öffnungszeiten, zeitlich begrenztem Eintritt und Sicherheitsprotokollen finden Sie im Zoo Website .

Der Smithsonian National Zoo ist genau das Richtige für Sie

In DC gibt es nicht nur Elefanten und Esel. Bei der Nationaler Zoo, können Besucher alle möglichen Tiere finden, die keine Parteilinien abonnieren. Löwen, Tiger, Giraffen und die beliebten Riesenpandas des Zoos sind nur einige der über 1,500 Tiere, die den 163 Hektar großen Park zu Hause nennen. In den Lebensräumen des Zoos leben Tiere aus 300 verschiedenen Arten und etwa 25 Prozent der Zoobewohner sind gefährdet. Alle Tiere im National Zoo – der auch ein globales Forschungs- und Naturschutzzentrum ist – werden von erstklassigen Zoologen und Tierärzten betreut.

Der National Zoo befindet sich in einem Wohngebiet von DC Woodley Park Nachbarschaft und wie alle Smithsonian-Museen, der Eintritt ist frei. Der Haupteingang (Sie erkennen es an den beiden Instagram-freundlichen Löwenstatuen, die das Tor flankieren) befindet sich an der Connecticut Avenue. Der Zoo ist nur einen kurzen Spaziergang von den U-Bahn-Stationen Woodley Park und Cleveland Park der Red Line entfernt und die Busse L1 und L2 halten direkt vor dem Eingang. Seien Sie bereit, viel zu Fuß zu gehen! Der behinderten- und kinderwagenzugängliche National Zoo ist ein großer Park mit 18 verschiedenen Bereichen, die es zu erkunden gilt. 

Flamingos im Smithsonian's National Zoo - Leitfaden für den Zoo in Washington, DC

Treffen Sie die Tiere im National Zoo

Die ansässigen Schlagzeilenmacher sind die vom Aussterben bedrohten Riesenpandas – die erwachsenen Tian Tian und Mei Xiang und der einjährige Xiao Qi Ji – die viele der jährlich 2 Millionen Besucher des Parks anziehen. Sie können nicht nur den Lebensraum der Riesenpanda persönlich besuchen, sondern auch die verspielten Pandas und jungen Jungen auf der Panda Cam

Natürlich gibt es auch jenseits der Pandas Tiere und Lebensräume zu entdecken. Sie finden Tiere aus der ganzen Welt in verschiedenen Ausstellungen, die geöffnet sind, wie den Elephant Trails, Great Ape House, Cheetah Conservation Station und American Trail. Auschecken die Karte des Nationalzoos für Einzelheiten.

Sonderveranstaltungen und Programm für die ganze Familie

Mit erstklassigen Zoologen und Naturschützern bietet jeder Tag den Besuchern die Möglichkeit, noch mehr über die wilden Bewohner des National Zoo zu erfahren. Machen Sie eine selbstgeführte Tour durch den Zoo mit dem Leitfaden für Tierabenteuer; verbringen Sie einige Zeit mit den Tierpflegern im Great Ape House; oder erleben Sie die amerikanischen Nutztiere auf der Kids' Farm hautnah.

 

Entdecken Sie kostenlose Smithsonian Institution Museen in Washington, DC - Geschichte und Kultur der Afroamerikaner, National Zoo, Luft- und Raumfahrt, amerikanische Geschichte und mehr

 

 

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Visiting Smithsonian's National Zoo in Washington, DC

Main entrance to Smithsonian's National Zoo - Guide to the zoo in Washington, DC

Go wild at one of the nation’s most popular (and free) zoological parks right here in the nation's capital.

Welcome back to the Zoo 

The Smithsonian’s National Zoo is opening its doors and welcoming visitors with new safety guidelines in place. There are two options for passes to the zoo: a free timed entry pass or a paid parking pass. All passes to get into the zoo must be reserved online beforehand, and the last entry time to the zoo is 3 p.m. Some of the exhibits will be closed for the safety of the visitors, staff and animals. The zoo is currently only opening up to 5,000 visitors per day from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Face coverings and social distancing are required, and frequent hand-sanitizing is encouraged.

Smithsonian National Zoo Giant Panda

Smithsonian's National Zoo is right for you

It’s not all elephants and donkeys in DC. At the National Zoo, visitors can find all sorts of animals that don’t subscribe to party lines. Lions, tigers, giraffes and the zoo’s beloved giant pandas are just some of the 1,500-plus animals that call the 163-acre park home. The zoo’s habitats feature animals from 300 different species and about 25 percent of the zoo’s residents are endangered. All of the animals at the National Zoo – which is also a global research center and conservation center – are cared for by world-class zoologists and veterinarians.

The National Zoo is located in DC’s residential Woodley Park neighborhood and, like all Smithsonian museums, admission is free. The main entrance (you’ll know it by the two Instagram-friendly lion statues flanking the gate) is on Connecticut Avenue. The zoo is just a short walk from both the Woodley Park and Cleveland Park Metro stops on the Red Line and the L1 and L2 buses drop off right in front of the entrance. Be prepared to do lots of walking! The National Zoo, which is handicapped and stroller accessible, is a large park with 18 distinct areas to explore. 

Flamingos at Smithsonian's National Zoo - Guide to the zoo in Washington, DC

Meet the animals at the National Zoo

The resident headline-makers are the endangered giant pandas – adults Tian Tian and Mei Xiang – who attract many of the park’s 2 million annual visitors. While the giant panda habitat may be closed to visitors at the moment, you can watch the playful pandas and their new cub on the Panda Cam

Of course, there are animals and habitats to explore beyond pandas. You’ll find animals from all over the world in various exhibits that are open like the Elephant Trails, Great Ape House, Cheetah Conservation Station and American Trail. Check out the National Zoo map for specifics.

@fiz1point5 - ZooLights winter holiday celebration at Smithsonian National Zoo - Free family friendly things to do in Washington, DC

Special events and programming for the whole family

With world-class zoologists and conservationists on staff, every day offers an opportunity for visitors to learn even more about the National Zoo’s wild residents. Take a self-guided tour of the zoo with the Animal Adventure Guide; spend some time chatting with the animal keepers at the Great Ape House; or get up close and personal with the American farm animals at the Kids’ Farm.

Take a walk on the DC Cool side of the zoo

Want to go even deeper in-depth with the animals? The National Zoo hosts various educational programs including at-home activities for children, as well as the trick-or-treating favorite, Boo at the Zoo, and ZooLights holiday spectacle. And, for the adults, the National Zoo hosts a number of year-round, grownup-friendly events like ZooFari and Woo at the Zoo.

Discover free Smithsonian Institution Museums in Washington, DC - African American History and Culture, National Zoo, Air and Space, American History and more