Passer au contenu principal
Réunions
recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche
recherche
Home

CARTE TI

icône de carte icône de fermeture
Les amateurs de concerts à 9h30 Club

15 lieux incontournables de la vie nocturne sur U Street



Découvrez les endroits les plus chauds et les plus cool pour passer une nuit le long du couloir U Street de DC.

Avec une scène musicale et nocturne inégalée, Rue U attire les habitants et les visiteurs qui cherchent à se coucher tard et à passer un bon moment. Des clubs de danse underground (il y en a plus d'un dans ce quartier) aux espaces industriels-chic où vous pouvez siroter des cocktails astucieusement conçus et tout le reste, ce quartier populaire du district a toutes les options pour s'adapter à votre ambiance.

01

9: 30 Club

 

Cet lieu légendaire juste à côté de la rue U, c'est l'endroit où les stars célèbres et montantes viennent se produire devant des foules bruyantes et à guichets fermés. Même avec un large public, il reste spacieux ; armé d'un balcon, il y a de belles vues où que vous soyez. Vous pouvez également y faire le plein d'excellents plats végétariens.

02

Nellie's Sports Bar

Cet bar sportif gay pionnier, l'un des premiers à ouvrir à l'extérieur de Dupont Circle, héberge toutes sortes d'événements, comme des anecdotes et des drag bingo. Nommé en l'honneur de l'arrière-grand-mère des propriétaires, le bar dispose de dizaines de téléviseurs au rez-de-chaussée détendu et d'une piste de danse à l'étage qui continue jusqu'à la fermeture.

03

U Street Music Hall

 

A salle de concert souterraine pour les actes underground et les grands noms. Les prix sont bas, les foules sont sympathiques et l'acoustique est excellente dans un espace sans attitude. C'est tout simplement un endroit fantastique pour assister à un spectacle et danser.

04

Bar de service

 

Si vous recherchez de délicieuses collations de bar et des cocktails créatifs à toute heure, alors dirigez-vous vers Bar de service. Une liste tournante de cocktails de saison et de boissons abordables ravira tous les membres de votre groupe jusqu'au petit matin.

05

Boutique Colada

 

Les couleurs vives Boutique Colada – situé juste à côté de U Street – est le rêve d'un photographe. Cet hybride café-bar cubain regorge de teintes pastel et de bonnes vibrations, qui s'étendent au patio et au jardin sur le toit adaptés aux chiens. Les bouchées à prix raisonnable donnent vie à diverses saveurs et se marient mieux avec un café cubain audacieux le jour et un cocktail le soir. Dirigez-vous vers le toit le jeudi pour un happy hour toute la nuit sur le thème des Caraïbes avec des cocktails à 6 $ et des empanadas à 2 $.

06

El Techo

 

Présenté comme une « cabane dans les arbres pour adultes », le El Techo apporte de la chaleur avec des margaritas épicées et la cuisine de rue mexicaine créative que vous attendez de la boutique Rito Loco en bas. El Techo propose également des tapas d'inspiration espagnole et un certain nombre de cervezas pour l'happy hour parfait par temps chaud.

07

La Gibson

 

L'angle des rues U et 14th est peut-être l'une des intersections les plus connues et les plus fréquentées de la ville, mais La Gibson reste discret, et pour cause. Ce bar intimiste, accessible uniquement par une porte banalisée, attire aussi bien les couples que les amateurs de cocktails. Les tables faiblement éclairées nécessitent des réservations, tandis que les sièges du bar et le patio restent prêts à l'emploi lorsque des boissons sur mesure vous appellent.

08

Le Brixton

 

Cet pub britannique est devenu un happy hour populaire et un lieu de fin de soirée, situé le long du centre de la vie nocturne qu'est U Street. Montez à l'étage sur le toit-terrasse pour des vues mémorables, en particulier au coucher du soleil. Et oh oui, il y a des boissons et des bouchées que vous voudrez accompagner votre détente : l'happy hour signifie que tous les brouillons sont à 2 $ de rabais et beaucoup d'options de nourriture pour moins de 10 $.

09

Théâtre Howard

Assurez-vous de vous habiller, que ce soit pour groover sur du jazz ou pour vous mettre au son des rythmes lors d'une soirée dansante. Théâtre Howard a été rénové pour honorer sa gloire d'origine, ancrant l'extrémité la plus à l'est de la rue U et Shaw quartiers et hébergeant de grands noms du R&B, de la pop et d'autres genres.

10

DC9

Cet bar et salle de musique est aussi piqué sans vergogne que dans un quartier en constante évolution. L'happy hour se termine tard, mais les boissons sont toujours assez abordables sur l'un des trois étages. Détendez-vous en bas dans une cabine confortable; visitez l'étage intermédiaire pour des spectacles d'humour, de la musique en direct ou des soirées dansantes des années 90 ; et prenez une pause sur le patio du dernier étage (qui est ouvert toute l'année et couvert en hiver).

11

Tropicalia

In cet espace en bas, les soirées se font tard – très tard, en fait. Les soirées à thème attirent ceux qui n'ont pas fini de danser à la fermeture des autres bars. Attention, il fait chaud. Le nom dit vraiment tout.

12

Restaurant Marvin

 

Groupe d'amis sur le toit de Marvin sur la 14e Rue - Été à Washington, DC

Groupe d'amis sur le toit de Marvin sur la 14e Rue - Été à Washington, DC

Plus que un lieu historique, ses deux étages, son patio en plein air et son labyrinthe de pièces se remplissent tard de clients qui affluent vers cet espace à voir et à voir. Nommé en l'honneur du chanteur de soul né à Washington, Marvin Gaye, ce point chaud sert une authentique cuisine soul avec une touche belge dans un décor fantastiquement orné. Les foules descendent aussi sur la piste de danse.

13

Velvet Lounge & Dodge City

 

Cet lieu de rencontre hipster, et son voisin d'à côté Dodge City, sont des bars étroits, populaires et conviviaux, tous deux dotés de patios à l'arrière. Velvet est un peu plus piqué et accueille de la musique live et des sets de DJ d'artistes dont vous n'avez probablement pas entendu parler, mais sur lesquels vous ne pourrez pas arrêter de danser.

14

L'Oie Sale

 

Juste en face de Nellie's, au cœur du couloir de la rue U se trouve L'Oie Sale, qui se targue d'excellentes boissons et d'ambiances encore meilleures. Choisissez parmi une gamme de martinis avec – vous l'aurez deviné – la vodka Grey Goose, détendez-vous et détendez-vous. Nous vous recommandons de visiter ce bar populaire pendant l'happy hour en semaine, lorsque les boissons sont à moitié prix de 5h à 9h.

15

801 Restaurant et bar

 

"Good vibes only" n'est pas seulement la devise de 801 Restaurant et bar, c'est aussi la première chose que les clients voient (éclairée par des lumières blanches) lorsqu'ils atteignent le haut des escaliers de ce bar sur le toit à cheval sur les quartiers U Street et Shaw. Si vous êtes avec un groupe assoiffé, essayez la signature 801 Mega Mule - une mule de Moscou pour plusieurs personnes servie dans une énorme tasse en cuivre.

Aucun adjectif ne peut décrire la scène de U Street. Cette bande d'activité change chaque jour, ce qui en fait l'un des corridors les plus dynamiques, vibrants et énergiques du district. Pour plus d'aventures, vous devriez également vérifier plus de choses à faire sur Rue U or toujours passionnante 14th Street.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire
de

You are here

15 Must-Visit Nightlife Hot Spots on U Street

@vmiranda84 - Concert at the historic 9:30 Club - Concert venues in Washington, DC

Experience the hottest and coolest places to spend a night along DC's U Street Corridor.

With an unparalleled music and nightlife scene, U Street draws locals and visitors looking to stay up late and have a good time. From underground dance clubs (there's more than one in this 'hood) to industrial-chic spaces where you can sip artfully crafted cocktails and everything in between, this popular area in the District has every option to suit your vibe.

1 9:30 Club

30 Club - Concert venues in Washington, DC -

This legendary venue just off U Street is where both famous and rising stars come to perform to sold-out, raucous crowds. Even with a big audience, it’s still spacious; armed with a balcony, there’s good views no matter where you’re standing. You can fill up on great veggie fare there, too.

2 Nellie’s Sports Bar
Nellie’s Sports Bar Elvert Barnes

This pioneering gay sports bar, one of the first to open outside of Dupont Circle, hosts all sorts of events, like trivia and drag bingo. Named for the owners' great-grandmother, the bar boasts dozens of TVs in the relaxed downstairs, and an upstairs patio dance floor that goes strong until close.

Discover entertainment and nightlife hot spots in Washington, DC

3 U Street Music Hall

Concert at U Street Music Hall - The best music and nightlife venues on DC's U Street Corridor

A subterranean hideaway music venue for underground and big-name acts. Prices are low, crowds are friendly and acoustics are great in a space with no attitude. It’s simply a fantastic place to catch a show and dance.

4 Service Bar

Bar snacks and cocktails from Service Bar - Cocktail and neighborhood bar in DC's U Street Corridor

If you’re looking for delicious bar snacks snacks and creative cocktails at any hour, then head to Service Bar. A rotating list of seasonal cocktails and affordable drinks will keep everyone in your group happy untill the early hours of the morning.

5 Colada Shop

@adriennenbruce - Patio at Colada Shop on 14th Street - Where to eat outdoors in Washington, DC

The brightly colored Colada Shop – located just off of U Street – is a photographer’s dream. This Cuban cafe-bar hybrid is packed with pastel hues and good vibes, which extend to the dog-friendly patio and rooftop garden. Reasonably-priced bites bring to life diverse flavors and are best paired with a bold Cuban coffee by day and a cocktail by night. Head to the rooftop on Thursdays for a Caribbean-themed all-night happy hour starring $6 cocktails and $2 empanadas.

6 El Techo

@eltechodc - Rooftop Mexican bar and restaurant in Shaw - Washington, DC rooftops

Billed as an “adult treehouse,” the turf-adorned El Techo brings the heat with spicy margaritas and the creative Mexican street food you’ve come to expect from the downstairs Rito Loco shop. El Techo also offers Spanish-inspired tapas and a number of cervezas for the perfect warm-weather happy hour.

7 The Gibson

@thegibsondc - Whiskey cocktail from the Gibson bar on 14th and U Streets - Secret bars in Washington, DC

The corner of U and 14th Streets may be one of the most well-known and crowded intersections in the city, but The Gibson remains inconspicuous, and for good reason. This intimate speakeasy, accessible only through an unmarked door, attracts couples and cocktail lovers alike. Dimly lit tables require reservations, while bar seats and the patio remain walk-in-ready when bespoke drinks are calling your name.

8 The Brixton

@thebrixtondc - Drinks on The Brixton rooftop on U Street - DC's best rooftop bars

This British pub has become a popular happy hour and late-night locale, situated along the nightlife hub that is U Street. Head upstairs to the roof deck for some memorable views, especially during sunset. And oh yeah, there’s some beverages and bites you’ll want to accompany your relaxation: happy hour means all draughts are $2 off and plenty of food options for under $10.

9 Howard Theatre
Howard Theatre LaVan Anderson / Howard Theatre

Be sure to dress up, whether grooving to jazz or getting down to slick beats at a dance party. Howard Theatre has been refurbished to honor its original glory, anchoring the easternmost end of the U Street and Shaw neighborhoods and hosting big-name acts across R&B, pop and other genres.

10 DC9
DC9 DC9

This bar and music venue is as unapologetically divey as it gets in an ever-evolving neighborhood. Happy hour goes late, but drinks are still quite affordable on any of the three floors. Hang out downstairs in a cozy booth; visit the middle floor for stand-up comedy, live music or ‘90s dance parties; and take a breather on the top-floor patio (which is open year-round and covered in the winter).

11 Tropicalia
Tropicalia Tropicalia

In this downstairs space, parties go late – very late, in fact. Themed party nights attract those who aren’t done dancing when it's closing time at other bars. Be warned, it gets warm. The name really does say it all.

12 Restaurant Marvin

Group of friends at Marvin rooftop on 14th Street - Summer in Washington, DC

More than just a historic venue, its two stories, alfresco patio and maze of rooms get crowded late with patrons who flock to this see-and-be-seen space. Named for DC-born soul singer Marvin Gaye, this hot spot serves authentic soul food with a Belgian twist amid fantastically ornate decor. Crowds get down upstairs on the dance floor, too.

13 Velvet Lounge & Dodge City

Velvet Lounge - U Street - Washington, DC

This hipster hangout, and its next-door neighbor Dodge City, are narrow, popular and friendly bars, both with back patios. Velvet is a bit more divey, and hosts live music and DJ sets of artists you probably haven’t heard of, but that you won’t be able to stop dancing to.

14 The Dirty Goose

The Dirty Goose on U Street - Gay bars in Washington, DC

Just across the street from Nellie’s in the heart of the U Street corridor lies The Dirty Goose, which prides itself on great drinks and even better vibes. Choose from an array of martinis with – you guessed it – Grey Goose vodka, kick back and relax. We recommend checking out this popular bar during weekday happy hour, when drinks are half price from 5 - 9 p.m.

15 801 Restaurant & Bar

@_emmamaephotography - 801 Rooftop Bar in Shaw - Rooftop bars and restaurants in Washington, DC

"Good vibes only" isn't just the motto at 801 Restaurant & Bar, it's also the first thing patrons see (illuminated in white lights) when reaching the top of the stairs at this rooftop bar straddling the U Street and Shaw neighborhoods. If you're with a thirsty group, try the signature 801 Mega Mule – a multi-person Moscow Mule served in a massive copper mug.

No single adjective can describe the U Street scene. This strip of activity changes by the day, making it one of the most dynamic, vibrant, and energetic corridors in the District. For more adventures, you should also check out more things to do on U Street or always-exciting 14th Street.