Direkt zum Inhalt
Meetings
search search search search search search
search
Home

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol
Atlas Performing Arts Center

Sehenswürdigkeiten und Aktivitäten in der H Street NE



H Street NE ist ein Spielplatz für Feinschmecker, Fans darstellender Künste und Musikliebhaber und bietet alles.

Restaurants, Events, Shops, Bars, Kunst – hier ist für jeden etwas dabei H-Straße NE. Seit 1938 im Atlas verankert, ist das Viertel in jüngster Zeit zu seinen Wurzeln als Kunst- und Kulturzentrum zurückgekehrt. Anfang 2005 wurde das Theater als Atlas Performing Arts Center wiedergeboren, und neue Restaurants, Bars und Geschäfte folgten. Heute hat sich die H Street NE zu einem der Ausgehzentren der Stadt entwickelt, mit Musiklokalen, Bars und vielen Möglichkeiten für spätabends Essen.

01

Sehen Sie sich eine zum Nachdenken anregende Produktion an

Dieses Wahrzeichen des National Register of Historic Places verfügt über mehrere Aufführungsräume und ist die Heimat des jährlichen INTERSECTIONS Performing Arts Festivals. Neben Theater und Tanz aller Art bietet das Atlas zeigt erschwingliche, ausgefallene Musik-Acts und Kooperationen.

02

Rocken Sie bei einer Live-Show ab

Sehen Sie sich eine Show an Kuchenladen, das eine gestapelte Auswahl an Künstlern (und süßen oder herzhaften Scheiben) bietet. Oder schauen Sie vorbei Der goldene Dollar des kleinen Fräulein Whiskys für eine neonviolett beleuchtete Tauchstimmung mit jeden Abend etwas anderem (DJ-befeuerte Tanzpartys, Karaoke oder Comedy).

03

Fangen Sie ein Kaffeerauschen ein

Sidamo-Kaffee

Beginnen Sie Ihren Tag mit einem Besuch Maketo, ein 6,000 Quadratmeter großer kommunaler Marktplatz, der urban inspirierten Einzelhandel, ein südostasiatisches Restaurant und ein Café kombiniert. Gehen Sie nach oben, um frisches Java, das im Haus geröstet wird, und täglich gebackenes Gebäck (oder wenn die Sonne scheint, im Innenhof Platz zu nehmen). Überqueren Sie Kontinente für ein weiteres einzigartiges Kaffeeerlebnis im Familienbesitz Sidamo Coffee & Tea's Äthiopische Kaffeezeremonie jeden Sonntag um 2 Uhr. Der Brauch beginnt damit, dass eine Frau reife grüne Kaffeebohnen auf einem Campingkocher röstet, und endet mit der Darbringung des frischen Kaffees an die Gäste.

04

Früher Vogel bekommt den Bagel

Frühaufsteher sollten besuchen Ochsenfrosch-Bagel. Der schnörkellose Ort bietet ein Dutzend Bagel-Sorten und traditionelle Sandwiches im New Yorker Stil. Das Pastrami-Ei-Käse-Bagel-Sandwich lässt uns das Wasser im Mund zusammenlaufen.

 

05

Entdecken Sie farbenfrohe Wandgemälde

H Straßenwandgemälde

Während in der ganzen Stadt Wandgemälde zu finden sind, beherbergt die H Street entlang der Linden Court Gasse eine „Kunstallergie“. Die über 10 Kunstwerke zeigen die Geschichte, Kultur und Gemeinschaft von DC. Am Ende des Blocks sind die Wände von Natürlich drehen prahlen mit einem weiteren lebendigen Meisterwerk.

06

Verpassen Sie nicht das H Street Festival

H-Straßenfest

Die größte Veranstaltung des Viertels (und eines der größten Straßenfeste des Landes) ist das jährliche H-Straßenfest, das sich über 11 Blocks erstreckt und jedes Jahr rund 150,000 Besucher anzieht. Zu den Höhepunkten der Herbstfeier gehören neben Kunstausstellungen, zum Verkauf stehenden Kunsthandwerken und einer Reihe von Angeboten lokaler Imbisswagen und Restaurants auch musikalische Darbietungen und multikulturelle Unterhaltung.

07

Teilen Sie ein Gericht bei Ethiopic

Äthiopisch

Du wirst es finden Äthiopisch am Anfang der Westseite der H Street. Das Ambiente hier ist gemütlich und das Essen ist perfekt zum Teilen. Wir empfehlen die Awaze Tibs: gewürfeltes erstklassiges Rindfleisch in Berbere-Sauce, Zwiebeln, Tomaten und Paprika. Kein Fleisch essen? Der vegetarische Sampler ist ein Muss.

08

Werde ausgefallen bei Copycat Co.

Nehmen Sie Platz oben an der kleinen Cocktail- und Knödelbar, Nachahmer Co. Zu den Designelementen gehören von Vogelkäfigen und chinesischen Laternen inspirierte Leuchten, eine Tafel mit allen verfügbaren Getränken und ein großes Panoramafenster mit Blick auf die H Street. Besitzer Devin Gong mischt eines unserer beliebtesten Moscow Mules in der Stadt.

09

Steigen Sie in die Straßenbahn

H St Straßenbahn

Fahren Sie mit einem der ersten öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel der Stadt die H Street hinauf und hinunter. Die Straßenbahn ist kostenlos und nur im H Street-Korridor verfügbar. Sie fährt von der Union Station zur Oklahoma Avenue entlang der H Street NE und der Benning Road. Überprüfen Online für den Straßenbahnfahrplan, Tracker und Servicewarnungen.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

10 Things to See & Do on H Street NE

Biergarten Haus - H Street NE - Washington, DC

A playground for foodies, performing-arts fans and music lovers, you can find it all on H Street NE.

Restaurants, events, shops, bars, the arts – there’s something for everyone on H Street NE. Anchored by the Atlas since 1938, the neighborhood has recently returned to its roots as an arts and cultural center. In early 2005, the theater was reincarnated as the Atlas Performing Arts Center, and new restaurants, bars and businesses began to follow. Today, H Street NE has turned into one of the nightlife centers of the city, with music venues, bars and plenty of options for late-night eats.

1 Eat where Chef Carlos Delgado eats

When China Chilcano’s Carlos Delgado isn’t rustling up dishes from his native Peru, he’s hitting up H Street NE for amazing eats. Stoke your appetite during this Chefs Dish DC foodie adventure as Delgado devours smoky blue cheese mussels at Granville Moore's, delights in the brined-to-perfection brisket at Sally's Middle Name and snacks on steamed buns at Maketto.

2 Catch a thought-provoking production

H Street NE Neighborhood - Atlas Performing Arts Center & H Street Country Club - Washington, DC

The community comes out in full force for the Atlas Performing Arts Center’s award-winning, inspiring and topical productions. This National Register of Historic Places landmark features performance spaces, and in addition to plays, also exhibits affordable, offbeat music acts and collaborations.

3 Rock out at a live show
Rock out at a live show Rock & Roll Hotel

You can catch a show at one of H Street’s many live music venues. Rock and Roll Hotel hosts up-and-coming indie rock bands, while Little Miss Whiskey’s Golden Dollar offers something different every night (think: DJ-fueled dance parties, karaoke or comedy). For an enchanting evening, check out Gallery O on H during its Music in the Courtyard series on select weekends in summer.

4 Catch a coffee buzz
Catch a coffee buzz Maketto

Start your day off by visiting Maketto, a 6,000 square foot communal marketplace that combines urban-inspired retail, a Southeast Asian sit-down restaurant and a cafe. Head upstairs for fresh java roasted in-house and pastries baked daily (or if the sun is shining, grab a seat at the outdoor courtyard). Cross continents for another unique coffee experience at family-owned Sidamo Coffee & Tea’s Ethiopian coffee ceremony every Sunday at 2 p.m. The custom begins with an Ethiopian woman roasting ripe green coffee beans on a camp stove, and ends with an offering of the fresh brew to patrons.

5 Sip suds in the sunshine

Biergarten Haus H Street NE, Washington, DC

Most gardens need sun and water, but beer gardens aren’t most gardens. The magic recipe at Biergarten Haus is sun and suds, including summer-friendly kölsches, hefe weizens and lagers. If it’s a rooftop you’re looking for, head to Ben's Upstairs right next door to Ben’s Chili Bowl for sweeping views of the city and delicious fare. H Street Country Club is in the business of serving up Mexican food and multiple variations of margaritas with a breeze from its rooftop.

6 Don't miss the H Street Festival
Don't miss the H Street Festival Ted Eytan

The neighborhood’s largest event is the annual H Street Festival, which spans 10 blocks and attracts roughly thousands of patrons. Highlights of the fall event include musical performances and multi-cultural entertainment, in addition to art exhibits, for-sale crafts and an array of offerings from local food trucks and restaurants.

7 Share a dish at Ethiopic

Ethiopic Restaurant on H Street NE - Ethiopian Restaurant in Washington, DC

You’ll find Ethiopic at the start of H Street’s west side. The ambiance here is cozy, and the food is perfect for sharing. We suggest the Awaze Tibs: cubed prime beef sautéed in berbere sauce, onions, tomatoes and peppers. Don’t eat meat? The vegetarian sampler is a must.

8 ... Or walk across the street for veggie-centric comfort food

Fare Well - Vegetarian Restaurant on H Street NE - Where to Eat in Washington, DC

Fare Well, which sits across the street from Ethipoic, is a vegan, diner-style restaurant brought to you by Chef Doron Petersan (known for her appearance on Cupcake Wars). The eatery will offer a distinctive dining experience featuring baked goods and veggie-centric comfort food. The Cashew & Almond Burrata is the first item on our list to try.

9 Get offbeat at Copycat Co.

Grab a seat upstairs at the small cocktail and dumpling bar, Copycat Co. Design elements include light fixtures inspired by birdcages and Chinese lanterns, a chalkboard listing all the drinks available and a large, scenic window looking over H Street. Owner Devin Gong mixes one of our favorite Moscow Mules in the city.

10 Early bird gets the bagel
Early bird gets the bagel Bullfrog Bagels

Early birds should visit Bullfrog Bagels, the no-frills spot boasts traditional New York-style bagels with smoked salmon, whitefish and pastrami. The pastrami, egg and cheese bagel sandwich has our mouths watering.

Read more about the H Street neighborhood’s revival or check out what to do in neighboring Capitol Hill.