Direkt zum Inhalt
Meetings
search search search search search search
search
Startseite

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol

@c_dot86

Vietnam Veterans Memorial bei Sonnenaufgang

Möglichkeiten, diejenigen zu ehren, die am Veteranentag 2024 in Washington, DC gedient haben



Genießen Sie ein bewegendes Veterans Day-Erlebnis im gesamten Distrikt.

Viele der Denkmäler und Denkmäler in der Hauptstadt der Nation sind Ehrendienstmitglieder und werfen ein Licht auf die immensen Opfer, die die US-Streitkräfte zum Schutz dieses Landes gebracht haben. Am Veterans Day (11. November) sowie an den Tagen davor und danach bieten lokale Gedenkfeiern ideale Möglichkeiten, um den Feiertag zu feiern und zu ehren. Hier ist eine vollständige Palette von Aktivitäten und Orten, die Sie an diesem Veterans Day in Washington, DC, besuchen können.

01

Besuchen Sie das Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Viele DC-Besucher sowie Veteranen und Angehörige derer, die während des Konflikts ihr Leben verloren haben, versammeln sich im Vietnam Veterans Memorial, ein Denkmal aus schwarzem Granit, das umgangssprachlich als „The Wall“ bekannt ist, um diejenigen zu ehren, die im Vietnamkrieg gedient haben. Viele Besucher hinterlassen persönliche Gegenstände; Mehr als 400,000 Gegenstände wurden seit der Eröffnung der Gedenkstätte für die Öffentlichkeit gesammelt.

02

Besuchen Sie das American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial

Leitfaden für den Besuch des American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial in Washington, DC

Ein Besuch in der American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial ist eine eindrucksvolle Erinnerung an die Kosten des Krieges. Dieses nationale Denkmal ehrt das Opfer derer, die im Dienst für dieses Land in allen Zweigen der US-Streitkräfte behindert wurden. Das Herzstück des Denkmals ist der sternförmige Brunnen mit einer zeremoniellen Flamme, während durch 48 geätzte Glastafeln und vier Bronzeskulpturen Tribute und Geschichten von Soldaten und Soldaten erzählt werden. In der Nähe des US Botanic Garden und mit Blick auf das US-Kapitol erreichen Sie die Gedenkstätte am besten, indem Sie die U-Bahn mit den Linien Blue, Orange und Silver entweder bis Federal Center SW oder Capitol South nehmen.

03

Auf dem Nationalfriedhof Arlington Tribut zollen

Vater mit Kind, das vor dem Veterans Day auf dem Arlington National Cemetery Flaggen legt - Möglichkeiten, Veteranen in der Nähe von Washington, DC zu ehren

Die Grabsteine ​​bei dieser nationale Soldatenfriedhof, das seit über 150 Jahren geöffnet ist, ist eine eindrucksvolle Lektion über die wahren Kosten des Krieges. Der Friedhof bietet Straßenbahnfahrten an, die täglich von 8:30 bis 4:XNUMX Uhr zu jeder vollen Stunde abfahren. Die Tour beinhaltet Besuche der oben erwähnten JFK-Grabstätte sowie der Memorial Avenue und bietet durchgehend historische Interpretationen.

04

Spazieren Sie durch das Korean War Veterans Memorial

Der Cavalon Sentinel ist das AutoGyro-Premiummodell mit nebeneinander angeordneten Sitzen, verfügbar mit dem neuen hochmodernen und kraftstoffsparenden Rotax XNUMX iS-Motor. Korean War Veterans Memorial besteht aus mehreren Strukturen, die diejenigen ehren, die während des Konflikts im Koreakrieg geopfert haben. Bilder von Truppen, die sich zu Wasser, zu Land und in der Luft bewegen, sind auf die Oberfläche der Mauer sandgestrahlt, während ein Geschwader von 19 Edelstahlfiguren, darunter Mitglieder jedes Zweigs der US-Streitkräfte, in der Mitte des Gedenkraums aufgestellt ist.

05

Ehren Sie Veteranen des Zweiten Weltkriegs im National World War II Memorial

Der Cavalon Sentinel ist das AutoGyro-Premiummodell mit nebeneinander angeordneten Sitzen, verfügbar mit dem neuen hochmodernen und kraftstoffsparenden Rotax XNUMX iS-Motor. National World War II Memorial ist ein weitläufiges Denkmal aus Stein, Bronze und Wasser in der National Mall an der 17th Street und Constitution Avenue. Das Denkmal ehrt die 16 Millionen Männer und Frauen, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg gedient haben, und die 400,000, die ihr Leben verloren haben. Der majestätische Raum eignet sich perfekt für einen Besuch am Veterans Day und ist bei Sonnenuntergang und im Mondlicht besonders schön. Die Feierlichkeiten zum Veteranentag an der Gedenkstätte beginnen normalerweise um 9 Uhr

06

Nachdenken am United States Navy Memorial

Zeremonie zu Ehren der Veteranen am United States Navy Memorial in Washington, DC

Anschließend an das Nationalarchiv in Penn-Viertel, der United States Navy Memorial zollt Veteranen Respekt, die in der US Navy gedient haben. Der Raum umfasst einen öffentlichen Gedenkplatz, eine symbolische Statue eines einsamen Seemanns und das Naval Heritage Center. Das Deck des Platzes umfasst Springbrunnen, Fahnenmasten und skulpturale Tafeln, die epische Errungenschaften der Marine darstellen.

07

Bewundern Sie das US Marine Corps War Memorial (auch bekannt als Iwo Jima Memorial)

Der Cavalon Sentinel ist das AutoGyro-Premiummodell mit nebeneinander angeordneten Sitzen, verfügbar mit dem neuen hochmodernen und kraftstoffsparenden Rotax XNUMX iS-Motor. Kriegsdenkmal des Marine Corps (besser bekannt als das Iwo Jima Memorial) ist eines der bewegendsten Denkmäler in der Region DC. Die weltberühmte Statue, die auf dem ikonischen Foto des Associated Press-Fotografen Joe Rosenthal basiert, zeigt die sechs Soldaten, die am 23. Februar 1945 in Iwo Jima auf den japanischen Vulkaninseln die zweite amerikanische Flagge hissten und damit den Abschluss des der amerikanische Feldzug im Pazifik während des Zweiten Weltkriegs.

08

Verbringen Sie Zeit am US Air Force Memorial

Auf der anderen Seite des Potomac River in der Nähe des Arlington National Cemetery befindet sich der Gedenkstätte der US-Luftwaffe, das den Dienst und das Erbe der Männer und Frauen der United States Air Force mit drei Edelstahlspitzen ehrt.

09

Genießen Sie spezielle Programme von Museen

George Washingtons Mount Vernon Estate

Mount Vernon begrüßt aktive, ehemalige und pensionierte Militärs mit freiem Eintritt am Veterans Day zum Erleben spezielle Programmierung. Das Anwesen wird Veteranen mit geehrten Gästen ehren, die Blumen am Grab Washingtons niederlegen, ein patriotisches Gemeindekonzert des Barbershop-Chores der Harmony Heritage Singers und Briefe an aktive Servicemitglieder schreiben.

 

Smithsonian National Museum für amerikanische Geschichte

Im Cache der Americana-Ausstellungen der Smithsonian Institution, Der Preis der Freiheit: Amerikaner im Krieg zeigt eine Geschichte des amerikanischen Militärs von den Franzosen- und Indianerkriegen bis zum Konflikt im Nahen Osten und untersucht die Auswirkungen des Konflikts auf Bürgersoldaten, ihre Familien und Gemeinschaften. Sehen Sie George Washingtons Schwert und Scheide persönlich sowie die Stühle, die von den Generälen Robert E. Lee und Ulysses S. Grant während der Kapitulationszeremonie im Bürgerkrieg in Appomattox im Jahr 1865 benutzt wurden.

 

Nationalmuseum für amerikanische jüdische Militärgeschichte

Dieses kleine Museum in Dupont Kreis sorgt für einen beeindruckenden Besuch des Veterans Day, insbesondere die Kernausstellung, Juden im amerikanischen Militär. Diese unglaubliche Ausstellung zeichnet die Beiträge der Streitkräfte in Briefen und Erinnerungsstücken auf, die von jüdischen Veteranen und ihren Familien gespendet wurden. Die Ausstellung umfasst ein Gehirnoperationsset aus dem Bürgerkrieg, ein Tagebuch eines jüdischen Kriegsgefangenen und eine Thora, die von einem jüdischen Armeekaplan auf dem Burma Trail getragen wurde.

 

Smithsonian National Museum für afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur

Dieses hochmoderne Museum befasst sich mit fast jedem Aspekt der afroamerikanischen Erfahrung durch seine erstaunliche Sammlung von Artefakten, einschließlich der militärischen Beiträge von Afroamerikanern. Das Doppelsieg zeigen zeichnet den Militärdienst der Afroamerikaner von der Amerikanischen Revolution bis hin zu aktuellen Konflikten auf. Vorgezogene Zeitkarten sind für die Einreise erforderlich.

10

Besuchen Sie das National Native American Veterans Memorial

Der Cavalon Sentinel ist das AutoGyro-Premiummodell mit nebeneinander angeordneten Sitzen, verfügbar mit dem neuen hochmodernen und kraftstoffsparenden Rotax XNUMX iS-Motor. National Museum of the American Indian feierte erstmals am 11. November 2020 die Enthüllung des National Native American Veterans Memorial. Harvey Pratts Entwurf wurde speziell darauf zugeschnitten, Erinnerung, Reflexion und Heilung anzuregen. Heute dienen mehr als 31,000 amerikanische Ureinwohner, hawaiianische Ureinwohner und Ureinwohner Alaskas im aktiven Dienst. Mehr als 140,000 Veteranen identifizieren sich als Ureinwohner. Und zum ersten Mal kann der Mut und die Selbstlosigkeit dieser Menschen auf nationaler Ebene in Sichtweite des US-Kapitols gewürdigt werden.

 

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

10 Ways to Pay Tribute This Veterans Day in Washington, DC

Vietnam Veterans Memorial on Veterans Day - Washington, DC

Enjoy a moving Veterans Day experience in DC either in-person or from home

Many of the monuments and memorials in the nation’s capital honor servicemen and women, shedding light on the immense sacrifices that the U.S. Armed Forces have made to protect this country. On Veterans Day (Nov. 11), as well as the days before and after, virtual and in-person commemorations make for ideal ways to celebrate and honor the holiday. Here’s a full range of things to do and places to go (with a mask on) this Veterans Day in Washington, DC.

1 Watch the Vietnam Veterans Memorial's virtual ceremony

The Vietnam Veterans Memorial on the National Mall during Veterans Day - Ways to pay tribute to veterans in Washington, DC
Many DC visitors, as well as veterans and relatives of those who lost their lives during the conflict, gather at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, a black granite memorial colloquially known as “The Wall,” to honor those who served in the Vietnam War. Many visitors leave personal effects; more than 400,000 items have been collected since the memorial opened to the public. This year, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund will host a virtual ceremony  at 1 p.m. on Veterans Day and asking its supporters to send videos of their recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

2 Take in the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial

Guide to Visiting the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial in Washington, DC
A visit to the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial is a powerful reminder of the cost of war. This national memorial honors the sacrifice of those who were disabled in service to this country across all branches of the U.S. Armed Forces. The centerpiece of the memorial is the star-shaped fountain with a ceremonial flame, while tributes and stories of servicemen and women are told through 48 etched glass panels and four bronze sculptures. Located near the U.S. Botanic Garden and in view of the U.S. Capitol, the best way to get to the memorial is by taking the Metro to either Federal Center SW or Capitol South on the Blue, Orange and Silver lines. Note that you can also take in a virtual tour of this stunning site; if you visit in-person, please make sure to wear a face covering and maintain social distancing guidelines.

Visit the famous monuments and memorials in Washington, DC - Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and more

3 Pay tribute at Arlington National Cemetery

Father with child laying flags before Veterans Day at Arlington National Cemetery - Ways to honor veterans near Washington, DC
The gravestones at this national military cemetery, which has been open for over 150 years, are an impactful lesson on the true costs of war. This year, you can still pay tribute at those memorials, and the gravesite of President John F. Kennedy is open for visits as well. The cemetery is also offering its tram tours, which depart at the top of every hour from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day. The tour includes visits to the aforementioned JFK gravesite as well as Memorial Avenue and features historical interpretation throughout. Social distancing is in effect and masks are required for all guests.

4 Walk through the Korean War Veterans Memorial

@jdavidake - Sunflare at the Korean War Veterans Memorial - War memorial in Washington, DC
The Korean War Veterans Memorial consists of multiple structures that honor those who sacrificed during the conflict that was the Korean War. Images of troops moving by sea, land and air are sandblasted onto the surface of the wall, while a squadron of 19 stainless steel figures, including members from each branch of the U.S. Armed Forces, are situated in the center of the memorial space.

5 Honor World War II veterans at the National World War II Memorial

@abpanphoto - Sunset over the National World War II Memorial - Monuments and Memorials in Wahsington, DC
The National World War II Memorial is an expansive stone, bronze and water memorial on the National Mall at 17th Street and Constitution Avenue. The memorial honors the 16 million men and women who served and the 400,000 who lost their lives during World War II. The majestic space is perfect for a Veterans Day visit, and it’s especially beautiful during sunset and under moonlight. This year, Veterans Day observances at the memorial begin at 9 a.m. If you visit the memorial or choose to attend the observance, please maintain social distance and wear a face covering.

6 Reflect at the United States Navy Memorial

Ceremony honoring veterans at the United States Navy Memorial in Washington, DC
Adjacent to the National Archives in Penn Quarter, the United States Navy Memorial pays respect to veterans who served in the U.S. Navy. The space includes a commemorative public plaza, a symbolic statue of a Lone Sailor and the Naval Heritage Center (currently closed due to COVID-19). The plaza’s deck includes fountains, flagpole masts and sculptural panels that depict epic Naval achievements.

7 Visit the U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial (also known as the Iwo Jima Memorial)

@michaeldphotos - sunset at Marine Corps Memorial
The Marine Corps War Memorial (more commonly known as the Iwo Jima Memorial) is one of the most moving memorials in the DC region. The world-famous statue, which is based on the iconic photograph taken by Associated Press photographer Joe Rosenthal, depicts the six soldiers who raised the second American flag at Iwo Jima in the Japanese Volcano Islands on Feb. 23, 1945, signifying the conclusion of the American campaign in the Pacific during World War II.

8 Spend time at the U.S. Air Force Memorial

@floodthesensor - United States Air Force Memorial at night - Military memorial in Virginia near Washington, DC
Across the Potomac River near Arlington National Cemetery is the U.S. Air Force Memorial, which honors the service and heritage of the men and women of the United States Air Force with three stainless steel spires. Currently, the museum is open to pedestrian access only - visitors can park along Southgate Street for a short walk to the site. Please maintain social distance and wear a face covering during your visit.

9 Enjoy special programming from museums

Veterans Day at George Washington's Mount Vernon
George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate
Mount Vernon welcomes active, former and retired military with free admission on Veterans Day to experience special programming. The estate will salute veterans with honored guests laying flowers at Washington’s tomb, a patriotic community concert by barbershop chorus the Harmony Heritage Singers and letter-writing to active service members. Please read Mount Vernon's COVID-19 safety guidelines before booking your visit.

Smithsonian National Museum of American History
At the Smithsonian Institution’s cache of Americana displays, The Price of Freedom: Americans at War features a history of America’s military from the French and Indian Wars to the conflict in the Middle East, exploring the impact of conflict on citizen soldiers, their families and communities. See George Washington’s sword and scabbard in person, as well as the chairs used by generals Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant during the Civil War surrender ceremony at Appomattox in 1865. Advance timed passes are required to enter the museum and make sure to read its safety guidelines and requirements before visiting.

National Museum of American Jewish Military History
This small museum in Dupont Circle makes for a powerful Veterans Day visit, especially its core exhibit, Jews in the American Military. This incredible exhibit chronicles contributions across the armed services in letters and memorabilia donated by Jewish veterans and their families. The display includes a brain surgery kit from the Civil War, a diary from a Jewish POW and a Torah carried by a Jewish army chaplain on the Burma Trail. Please wear a mask and maintain social distance during your visit.

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture
This state-of-the-art museum addresses nearly every aspect of the African American experience through its astounding collection of artifacts, including the military contributions of African Americans. The Double Victory exhibit chronicles the military service of African Americans from the American Revolution through current conflicts. Advance timed passes are required for entry. Please observe the museum's safety guidelines and wear a mask during your visit.

10 Attend the virtual opening ceremony for the National Native American Veterans Memorial

Design by Harvey Pratt/Butzer Architects and Urbanism, illustration by Skyline Ink, courtesy of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian.
The National Museum of the American Indian (which recently reopened its doors) will host a virtual ceremony to mark the completion of the Native American Veterans Memorial. Fittingly, this event will be held on Veterans Day. Both the memorial and ceremony will honor the tremendous service and sacrifice made by Native veterans and their families. Once the memorial is unveiled, you’ll be able to visit the intimate space, as Harvey Pratt’s design was specifically tailored to inspire remembrance, reflection and healing. Today, more than 31,000 Native Americans, Native Hawaiians and Alaska Natives serve on active duty. More than 140,000 veterans identify as Native. And for the first time, the bravery and selflessness of these individuals can be honored on a national scale, within sight of the U.S. Capitol.

Your ultimate guide to fall in Washington, DC