跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示

@c_dot86

日出時的越戰紀念碑

向在華盛頓特區服務退伍軍人節的人致敬的方式



在該地區享受動人的退伍軍人節體驗。

該國首都榮譽服役人員的許多紀念碑和紀念碑,揭示了美國武裝部隊為保護這個國家所做的巨大犧牲。 在退伍軍人節(11 月 XNUMX 日)以及前後幾天,當地的紀念活動是慶祝和紀念這個節日的理想方式。 這是華盛頓特區退伍軍人節的一系列活動和去處。

01

參觀越戰紀念碑

許多華盛頓特區的訪客,以及在衝突中喪生者的退伍軍人和親屬聚集在 越戰紀念碑,一座黑色花崗岩紀念碑,俗稱“長城”,以紀念那些在越南戰爭中服役的人。 許多遊客留下個人物品; 自紀念館向公眾開放以來,已收集了超過 400,000 件物品。

02

參加終身殘疾的美國退伍軍人紀念館

訪問華盛頓特區的美國退伍軍人終身殘疾紀念館指南

參觀 美國退伍軍人終身殘疾紀念館 是對戰爭代價的有力提醒。 這個國家紀念碑是為了紀念那些在美國武裝部隊所有分支中為這個國家服務的殘疾人的犧牲。 紀念碑的核心是帶有儀式火焰的星形噴泉,通過 48 塊蝕刻玻璃板和 XNUMX 座青銅雕塑講述了軍人和女性的貢品和故事。 位於附近 美國植物園 鑑於美國國會大廈,前往紀念館的最佳方式是乘坐地鐵前往聯邦中心西南或國會大廈南部的藍線、橙線和銀線。

03

在阿靈頓國家公墓致敬

父親帶著孩子在阿靈頓國家公墓退伍軍人節前插旗 - 在華盛頓特區附近紀念退伍軍人的方式

墓碑在 這個國家軍人墓地已經開放了 150 多年,是關於戰爭真實成本的重要課程。 今年,您仍然可以向這些紀念館致敬,約翰·肯尼迪總統的墓地也開放供參觀。 墓地還提供有軌電車之旅,每天上午 9 點至下午 4 點在每小時的最高峰出發。 這次旅行包括參觀上述肯尼迪墓地以及紀念大道,並在整個過程中進行歷史解讀。

04

穿過朝鮮戰爭退伍軍人紀念碑

朝鮮戰爭退伍軍人紀念館 由多個結構組成,以紀念在朝鮮戰爭衝突中犧牲的人。 海上、陸地和空中移動的部隊圖像被噴砂在牆壁表面,而一個由 19 個不銹鋼人物組成的中隊,包括來自美國武裝部隊各個分支的成員,位於紀念空間的中心。

05

在國家二戰紀念館向二戰退伍軍人致敬

國家二戰紀念館 是位於第 17 街和憲法大道的國家廣場上的一座巨大的石頭、青銅和水紀念館。 紀念碑紀念在二戰期間服役的 16 萬男女和 400,000 人。 雄偉的空間非常適合退伍軍人節參觀,在日落和月光下尤其美麗。 今年,紀念館的退伍軍人節紀念活動從上午 9 點開始

06

在美國海軍紀念館反思

在華盛頓特區的美國海軍紀念館舉行紀念退伍軍人的儀式

毗鄰 國家檔案館 in 賓夕法尼亞區中, 美國海軍紀念館 向在美國海軍服役的退伍軍人表示敬意。 該空間包括一個紀念公共廣場、一個孤獨的水手的象徵性雕像和海軍遺產中心。 廣場的甲板包括噴泉、旗桿桅杆和描繪史詩般海軍成就的雕塑面板。

07

驚嘆於美國海軍陸戰隊戰爭紀念館(也稱為硫磺島紀念館)

海軍陸戰隊戰爭紀念館 (俗稱硫磺島紀念館)是華盛頓地區最感人的紀念館之一。 這座舉世聞名的雕像以美聯社攝影師喬·羅森塔爾 (Joe Rosenthal) 拍攝的標誌性照片為基礎,描繪了 23 年 1945 月 XNUMX 日在日本火山群島硫磺島升起第二面美國國旗的六名士兵,標誌著美國的結束。二戰期間美國在太平洋的戰役。

08

花時間在美國空軍紀念館

阿靈頓國家公墓附近的波托馬克河對面是 美國空軍紀念館,以三個不銹鋼尖頂向美國空軍男女軍人的服務和傳統致敬。

09

享受博物館的特別節目


喬治華盛頓的弗農山莊

弗農山歡迎現役軍人、退役軍人和退役軍人,在退伍軍人節免費入場體驗 特別節目. 該莊園將向退伍軍人致敬,貴賓將在華盛頓的墳墓前獻花,由理髮店合唱和諧遺產歌手舉辦的愛國社區音樂會以及致現役軍人的信函。

 

史密森尼美國歷史國家博物館

在史密森學會的美國展品中, 自由的代價:戰爭中的美國人 以美國軍隊的歷史為特色,從法國和印度戰爭到中東沖突,探索衝突對公民士兵、他們的家庭和社區的影響。 親眼看看喬治華盛頓的劍和劍鞘,以及羅伯特 E. 李將軍和尤利西斯 S. 格蘭特將軍在 1865 年阿波馬托克斯內戰投降儀式上使用的椅子。

 

美國猶太軍事史國家博物館

這個小博物館在 杜邦環島 這是一次強大的退伍軍人節參觀,尤其是它的核心展覽, 美國軍隊中的猶太人. 這個令人難以置信的展覽在猶太退伍軍人及其家人捐贈的信件和紀念品中記錄了整個武裝部隊的貢獻。 展品包括內戰時期的腦部手術工具包、猶太戰俘的日記和緬甸步道上一名猶太軍隊牧師攜帶的妥拉。

 

史密森尼國家歷史博物館

這個最先進的博物館通過其驚人的文物收藏,包括非裔美國人的軍事貢獻,幾乎涵蓋了非裔美國人經歷的方方面面。 這 雙贏 展出 記錄了從美國革命到當前衝突的非裔美國人的軍事服務。 提前定時通行證 需要進入。

10

看看全國美洲原住民退伍軍人紀念館

美國印第安人國家博物館 11 年 2020 月 31,000 日,首次慶祝美國原住民退伍軍人紀念碑揭幕。Harvey Pratt 的設計是專門為激發紀念、反思和治愈而量身定制的。 今天,超過 140,000 名美洲原住民、夏威夷原住民和阿拉斯加原住民現役服役。 超過 XNUMX 名退伍軍人認定為本地人。 這些人的勇敢和無私第一次可以在美國國會大廈的視線範圍內在全國范圍內受到表彰。 這個退伍軍人節,博物館將紀念美洲原住民的兵役 正式的奉獻和遊行 可以免費參加。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

10 Ways to Pay Tribute This Veterans Day in Washington, DC

Vietnam Veterans Memorial on Veterans Day - Washington, DC

Enjoy a moving Veterans Day experience in DC either in-person or from home

Many of the monuments and memorials in the nation’s capital honor servicemen and women, shedding light on the immense sacrifices that the U.S. Armed Forces have made to protect this country. On Veterans Day (Nov. 11), as well as the days before and after, virtual and in-person commemorations make for ideal ways to celebrate and honor the holiday. Here’s a full range of things to do and places to go (with a mask on) this Veterans Day in Washington, DC.

1 Watch the Vietnam Veterans Memorial's virtual ceremony

The Vietnam Veterans Memorial on the National Mall during Veterans Day - Ways to pay tribute to veterans in Washington, DC
Many DC visitors, as well as veterans and relatives of those who lost their lives during the conflict, gather at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, a black granite memorial colloquially known as “The Wall,” to honor those who served in the Vietnam War. Many visitors leave personal effects; more than 400,000 items have been collected since the memorial opened to the public. This year, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund will host a virtual ceremony  at 1 p.m. on Veterans Day and asking its supporters to send videos of their recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

2 Take in the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial

Guide to Visiting the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial in Washington, DC
A visit to the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial is a powerful reminder of the cost of war. This national memorial honors the sacrifice of those who were disabled in service to this country across all branches of the U.S. Armed Forces. The centerpiece of the memorial is the star-shaped fountain with a ceremonial flame, while tributes and stories of servicemen and women are told through 48 etched glass panels and four bronze sculptures. Located near the U.S. Botanic Garden and in view of the U.S. Capitol, the best way to get to the memorial is by taking the Metro to either Federal Center SW or Capitol South on the Blue, Orange and Silver lines. Note that you can also take in a virtual tour of this stunning site; if you visit in-person, please make sure to wear a face covering and maintain social distancing guidelines.

Visit the famous monuments and memorials in Washington, DC - Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument and more

3 Pay tribute at Arlington National Cemetery

Father with child laying flags before Veterans Day at Arlington National Cemetery - Ways to honor veterans near Washington, DC
The gravestones at this national military cemetery, which has been open for over 150 years, are an impactful lesson on the true costs of war. This year, you can still pay tribute at those memorials, and the gravesite of President John F. Kennedy is open for visits as well. The cemetery is also offering its tram tours, which depart at the top of every hour from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. each day. The tour includes visits to the aforementioned JFK gravesite as well as Memorial Avenue and features historical interpretation throughout. Social distancing is in effect and masks are required for all guests.

4 Walk through the Korean War Veterans Memorial

@jdavidake - Sunflare at the Korean War Veterans Memorial - War memorial in Washington, DC
The Korean War Veterans Memorial consists of multiple structures that honor those who sacrificed during the conflict that was the Korean War. Images of troops moving by sea, land and air are sandblasted onto the surface of the wall, while a squadron of 19 stainless steel figures, including members from each branch of the U.S. Armed Forces, are situated in the center of the memorial space.

5 Honor World War II veterans at the National World War II Memorial

@abpanphoto - Sunset over the National World War II Memorial - Monuments and Memorials in Wahsington, DC
The National World War II Memorial is an expansive stone, bronze and water memorial on the National Mall at 17th Street and Constitution Avenue. The memorial honors the 16 million men and women who served and the 400,000 who lost their lives during World War II. The majestic space is perfect for a Veterans Day visit, and it’s especially beautiful during sunset and under moonlight. This year, Veterans Day observances at the memorial begin at 9 a.m. If you visit the memorial or choose to attend the observance, please maintain social distance and wear a face covering.

6 Reflect at the United States Navy Memorial

Ceremony honoring veterans at the United States Navy Memorial in Washington, DC
Adjacent to the National Archives in Penn Quarter, the United States Navy Memorial pays respect to veterans who served in the U.S. Navy. The space includes a commemorative public plaza, a symbolic statue of a Lone Sailor and the Naval Heritage Center (currently closed due to COVID-19). The plaza’s deck includes fountains, flagpole masts and sculptural panels that depict epic Naval achievements.

7 Visit the U.S. Marine Corps War Memorial (also known as the Iwo Jima Memorial)

@michaeldphotos - sunset at Marine Corps Memorial
The Marine Corps War Memorial (more commonly known as the Iwo Jima Memorial) is one of the most moving memorials in the DC region. The world-famous statue, which is based on the iconic photograph taken by Associated Press photographer Joe Rosenthal, depicts the six soldiers who raised the second American flag at Iwo Jima in the Japanese Volcano Islands on Feb. 23, 1945, signifying the conclusion of the American campaign in the Pacific during World War II.

8 Spend time at the U.S. Air Force Memorial

@floodthesensor - United States Air Force Memorial at night - Military memorial in Virginia near Washington, DC
Across the Potomac River near Arlington National Cemetery is the U.S. Air Force Memorial, which honors the service and heritage of the men and women of the United States Air Force with three stainless steel spires. Currently, the museum is open to pedestrian access only - visitors can park along Southgate Street for a short walk to the site. Please maintain social distance and wear a face covering during your visit.

9 Enjoy special programming from museums

Veterans Day at George Washington's Mount Vernon
George Washington’s Mount Vernon Estate
Mount Vernon welcomes active, former and retired military with free admission on Veterans Day to experience special programming. The estate will salute veterans with honored guests laying flowers at Washington’s tomb, a patriotic community concert by barbershop chorus the Harmony Heritage Singers and letter-writing to active service members. Please read Mount Vernon's COVID-19 safety guidelines before booking your visit.

Smithsonian National Museum of American History
At the Smithsonian Institution’s cache of Americana displays, The Price of Freedom: Americans at War features a history of America’s military from the French and Indian Wars to the conflict in the Middle East, exploring the impact of conflict on citizen soldiers, their families and communities. See George Washington’s sword and scabbard in person, as well as the chairs used by generals Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant during the Civil War surrender ceremony at Appomattox in 1865. Advance timed passes are required to enter the museum and make sure to read its safety guidelines and requirements before visiting.

National Museum of American Jewish Military History
This small museum in Dupont Circle makes for a powerful Veterans Day visit, especially its core exhibit, Jews in the American Military. This incredible exhibit chronicles contributions across the armed services in letters and memorabilia donated by Jewish veterans and their families. The display includes a brain surgery kit from the Civil War, a diary from a Jewish POW and a Torah carried by a Jewish army chaplain on the Burma Trail. Please wear a mask and maintain social distance during your visit.

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture
This state-of-the-art museum addresses nearly every aspect of the African American experience through its astounding collection of artifacts, including the military contributions of African Americans. The Double Victory exhibit chronicles the military service of African Americans from the American Revolution through current conflicts. Advance timed passes are required for entry. Please observe the museum's safety guidelines and wear a mask during your visit.

10 Attend the virtual opening ceremony for the National Native American Veterans Memorial

Design by Harvey Pratt/Butzer Architects and Urbanism, illustration by Skyline Ink, courtesy of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian.
The National Museum of the American Indian (which recently reopened its doors) will host a virtual ceremony to mark the completion of the Native American Veterans Memorial. Fittingly, this event will be held on Veterans Day. Both the memorial and ceremony will honor the tremendous service and sacrifice made by Native veterans and their families. Once the memorial is unveiled, you’ll be able to visit the intimate space, as Harvey Pratt’s design was specifically tailored to inspire remembrance, reflection and healing. Today, more than 31,000 Native Americans, Native Hawaiians and Alaska Natives serve on active duty. More than 140,000 veterans identify as Native. And for the first time, the bravery and selflessness of these individuals can be honored on a national scale, within sight of the U.S. Capitol.

Your ultimate guide to fall in Washington, DC