跳到主要內容
會議
搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索
搜索
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
肖社區的排屋

華盛頓特區 Shaw 街區的景點和活動



深入了解黑人歷史、炫酷的音樂會場地、餐廳和城裡一些最時尚的商店

非裔美國人的歷史源遠流長 林藪位於白宮東北部的一個排屋、餐館和零售店林立的街區。 艾靈頓公爵出生在這裡,他和“黑色百老匯”的其他明星在附近至今仍矗立的劇院演出。 如今,該地區同樣聞名 時尚餐廳、獨立精品店和熱鬧的酒吧場所。 有一點是肯定的:它是目前首都城最有趣的地方之一。

01

在歷史悠久的霍華德劇院觀看表演

肖的歷史悠久的霍華德劇院外的人群 - 華盛頓特區的活動

像 Ella Fitzgerald 和 Marvin Gaye 這樣的大牌明星在 霍華德劇院 在 20 世紀上半葉。 這座兩層樓的音樂廳於 2007 年修復,現在舉辦爵士、搖滾和藍調表演。 在這裡演出的 DC 出生的艾靈頓公爵的雕像坐落在劇院外。

02

在 Right Proper Brewing Company 喝當地釀造的啤酒

啜飲現場製作的泡沫和三明治 藝術氣息十足的啤酒吧 配有色彩繽紛的壁畫和復古鍛鐵。 內部奶酪商負責一長串的手工奶酪,並且經常舉辦特別品嚐活動。

03

在胡同里吃喝

肖在 19 世紀和 20 世紀初擁有蓬勃發展的胡同文化。 今天, 布萊格登巷等歷史地區 內勒法院 (Naylor Court) 的舊馬車房和倉庫中遍布著酒吧、餐館和其他商店。 嘗試 Alley 的大西洋中部農場到餐桌的寵兒 達布尼 或內勒法院 孫德維奇.

04

在非裔美國人內戰紀念館了解歷史

非裔美國人內戰紀念雕像

在轉角廣場上, 戶外紀念館 為了向內戰黑人士兵致敬,這裡設有一座引人注目的戰士雕像,牆壁上列出了在內戰中為聯邦而戰的 209,145 名士兵的名字。 一個小博物館裡藏有相關的照片、信件和製服。

05

在大西洋管道電影院看一場電影

時尚而現代的設計、預留的體育場座位和一系列獨立電影保持了最獨特的命名之一 精品電影院 周圍擠滿了當地人。 酒店內的酒吧提供不同尋常的雞尾酒、葡萄酒和小吃,您可以在那裡享用或在放映室享用。

06

尋找時尚潮流

8日附近的新發展 U街 將時尚的當地和全國零售商帶到了 Shay 和 Atlantic Plumbing Building 等玻璃般、優雅的新建築中。

07

品嚐埃塞俄比亞美食

該地區是非洲以外埃塞俄比亞人口最多的地區之一。許多外國人在被稱為“小埃塞俄比亞”的西北第 9 街經營餐館,在那裡可以品嚐辛辣燉菜和該國的鬆軟因吉拉麵包,其中包括當地人喜愛的美食 杜克姆.

08

向偶像致敬

DC 的浪子杜克 (Duke) 在紀念館外的照片友好的紀念館中自豪地慶祝 霍華德劇院. 這座雕像描繪了艾靈頓旁邊的高音譜號,象徵著他對 DC 音樂和文化的貢獻。 在附近你會發現 霍華德劇院星光大道,向 20 世紀非裔美國人的偶像致敬。 從西北 1900 街的 7 街區一直延伸到 T 街 NW 的劇院入口,這條步行道描繪了佩戴青銅獎章的獲獎者,人行道上嵌有手工雕刻的淺浮雕肖像。 甚至劇院正面的某些建築細節也反映在獎章中。 當您步行時,您會注意到令人難以置信的一系列受人尊敬的音樂家,包括 Ella Fitzgerald、James Brown、Marvin Gaye、Chuck Brown 和 Mamie Smith。 每個人都在霍華德劇院演出,並幫助建立了今天該場地所擁有的重要遺產。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Meetings
search search search search search search
search
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon
Row houses in the Shaw neighborhood

Things to See & Do in DC's Shaw Neighborhood



Dig into Black history, cool concert venues, dining and some of the city’s hippest shops

African-American history runs deep in Shaw, a rowhouse-, restaurant- and retail-filled neighborhood northeast of the White House. Duke Ellington was born here, and he and other stars of “Black Broadway” played at nearby theaters that are still standing. These days, the zone is just as well known for trendy restaurants, indie boutiques and a happening bar scene. One thing’s for sure: it’s one of the most interesting places in cap city to be right now.

01

Catch a show at the historic Howard Theatre

Crowd Outside Historic Howard Theatre in Shaw - Events in Washington, DC

Big names like Ella Fitzgerald and Marvin Gaye performed at Howard Theatre during the first half of the 20th century. Restored in 2007, the two-level concert hall now hosts jazz, rock and blues acts. A statue of DC-born Duke Ellington, who played here, sits outside the theater.

02

Drink locally made beers at Right Proper Brewing Company

Sip made-on-site suds and chow down on sandwiches at an arty brewpub outfitted with colorful wall murals and vintage wrought iron. An in-house cheese-monger is in charge of the long list of artisanal cheeses and there are frequent special tastings.

03

Eat and drink in an alley

Shaw had a thriving alley culture in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Today, historic areas like Blagden Alley and Naylor Court buzz with bars, restaurants and other businesses in old carriage houses and warehouses. Try the Alley’s Mid-Atlantic farm-to-table darling The Dabney or Naylor Court’s Sundevich.

04

Learn about history at the African-American Civil War Memorial

African American Civil War Memorial Statue

On a corner plaza, the outdoor memorial pays tribute to Black Civil War soldiers with a dramatic statue of combatants and walls listing the names of 209,145 soldiers who fought for the Union in the Civil War. A small museum contains related photos, letters and uniforms.

05

Catch a movie at the Atlantic Plumbing Cinema

Sleek and modern design, reserved stadium seats and a roster of indie movies keep one of the most distinctively named boutique cinemas around crowded with locals. The on-site bar serves up unusual cocktails, wine and small bites to enjoy there or take into a screening room.

06

Hunt for hip fashions

New developments near 8th and U Street have brought hip local and national retailers to glassy, classy new buildings like the Shay and the Atlantic Plumbing Building.

07

Sample Ethiopian cuisine

The District has one of the largest Ethiopian populations outside of Africa. Many expats run restaurants on 9th Street NW, aka “Little Ethiopia,” where spots to take in spicy stews and the country’s spongy injera bread include local favorite Dukem.

08

Pay homage to icons

Duke, the prodigal son of DC, is celebrated in a photo-friendly memorial standing proudly outside the facade of Howard Theatre. The statue depicts Ellington next to a treble clef, emblematic of his contribution to music and culture in DC. Nearby you'll find the Howard Theatre Walk of Fame, a stunning tribute to 20th century African American icons. Extending from the 1900 block of 7th Street NW to the theater's entrance on T Street NW, the walk depicts its honorees in bronze medallions featuring hand-sculpted bas relief portraits embedded in the sidewalk. Even certain architectural details from the theater's facade are mirrored in the medallions. As you walk, you’ll notice the incredible array of musicians honored, including Ella Fitzgerald, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Chuck Brown and Mamie Smith. Each one performed at Howard Theatre and helped to establish the vital legacy that the venue holds today.

Partner Content
Partner Content