跳到主要內容
首頁
國會山東部市場 - 華盛頓特區的室內市場和食品大廳

探索東方市場的景點、氣味和聲音

從農場新鮮農產品到手工工藝品和現場音樂,探索 DC 最古老(也是最熱鬧)的市場之一。

坐落在歷史悠久的中心 國會山 就在軍營北邊, 東方市場 是新鮮的、當地採購的食品和飲料愛好者以及藝術和手工藝愛好者的必遊之地。 自 1873 年以來,這個受歡迎的社區中心旨在作為鄰里鎮中心,吸引了一群不拘一格的購物者和美食家。很高興知道:市場週一不營業,週末向街頭小販開放。

我會在東方市場找到什麼?

 

國會山東部市場 - 華盛頓特區的室內市場和食品大廳

國會山東部市場 - 華盛頓特區的室內市場和食品大廳

走進南廳市場,您會體驗到感官超負荷。 大主廳是 到處都是商人 出售肉類、家禽、海鮮、烘焙食品、鮮花和奶酪,並且經常擠滿了品嚐商品的購物者。 一定要早點來,搶先排隊購買 Market Lunch 的傳奇藍莓蕎麥煎餅。

每到週末,東部市場周圍的街道和廣場都擠滿了 更多供應商. 來自該地區的農民設立了露天攤位,出售各種當地農產品。 遊客可以在瀏覽一排排顏色鮮豔的西紅柿、胡蘿蔔、蘋果、桃子和任何時令產品時品嚐農產品。

當您穿過市場,聆聽現場樂隊演奏各種類型的音樂時,週末的遊客還會發現帳篷的海洋,裡面裝滿了 DC 一些最優秀的當地藝術家的手工藝術和手工藝品。 從畫家、雕塑家和木工到珠寶商、陶藝家和攝影師,東方市場提供適合各種口味的東西。

 

國會山東部市場 - 華盛頓特區的農貿市場

國會山東部市場 - 華盛頓特區的農貿市場

我怎麼去東方市場?

要到達那裡,最好的辦法是乘坐地鐵的藍線、橙線或銀線到東部市場站。 歷史悠久的市場位於 225 7th Street SE,距地鐵站僅一個街區。 公共停車位有限。 請注意,市場週一休市,週二至週五上午 7 點至晚上 7 點開放,週六上午 7 點至下午 6 點和周日上午 9 點至下午 5 點開放。

東方市場聽起來很酷。 我還應該知道什麼?

東部市場是華盛頓特區僅存的少數歷史公共市場建築之一,也是唯一保留其原有公共市場功能的建築。 歷史悠久的市場於 1971 年被列入國家史蹟名錄,南廳市場在 2007 年被大火嚴重破壞後進行了為期兩年的重大整修。

東部市場的第一個化身是 Pierre L'Enfant 為國家新設立的首都計劃中包括的三個公共市場之一,以及一個中央和西部市場。 這個市場最終年久失修,目前的市場是由當地著名建築師阿道夫·克拉斯 (Adolf Cluss) 設想的,他還設計了史密森尼藝術與工業大樓,您可以在國家廣場上看到它。

 

尋找華盛頓特區的最佳購物場所
合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

Discover Eastern Market’s sights, smells & sounds

Eastern Market

From farm-fresh produce to handmade crafts and live music, explore one of DC’s oldest (and liveliest) marketplaces

Nestled in the heart of historic Capitol Hill just north of Barracks Row, Eastern Market is a must-visit for lovers of fresh, locally sourced food and drink, and arts and crafts lovers. Designed to serve as the neighborhood town center, this popular community hub has attracted an eclectic group of shoppers and foodies since 1873. Good to know: the market is closed on Mondays and opens to street vendors on weekends.

Eastern Market

What will I find at Eastern Market?

Eastern Market Produce

Step inside the South Hall Market and you’ll experience sensory overload. The large main hall is filled with merchants selling meats, poultry, seafood, baked goods, flowers and cheeses, and is often bustling with shoppers sampling their wares. Make sure to come early and beat the line for Market Lunch’s legendary blueberry buckwheat pancakes.

On the weekends, the streets and plazas surrounding Eastern Market teem with more than 100 vendors. Farmers from across the region set up open-air stands selling all sorts of local produce. Visitors can sample produce as they browse the rows and rows of brightly colored tomatoes, carrots, apples, peaches and whatever is in-season.

Eastern Market DC crafts

As you walk through the market to the sound of live bands jamming to all types of music, weekend visitors will also discover a sea of tents filled with handmade arts and crafts from some of DC’s best local artists. From painters, sculptors and woodworkers to jewelers, potters and photographers, Eastern Market offers something for every taste.

How do I get there?

To get there, your best bet is to take the Metro’s Blue, Orange or Silver Lines to the Eastern Market stop. The historic market is located at 225 7th Street SE, just one block from the Metro. Public parking is limited. Take note that the market is closed on Mondays, and is open 7 a.m.- 7 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, and on Saturdays from 7 a.m.-6 p.m. and 9 a.m.- 5 p.m. on Sundays.

Eastern Market sounds really cool. What else should I know about it?

Eastern Market is one of the few historic public market buildings left in Washington, DC, and the only one that has retained its original public market function. The historic market was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1971, and the South Hall Market underwent a major two-year renovation after it was badly damaged by fire in 2007.

The first incarnation of Eastern Market was one of three public markets included in Pierre L’Enfant’s plan for the nation’s newly established capital, along with a Central and Western Market. This market eventually fell into disrepair, and the current market was envisioned by renowned local architect Adolf Cluss, who also designed the Smithsonian Arts and Industries Building which you can see on the National Mall.

Interested in other markets in the DC? Check out our these awesome farmer's markets in Washington, DC.