Passer au contenu principal
Accueil

@thisisjlai

@thisisjlai - Vue du bâtiment Est de la National Gallery of Art sur le National Mall - Musée d'art moderne gratuit à Washington, DC

Découvrez le bâtiment Est de la National Gallery of Art à Washington, DC

Explorez des œuvres d'art modernes dans ce musée gratuit d'une beauté époustouflante sur le National Mall.

Le IM Pei conçu Galerie nationale d'art East Building se distingue à Washington, DC comme une merveille moderne, qui contraste avec élégance avec les beaux-arts et l'architecture classique que l'on retrouve dans une grande partie de la capitale nationale.

Le bâtiment Est est l'aile du musée la plus proche du Capitole des États-Unis et comprend deux galeries de tours éclairées par le ciel, deux escaliers reliant tous les niveaux du musée, un toit-terrasse avec une sculpture de coq bleu et, surtout, plus de 500 œuvres d'art .

Le bâtiment Est a été soigneusement aménagé pour fournir une chronologie des œuvres d'art de la fin du XIXe siècle à nos jours, ainsi que des espaces d'exposition fluides organisés par artiste, thème et nationalité.

Ce qu'il y a à l'intérieur est tout simplement incroyable, des motifs de conception faisant écho aux croquis du musée d'IM Pei aux galeries étincelantes avec des œuvres d'Alexander Calder, Barbara Kruger, Jasper Johns, Pablo Picasso, Mark Rothko et bien d'autres.

Pris en sandwich entre Pennsylvania Avenue et le Centre commercial national, le bâtiment Est a rouvert au public fin septembre 2016 après une rénovation complète. Que vous ayez déjà visité ou que vous n'ayez pas encore visité, le bâtiment Est vous épatera! Assurez-vous de vérifier ces points forts du bâtiment est lors de votre prochaine visite.

Le bâtiment Est rouvrira le 30 juin. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur le site du musée website.

LA FAÇADE DU MUSÉE

National Gallery of Art Bâtiment Est - Washington, DC

Le bâtiment est de la National Gallery of Art présente l'un des extérieurs de forme les plus uniques de tous les bâtiments de DC. La façade reste tout aussi magnifique que lors de l'ouverture du musée en 1978.

 

DE L'INTÉRIEUR DE L'ESPRIT D'IM PEI

L'architecte IM Pei a conçu le musée sur la base d'un premier croquis où le bâtiment est est représenté par deux triangles. Comportant deux côtés de longueur égale, le triangle isocèle a été incorporé comme une caractéristique majeure de l'architecture du bâtiment.


Découvrez les meilleurs et les plus intéressants musées de Washington, DC

 

L'ESCALIER DE LA TOUR

Un coup d'œil par-dessus la balustrade de cet escalier révèle deux triangles placés bout à bout, formant un losange. Cet escalier et un autre escalier relient les visiteurs du musée aux cinq niveaux du bâtiment Est, améliorant ainsi la fluidité de la circulation piétonnière.

 

#THATNGAWALL

Encore une troisième série d'escaliers dont vous voudrez prendre note : #thatngawall. Apparaissant comme s'il convertissait la 3D en 2D, le mur et l'escalier sont aussi dignes d'Instagram que possible.

 

UNE BOUFFÉE D'AIR FRAIS

Vue sur le château Smithsonian depuis la National Gallery of Art East Building Rooftop - Washington, DC

La terrasse sur le toit, que l'architecte concept Perry Chin compare à un «jardin zen», offre aux visiteurs un moment pour faire une pause et reprendre leur souffle entre les visites des galeries. Il offre une vue sur le Château Smithsonian, le Capitole des États-Unis et quelques sculptures impressionnantes.

 

UN COQ HORS DU BLEU

Face au nord, la sculpture de Katharina Fritsch, Hahn / Coq, électrise le toit avec sa teinte cobalt vive.

 

RIVETS ROTHKOS

Les toiles colorées de l'expressionniste abstrait révolutionnaire Mark Rothko sont un point culminant de la galerie Tower 1. Les œuvres tournent dans la vaste collection de Rothkos de la Galerie. Découvrez encore plus de peintures Rothko sur La collection Phillips.

 

LA PLUS GRANDE COLLECTION DE CALDER

Composé de 45 sculptures et peintures, Alexander Calder : une enquête possède la plus grande exposition d'œuvres de l'artiste. Les œuvres sont à découvrir dans la galerie Tower 2.

 

LA PLUS GRANDE SCULPTURE DE CALDER

L'atrium grand ouvert du bâtiment Est présente un lustre cinétique, une œuvre mobile de 76 pieds de long qui a été la dernière sculpture jamais réalisée par Calder. Contrairement aux autres œuvres de Calder, il reste Sans titre parce qu'il est décédé avant de pouvoir le nommer.

 

L'ART MODERNE QUI EST MADE IN DC

Oeuvre de Gene Davis dans la National Gallery of Art East Building - Musée sur le National Mall - Washington, DC

Explorez des œuvres d'art moderne inventives et emblématiques au niveau supérieur. Parmi les artistes présentés figurent des membres de la Washington Color School de la fin des années 1950 et des années 60, dont Gene Davis et Kenneth Noland.

 

MARQUEURS, SIGNES ET FLUX

Promenez-vous dans les galeries d'art contemporain du hall et admirez des œuvres reprenant les thèmes des marqueurs et des signes, ainsi que du flux. Cette enseigne au néon de Glenn Ligon représente des versions désorientantes de « l'Amérique ».

 

LA SCULPTURE DC

DC Sculpture au NGA East Building - Musée à Washington, DC

DC Sculpture au NGA East Building - Musée à Washington, DC

C'est officiel, DC est vraiment une œuvre d'art - il suffit de regarder ci-dessus. Vous avez vos propres œuvres d'art DC sympas à partager ? Postez-les avec le #MyDCcool hashtag pour avoir une chance de figurer sur le @visitwashingtondc Instagram.

 

SAVON ET CHOCOLAT

Oubliez le marbre, celui de Janine Antoni Lécher et faire mousser présente 14 bustes d'autoportraits fabriqués à partir de chocolat et de savon. Vous voulez deviner à quoi ont servi les ciseaux d'Antoni ? Indice : c'est dans le nom. Elle a utilisé sa langue pour les créations en chocolat et a créé les caractéristiques des sculptures de savon dans le bain.

 

SUIVEZ #THOSENGALIGHTS AU BÂTIMENT OUEST

Maintenant que vous avez exploré tout ce qu'il y a à voir dans le bâtiment Est, aventurez-vous dans le Leo Villareal's Multiverse à ces victimes que nous nommons Galerie nationale d'art Bâtiment ouest. Un aperçu de ce que vous verrez : les premiers artistes américains, ainsi que des maîtres européens comme Da Vinci, Van Gogh et Monet.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire

You are here

Discover the National Gallery of Art East Building in Washington, DC

@thisisjlai - View of the National Gallery of Art East Building on the National Mall - Free Modern Art Museum in Washington, DC

Explore modern artworks in this stunningly beautiful free museum on the National Mall.

The I.M. Pei-designed National Gallery of Art East Building stands out in Washington, DC as a modern marvel, which sleekly contrasts with the Beaux Arts and Classical architecture seen throughout much of the nation’s capital.

The East Building is the museum wing closest to the U.S. Capitol and features two sky-lit tower galleries, two staircases connecting all levels of the museum, a rooftop terrace with a blue rooster sculpture and, best of all, more than 500 works of art.

The East Building has been thoughtfully laid out to provide a walking chronology of artworks from the late 19th century to present day, as well as flowing exhibition spaces arranged by artist, theme and nationality.

What’s inside is nothing short of incredible, from design motifs echoing I.M. Pei’s sketches of the museum to gleaming galleries with works by Alexander Calder, Barbara Kruger, Jasper Johns, Pablo Picasso, Mark Rothko and so many more.

Sandwiched between Pennsylvania Avenue and the National Mall, the East Building reopened to the public in late September 2016 after an extensive renovation. Whether you’ve visited in the past or you have yet to visit, the East Building will blow your mind! Make sure to check out these sites in the museum during your next visit.

The Front of the Museum

National Gallery of Art East Building - Washington, DC

The East Building of the National Gallery of Art features one of the most uniquely shaped exteriors of any building in DC. The facade remains just as stunning as when the museum opened in 1978.

From Inside the Mind of I.M. Pei

@thishustle - Exterior of National Gallery of Art East Building on the National Mall - Free museum in Washington, DC

Architect I.M. Pei designed the museum based on an early sketch where the East Building is represented by two triangles. Featuring two sides of equal length, the isosceles triangle has been incorporated as a major feature of the building’s architecture.

Discover the best and most interesting museums in Washington, DC

The Tower Stair

@tatimrqs - Tower stairs at National Gallery of Art East Building - Free museum on the National Mall

A peek over the railing of this staircase reveals two triangles placed end to end, forming a rhombus. This, and another set of stairs, connect museum-goers to all five levels of the museum, improving the flow of foot traffic.

#thatngawall

@pootie_ting - Visitors on stairs at the National Gallery of Art East Building - Free modern art museum in Washington, DC

Yet a third set of stairs of which you’ll want to take note: #thatngawall. Appearing as if it converts 3-D to 2-D, the wall and staircase is as Instagram-worthy as it gets.

A Breath of Fresh Air

View of the Smithsonian Castle from the National Gallery of Art East Building Rooftop - Washington, DC

The roof terrace, which concept architect Perry Chin likens to a “zen garden,” gives visitors a moment to pause and catch their breath in between visiting galleries. It comes with views of the Smithsonian Castle, the U.S. Capitol and some awesome sculptures.

A Rooster Out of the Blue

@adayinthelalz - Hahn/Cock Rooster at National Gallery of Art East Building - Washington, DC

Facing north, Katharina Fritsch’s sculpture, Hahn/Cock, electrifies the rooftop with its vivid cobalt hue.

Riveting Rothkos

@sophauff - Mark Rothko artwork in the National Gallery of Art East Building - Free art museum on the National Mall in Washington, DC

Colorful canvases from groundbreaking abstract expressionist Mark Rothko are a highlight from the Tower 1 gallery. The works rotate through the Gallery’s vast collection of Rothkos. Check out even more Rothko paintings at The Phillips Collection.

Calder’s Largest Collection

@aquinsta - Alexander Calder artworks at National Gallery of Art East Building in Washington, DC - Free modern art museum on the National Mall

Composed of 45 sculptures and paintings, Alexander Calder: A Survey boasts the largest display of works by the artist. The artworks can be found in the Tower 2 gallery.

Calder’s Largest Sculpture

@dartavv - Atrium in the National Gallery of Art's East Building - Free modern art museum on the National Mall in Washington, DC

The East Building’s wide-open atrium features a kinetic chandelier, a 76-foot-long mobile work that was the last sculpture Calder ever made. Unlike Calder’s other works, it remains Untitled because he passed away before he could name it.

Modern Art that’s Made in DC

Gene Davis Artwork in National Gallery of Art East Building - Museum on the National Mall - Washington, DC

Explore inventive and iconic works of modern art in the upper level. Among the artists featured are members of the Washington Color School of the late 1950s and '60s, including Gene Davis and Kenneth Noland.

Markers, Signs & Flow

@ninaradun - Woman in front of 'America' light art at National Gallery of Art - Free modern art museum in Washington, DC

Amble through the concourse’s Contemporary Art galleries and admire works riffing off the themes of markers and signs, as well as flow. This neon sign by Glenn Ligon depicts disorienting versions of "America."

The DC Sculpture

DC Sculpture at the NGA East Building - Museum in Washington, DC

It’s official, DC truly is a work of art! Got some cool DC artworks of your own to share? Post them with the #MyDCcool hashtag for a chance to be featured on the @visitwashingtondc Instagram

Soap and Chocolate
 

A post shared by Doom (@republicofdoom) on

Forget marble: Janine Antoni's Lick and Lather shows off 14 self-portrait busts made from chocolate and soap. Want to guess what served as Antoni’s chisels? Hint: It’s in the name. She used her tongue for the chocolate creations and created the features of the soap sculptures in the bath. 

Follow #thosengalights to the West Building

@h.i.o - Leo Villareal's Multiverse at the National Gallery of Art - Washington, Dc

Now that you’ve explored all there is to see in the East Building, venture through Leo Villareal’s Multiverse to the National Gallery of Art West Building. A preview of what you’ll see: early American artists, as well as European masters like da Vinci, van Gogh and Monet.

Can't-miss free museums on the National Mall in Washington, DC