跳到主要內容
首頁

克雷格·菲爾德斯

位於國家廣場的史密森尼美國歷史博物館 - 華盛頓特區的免費史密森尼博物館

內戰:從過去到現在


華盛頓特區擁有豐富的歷史知識,是探索內戰歷史的理想場所。 享受這三天在 DC 探索博物館、參加幽靈之旅和參觀歷史遺蹟的活動。


華盛頓特區擁有豐富的歷史知識,是探索內戰歷史的理想場所。 享受這三天在 DC 探索博物館、參加幽靈之旅和參觀歷史遺蹟的活動。

日1

 

早晨

在全國眾多歷史悠​​久的戰場和公園中,如果您想了解內戰的歷史,這個國家的首都是一個完美的參觀地點。 您的第一站將是博物館,以設置該時間段的場景。 參觀 美國國家歷史博物館 看他們的收藏, 美國歷史寶藏 以形成內戰的文物為特色。  

下午

@roostandwander - 林肯總統在福特劇院的展位 - 華盛頓特區的歷史遺址

下午請內戰期間的負責人亞伯拉罕·林肯 (Abraham Lincoln)。 你將參觀 福特劇院,林肯遇刺地點。 今天的劇院不僅是一個劇院,而且還是一個博物館,裡面有關於戰爭和林肯遇刺前幾天的詳細信息。 福特劇院可以說是一個活生生的地標,因為它仍然是一個手術室。 在白天遊覽之後,可以考慮在周末回來觀看日場表演或每晚的晚間表演。 他們上演了各種各樣的節目,從經典故事到現代音樂劇。 可以找到完整的時間表 這裡.

黃昏

為了完成您訪問華盛頓特區的第一天,請考慮在月光下參加古蹟之旅。 這些紀念碑在白天雄偉壯觀,但每個華盛頓人都發誓,最好的景觀是在夜晚點亮天際線的時候。 您可以自行探索或預訂旅遊,讓持牌導遊帶您了解所有歷史。 此外,或者取而代之的是,DC 的陰森一面全年都在等著你。 DC幽靈 提供兩次夜間徒步旅行,帶您穿越 8 個鬧鬼的地方。

日2

 

早晨

非裔美國人內戰紀念館和博物館的兒童 - 華盛頓特區的博物館和紀念館

您的第二天將從 非裔美國人內戰博物館,就在 U Street NW 旁邊。 這個免費進入的博物館講述了美國有色人種部隊 209,145 名成員的故事,以及他們在結束奴隸制和保持美國統一在同一面旗幟下所發揮的重要作用。 在博物館的正對面,您會發現戶外紀念碑,紀念這些勇敢的人並紀念他們的犧牲。

下午

@britjacoby - 佩特沃斯林肯總統小屋的場景 - 華盛頓特區的歷史景點

繼續進入 DC 北部地區,您的下午將在 佩特沃斯 at 林肯總統的小屋,一個歷史遺跡和博物館,林肯在其總統任期的大部分時間裡都在這裡生活和工作。 住在小屋期間,林肯拜訪了內戰中受傷的士兵,並製定了解放宣言。 走進我們歷史上這位偉大領袖的私生活,看看小屋的寧靜環境如何幫助塑造了他的一些最偉大的成就。 參觀場地需要門票,可以找到 這裡. 要進一步深入了解內戰在該市的存在,請訪問史蒂文斯堡。 這座堡壘是內戰的戰場,距離林肯總統的小屋僅 XNUMX 分鐘車程。 免費入場,向公眾開放。

黃昏

為了結束這一天,我們建議您參加一頓晚餐,同時還可以了解一下歷史。 一種選擇是歷史性的 老艾比特燒烤. Old Ebbitt 成立於 1856 年,由寄宿公寓改建而成,成為華盛頓特區第一個已知的沙龍。 寄宿屋的訪客包括麥金萊總統、格蘭特總統、約翰遜總統、克利夫蘭總統、羅斯福總統和哈丁總統。 在 DC 最古老的沙龍中進行預訂並穿上歷史人物的鞋子。

日3

 

早晨

類=

從最後一天開始,我們建議您前往華盛頓特區以外的地方參觀 阿靈頓國家公墓. 這個墓地是無數曾在美國軍隊服役並去世的男女的安息之地。 在他們的場地內參觀的著名景點包括阿靈頓故居和約翰·F·肯尼迪的墳墓。 每兩個小時還有一次換崗儀式,很有趣。 您可以自己漫遊場地,也可以購買門票參加全天預定的遊覽。

下午

@tyler_sharpe - 國家肖像畫廊的情侶 - 華盛頓特區

返回市中心,參觀另一位歷史人物、美國紅十字會創始人克拉拉·巴頓 (Clara Barton) 的故鄉。 她的失踪士兵辦公室在建築物準備拆除時被意外發現。 一位被派去視察現場的紳士偶然發現了閣樓中存儲的記錄以及曾經放置在前面的標識辦公室的標誌。 這座建築現在 克拉拉巴頓使命士兵辦公室博物館,致力於分享克拉拉·巴頓 (Clara Barton) 的故事以及她尋找內戰中失踪士兵並使他們與家人團聚的使命。 下午的空閒時間步行到 國家肖像畫廊 還收藏了內戰時期或與內戰內容相關的各種藝術作品。

黃昏

您在 DC 的最後一站將是晚餐 區排屋,一家位於 DC 市中心的啤酒廠。 餐廳將為您提供種類繁多的飲品和美味佳餚,位置便利,距離國家肖像畫廊和國家檔案館等博物館僅幾步之遙,距離國會大廈一號競技場僅一個街區。

Skip to main content
Home

Craig Fildes

Smithsonian National Museum of the American History on the National Mall - Free Smithsonian Museum in Washington, DC

Civil War: From Past to Present


Washington, DC has a wealth of historic knowledge to offer and is an ideal place to explore the history of the Civil War. Enjoy these three days in DC exploring museums, taking ghost tours, and visiting historic sites.


Washington, DC has a wealth of historic knowledge to offer and is an ideal place to explore the history of the Civil War. Enjoy these three days in DC exploring museums, taking ghost tours, and visiting historic sites.

Day 1

 

Morning

Among the many historic battlefields and parks throughout the country, the nation’s capital is a perfect place to visit if you’re looking to learn the history of the Civil War. Your first stops will be museums to set the scene for the time period. Visit the National Museum of American History to see their collection, Treasures of American History featuring artifacts form the Civil War.  

Afternoon

@roostandwander - President Lincoln's booth at Ford's Theatre - Historic site in Washington, DC

For the afternoon step into the shoes of the man in charge during the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln. You’ll be paying a visit to Ford’s Theatre, the site of Lincoln’s assassination. The theatre today is not only a theatre but also a museum with great details surrounding the war and days leading up to Lincoln’s assassination. Ford’s Theatre is what can be referred to as a living landmark, because it is still an operating theatre. After taking a tour during the day consider returning for a matinee performance on the weekends or an evening show nightly. They put on a variety of shows, from classic stories to modern musicals. The full schedule can be found here.

Evening

To round out Day 1 of your DC visit, consider joining a tour of the monuments by moonlight. The monuments are majestic during the day, but every Washingtonian swears that the best view of them is by night, when they light up the skyline. You can explore on your own or book a tour to have a licensed guide lead you through all the history. In addition, or in place of this, the spooky side of DC is waiting for you all year. DC Ghosts offers two nightly walking tours that take you through 8 haunted locations.

Day 2

 

Morning

Children at African American Civil War Memorial and Museum - Museum and Memorial in Washington, DC

Your second day will start off at the African American Civil War Museum, located just off of U Street NW.  This free to enter museum tells the stories of the 209,145 members of the United States Colored Troops and the important roles they played in ending slavery and keeping America united under one flag. Directly across from the museum, you’ll find the outdoor memorial commemorating these brave men and honoring their sacrifice.

Afternoon

@britjacoby - Scene at President Lincoln's Cottage in Petworth - Historic attractions in Washington, DC

Continuing into the northern areas of DC, your afternoon will be spent in Petworth at President Lincoln’s Cottage, a historic site and museum where Lincoln lived and worked for a large part of his presidency. While living in the cottage, Lincoln visited wounded soldiers from the Civil War and developed the Emancipation Proclamation. Step into the private life of this great leader in our history and see how the peaceful grounds of the cottage helped shape some of his greatest accomplishments. Tickets are required for a tour of the grounds and can be found here. For an additional dive into the Civil War’s presence in the city, visit Fort Stevens. This fort was the site of a Civil War battle is a quick ten-minute drive from President Lincoln’s Cottage. Admission is free and open to the public.

Evening

To end the day, we suggest partaking in a dinner that comes with a side helping of history as well. One option would be the historic Old Ebbitt Grill. Old Ebbitt was founded in 1856 and became Washington, DC’s first known saloon after being converted from a boarding house. Visitors of the boarding house included Presidents McKinley, Grant, Johnson, Cleveland, Roosevelt and Harding. Make a reservation and step into the shoes of historic figures at DC’s oldest saloon.

Day 3

 

Morning

 class=

Starting your final day, we suggest you head just outside of Washington, DC to visit Arlington National Cemetery. This cemetery is the resting place for numerous men and women who have served the United States in the armed forces and passed away. Famous sites to see within their grounds include Arlington House and the grave of John F Kennedy. There is also a changing of the guard ceremony every two hours that is interesting to watch. You can roam through the grounds on your own or purchase a ticket to join a scheduled tour throughout the day.

Afternoon

@tyler_sharpe - Couple at National Portrait Gallery - Washington, DC

Make your way back into the heart of the city to visit the home of another historic figure, Clara Barton, founder of the American Red Cross. Her Missing Soldiers Office was uncovered accidentally when the building was set to be demolished. A gentleman sent to inspect the site stumbled across records stored in the attic along with the sign that used to be placed out front identifying the office. This building is now The Clara Barton Mission Soldiers Office Museum, dedicated to sharing the story of Clara Barton and her mission to find missing soldiers from the civil war and reunite them with their families. With your spare time in the afternoon walk over to the National Portrait Gallery also houses a variety of works of art from the Civil War time period or relating to the content of the Civil War.

Evening

Your final stop in DC will be dinner at District Chophouse, a brewery located in the heart of Downtown DC. The restaurant will offer you a wide selection of libations with a delicious meal and is conveniently located steps away from museums like the National Portrait Gallery and the National Archives and one block from Capitol One Arena.