Passer au contenu principal
Accueil

CARTE TI

icône de carte icône de fermeture

Centre de la Fondation Luce pour l'art américain

Luce Unplugged au Luce Foundation Center for American Art - Washington, DC

10 musées avec programmation après les heures d'ouverture à Washington, DC




Au cours des dernières années, de plus en plus de musées de DC ont annoncé des offres en soirée après 5 heures, ce qui est parfait pour rencontrer des participants dont les horaires ne permettent pas une visite de jour. Découvrez ces musées une fois le soir venu.

Lorsque vous êtes à une convention toute la journée, il peut être difficile de trouver le temps de découvrir l'incroyable scène muséale de DC. Ce que la plupart des visiteurs ne savent pas, c'est que bon nombre des meilleurs musées de la ville proposent des activités et des événements en dehors des heures d'ouverture. Des spectacles musicaux et des visites spécialisées aux délicieuses bouchées et cocktails, les options de début de soirée constituent une occasion parfaite de s'imprégner des performances, de l'histoire et de la culture.

01

Phillips After 5 – La collection Phillips

Le premier jeudi de chaque mois, La collection Phillips introduit un nouveau thème dans son espace avec de la musique, de la nourriture et des cocktails de 5 h à 8 h 30. Des sujets ont mis en lumière des artistes et militantes féminines ainsi qu'une expérience des saveurs insulaires de Porto Rico et de Cuba. Des tarifs d'admission s'appliquent (12 $ pour les adultes; 10 $ pour les étudiants et les personnes âgées).

02

Luce Unplugged – Musée d'art américain Smithsonian

Luce débranché est une série de concerts locaux mensuels gratuits organisés au Luce Foundation Center for American Art du Smithsonian American Art Museum. Les spectacles du jeudi sont un hommage à une œuvre du Luce Center sélectionnée par l'artiste. Venez à 5h30 pour écouter une discussion sur les œuvres d'art, prendre un verre au bar ou explorer le Luce. Les concerts commencent à 6 h et plus de détails peuvent être trouvés sur leur site Web pour les programmations saisonnières.

03

Nat Geo Nights – National Geographic Museum

Le troisième jeudi de chaque mois, le National Geographic Museum ouvre ses portes pour une soirée d'histoires en direct des explorateurs National Geographic, de musique, de nourriture et de boissons spéciales à l'heure de l'apéritif de 5 h 30 à 8 h 30. Les billets coûtent 20 $ et des boissons et de la nourriture supplémentaires sont disponibles à l'achat. Les informations sur les événements à venir peuvent être trouvées sur leur site web.

04

National Portrait Gallery & Smithsonian American Art Museum

Les deux musées populaires sont ouverts jusqu'à 7 heures, donnant aux participants aux réunions la chance de voir les arts visuels, les arts de la scène et les nouveaux médias au Galerie Nationale des Portraits et le Musée d'art américain Smithsonian collections d'art de la période coloniale à nos jours.

05

Summer Block Party – Musée national du bâtiment

De la musique live au délicieux barbecue de Hill Country Barbecue, le Musée national du bâtiment sait comment organiser une fête de quartier estivale pas comme les autres. Du jeudi au samedi pendant l'été, le musée organise des rassemblements où les invités peuvent explorer une installation estivale majeure et acheter de la nourriture et des boissons sur la pelouse. Des tarifs d'entrée s'appliquent (16 $ pour les adultes; 13 $ pour les enfants, les étudiants et les personnes âgées), mais l'entrée à la fête de quartier est gratuite.

06

Jazz in the Garden – Jardin de sculptures de la National Gallery of Art

Friends at Jazz in the Garden à la National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden - Concert d'été gratuit en plein air à Washington, DC

Friends at Jazz in the Garden à la National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden - Concert d'été gratuit en plein air à Washington, DC

Les vendredis soirs d'été sont faciles pour les habitants avec le jardin de sculptures de la National Gallery of Art Série Jazz dans le jardin. La série de concerts de jazz gratuit se déroule de 5 h à 8 h 30 tout l'été. Si vous pouvez arriver tôt, installez-vous dans l'herbe, préparez des collations et amenez tous vos amis pour déguster des pichets de sangria, des bières locales et d'autres rafraîchissements. 

07

Série de concerts – National Gallery of Art – Bâtiment Ouest

Le dimanche soir, généralement de l'automne au printemps, le Galerie nationale d'art propose des concerts ouverts au public, gratuitement. De nombreux musiciens qui sont apparus à la Galerie dans le passé sont devenus mondialement connus, notamment les pianistes Claudio Arrau, Eugene Istomin, Earl Wild et les Julliard String Quartets. Les membres du public sont admis selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi et sont détenus dans le West Garden Court du West Building. Pour plus d'informations sur les concerts, visitez le site de la Galerie.

08

Soirées à la périphérie – National Gallery of Art – Bâtiment Est

Certains jours précis tout au long des saisons d'automne et de printemps, les invités de la National Gallery of Art's East Building Gallery peuvent profiter d'œuvres d'art, de musique en direct, de spectacles de danse et de conférences pop-up d'éducateurs de 6 h à 9 h. et ouvre un mois avant chaque événement. Des collations légères et des boissons sont disponibles à l'achat. Pour plus d'informations sur les dates saisonnières proposées, visitez leur site Web.

09

Brasser au zoo – Smithsonian National Zoo

, scène de la bière artisanale locale à DC saute, même au Zoo national du Smithsonian. Brew at the Zoo est un festival annuel de la bière artisanale, mettant en vedette des bières de plus de 60 brasseries artisanales locales. Les invités doivent avoir au moins 21 ans et l'événement comprend des jeux de pelouse, des démonstrations d'animaux et des food trucks locaux. Le festival a généralement lieu pendant l'été, alors assurez-vous de consultez leur site Web pour des dates précises.

10

Smithsonian à 8 ans – Smithsonian Associates

Le plus grand programme d'éducation muséale au monde, Associés Smithsonian, a créé un programme appelé "Smithsonian à 8 ans” pour offrir des expériences uniques inspirées du monde du Smithsonian. Les thèmes vont du local au global et les rassemblements combinent musique, nourriture et boisson dans des cadres uniques. En 2018, le National Museum of African Art et la Sackler Gallery se sont associés pour une soirée exclusive mettant en vedette des galeries d'art et une cuisine des continents africain et asiatique. Les invités doivent avoir 21 ans et plus pour participer. Consultez leur site Web pour obtenir des informations sur les événements à venir.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire

You are here

10 Museums with After-Hours Programming in Washington, DC

Luce Unplugged at the Luce Foundation Center for American Art - Washington, DC

Over the past few years, more DC museums have announced evening offerings after 5 p.m., perfect for meeting attendees whose schedules don’t allow for a daytime visit. Check out these museums once evening hits.

When you’re at a convention all day, it can be a challenge finding time to check out DC’s amazing museum scene. What most visitors don’t know is that many of the city’s best museums offer after-hours activities and events. From musical performances and specialized tours to delicious bites and cocktails, the early evening options make for a perfect chance to soak up performances, history and culture.

1 Phillips After 5 – The Phillips Collection

Visitors at The Phillips Collection Phillips After 5 event - After-hours museum events in Washington, DC

On the first Thursday of each month, The Phillips Collection introduces a new theme to its space with music, food and cocktails from 5-8:30 p.m. Topics have highlighted female artists and activists as well as an experience of the island flavors of Puerto Rico and Cuba. Admission rates apply ($12 for adults; $10 for students and seniors).

2 Luce Unplugged – Smithsonian American Art Museum

@katebydesign - Luce Unplugged free concert at the Smithsonian American Art Museum - Free performing arts in Washington, DC

Luce Unplugged is a free, monthly local concert series held in the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s Luce Foundation Center for American Art. Thursday shows are a tribute to a Luce Center artwork selected by the performer. Come at 5:30 p.m. to hear a discussion of the artwork, grab a drink from the bar or explore the Luce. Concerts begin at 6 p.m. and more details can be found on their website for the seasonal lineups.

3 Nat Geo Nights – National Geographic Museum
Nat Geo Nights – National Geographic Museum National Geographic Museum

On the third Thursday of each month, the National Geographic Museum opens its doors for an evening of live stories from National Geographic Explorers, music, food and happy hour drinks specials from 5:30-8:30 p.m. Tickets are $20 and additional drinks and food are available for purchase. Upcoming event information can be found on their website.

4 National Portrait Gallery & Smithsonian American Art Museum

@discoverwithblake - Electronic Superhighway at the Smithsonian American Art Museum - Free museum in Washington, DC

Both popular museums are open until 7 p.m., giving meetings attendees the chance to see the visual arts, performing arts and new media at the National Portrait Gallery and the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s collections of art from the colonial period to the present.

5 Summer Block Party – National Building Museum

Hill Country Summer Block Party Backyard Barbecue at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC

From live music to delicious barbecue from Hill Country Barbecue, the National Building Museum knows how to throw a summer block party like no other. Thursdays through Saturdays during the summer, the museum hosts gatherings where guests can explore a major summer installation and purchase food and drink from the front lawn. Admission rates apply ($16 for adults; $13 for children, students and seniors), but admission to the block party is free.

6 Jazz in the Garden – National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden

Friends at Jazz in the Garden at the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden - Free Outdoor Summer Concert in Washington, DC

Summer Friday nights are easy for locals with the National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden’s Jazz in the Garden series. The free jazz concert series runs from 5-8:30 p.m. all summer. If you can get there early, stake out your spot in the grass, lay out some snacks and bring all your friends to enjoy pitchers of sangria, local beers and other refreshments. 

7 Concert Series – National Gallery of Art – West Building

@wakakobayashi- Free concert at the National Gallery of Art - Free performing arts in Washington, DC

On Sunday evenings, typically from fall through spring, the National Gallery of Art features concerts that are open to the public, free of charge. Many musicians who appeared at the Gallery in the past have gone on to worldwide fame, including pianists Claudio Arrau, Eugene Istomin, Earl Wild and the Julliard String Quartets. Audience members are admitted on a first-come, first-serve basis and are held in the West Building’s West Garden Court. For more information on the concerts, visit the Gallery’s website.

8 Evenings at the Edge – National Gallery of Art – East Building

Crowd at National Gallery of Art Evenings on the Edge event - Things to do at Washington, DC museums

On specified days throughout the fall and spring seasons, guests at the National Gallery of Art’s East Building Gallery can enjoy works of art, live music, dance performances and pop-up talks from educators from 6-9 p.m. Admission is free but registration is required and opens one month prior to each event. Light bites and drinks are available for purchase. For more information on the seasonal dates offered, visit their website.

9 Brew at the Zoo – Smithsonian National Zoo

Brew at the Zoo - Events at the Smithsonian National Zoo in Washington, DC

The local craft beer scene in DC is hopping, even at the Smithsonian National Zoo. Brew at the Zoo is an annual craft beer festival, featuring beers from over 60 local craft breweries. Guests must be at least 21 years old and the event includes lawn games, animal demonstrations and local food trucks. The festival is typically during the summer, so make sure to check their website for specific dates.

10 Smithsonian at 8 – Smithsonian Associates

@smithsonianassociates - Smithsonian at 8 event on the National Mall - Summer Smithsonian event in Washington, DC

The largest museum-based education program in the world, Smithsonian Associates, created a program called “Smithsonian at 8” to provide one-of-a-kind experiences inspired by the world of the Smithsonian. Themes range from local to global and the gatherings combine music, food and drink in unique settings. In 2018, the National Museum of African Art and the Sackler Gallery teamed up for an exclusive night featuring art galleries and cuisine from the African and Asian continents. Guests must be 21 and over to attend. Check out their website for information on upcoming events.