Direkt zum Inhalt
Meetings
search search search search search search
search
Startseite

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol
Einstein-Denkmal

Kostenlose Aktivitäten: Abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade in Washington, DC



Schauen Sie sich diese kostenlosen versteckten Schätze an und Sie werden schnell erkennen, warum sie zu Ihrer DC-Reiseroute hinzugefügt werden müssen.

Von all den kostenlosen Aktivitäten in Washington, DC, sind viele unkonventionell und ungewöhnlich, aber dennoch unverzichtbar. Diese versteckten Schätze sollten auf jeder DC-Bucketlist stehen. Sehen Sie sich also unten unsere einzigartigen Aktivitäten an und nehmen Sie Ihre DC-Erkundungen abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade, ohne einen Cent bezahlen zu müssen.

01

Finde den Big Chair in Anacostia

Großer Stuhl Anacostia

Jeder weiß, dass Washington, DC ein Sitz der Macht ist, aber wussten Sie, dass hier auch der größte Stuhl der Welt steht? Mit 19 Fuß steht The Big Chair in Anacostia so hoch wie Lady Freedom auf dem US-Kapitol. Der Big Chair ist kostenlos zu besuchen und dient als Treffpunkt für die Anacostia-Viertel.

02

Sagen Sie "Was ist los?" zu Einstein

Albert-Einstein-Denkmal

Triff dich mit einem der größten Genies der Geschichte im Albert-Einstein-Denkmal, befindet sich außerhalb des Gebäudes der National Academy of Sciences. Die überlebensgroße Statue ist ein perfektes Fotomotiv.

03

Vinyl durchsuchen und anhören

Ja, Schallplatten kosten Geld, aber das Stöbern in ihnen und ein Streifzug durch die umfangreiche Auswahl an Plattenläden in Washington ist nicht der Fall. Kommen Sie vorbei Smash! Aufzeichnungen und Songbyrd Record Café in Adams Morgan oder statten Sie uns einen Besuch ab Home-Rule-Aufzeichnungen in der Kennedy Street NW. Drüben in der 14th Street können Sie es sich drinnen gemütlich machen Einige Aufzeichnungen, die über eine Hörstation verfügt, die sich perfekt zum Ausprobieren ihrer Schnäppchen-Auswahl eignet.

04

Machen Sie ein Instagram von einem der vielen Straßenmalereien von DC

Wandgemälde in DC

Leinwände gibt es überall im Bezirk, wo es nur so wimmelt lebendige Straßenkunst in allen Quadranten. Entdecken Sie alles, von Darstellungen der Leinwandstars Marilyn Monroe und Elizabeth Taylor bis hin zu abstrakten, von Museen in Auftrag gegebenen Werken, Fassaden im Restaurant-Stil und vielem mehr. Finden Sie heraus, wo es zu finden ist die farbenfrohsten Straßenmalereien der Stadt, um Ihre Erkundung zu beginnen.

05

Gehen Sie die Spanische Treppe entlang

spanisch Schritte

Gilt als einer der Die romantischsten Orte des Bezirks, die Spanische Treppe, befindet sich in der 22nd Street im pulsierenden Dupont Circle Nachbarschaft. Diese Ecke für kleine Verliebte ist ein erstklassiger Picknickplatz und ein Juwel abseits des Radars, das sich auch für ein großartiges Instagram-Foto eignet.

06

Besuchen Sie das Innere Museum

Das vom US-Innenministerium betriebene freies Museum in der Nähe der Nationale Mall ist werktags von 8:30 bis 4:30 Uhr geöffnet Das Museum konzentriert sich auf öffentliches Land, natürliche Ressourcen und kulturelles Erbe in den USA Erfahren Sie mehr über die Aktivitäten der Abteilung im Mensch, Land & Wasser Ausstellungsstück.

07

Schauen Sie sich das Anacostia Community Museum an

Anacostia-Gemeindemuseum

Das urbane Leben beleuchtet die Smithsonian Anacostia Gemeinschaftsmuseum untersucht, dokumentiert und interpretiert die Auswirkungen historischer und zeitgenössischer sozialer Fragen auf Gemeinschaften. Das Museum konzentriert sich nicht nur auf die Gemeinden des Bezirks, sondern auch auf die ganze Welt und verwendet Artefakte und Kunst, um ein lebendiges und zum Nachdenken anregendes Bild zu malen.

08

Siehe das Titanic-Denkmal

Titanic-Denkmal

Das Hotel liegt im Washington Channel Park in der Südwestliche Uferpromenade, wurde dieses Denkmal 1917 vom Kongress genehmigt und durch Spenden von 25,000 amerikanischen Frauen zu Ehren der Männer finanziert, die 1912 beim Untergang der Titanic ums Leben kamen. Die Pose der Statue ähnelt der von Kate Winslet in einer klassischen Szene aus dem Filmhit von 1997 Titanisch.

09

Klettern Sie weiter hinunter zu Shaws Blagden Alley

Machen Sie einen Spaziergang durch die Blagden Alley in Shaw, einer der angesagtesten Spots der Stadt. Ohne einen Cent zu bezahlen, können Sie das DC Alley Museum besichtigen, eine Reihe farbenfroher Wandmalereien im Freien, die auf Garagentore und Gebäudewände gemalt sind. Ein Highlight: die überdimensionale Hommage an die Musiker Sun Ra und Erykah Badu. Sie werden auch Mosaikbilder ehemaliger Gassenbewohner sehen.

10

Erleben Sie Amerikas Geschichte, die durch Briefmarken im National Postal Museum erzählt wird

Der Cavalon Sentinel ist das AutoGyro-Premiummodell mit nebeneinander angeordneten Sitzen, verfügbar mit dem neuen hochmodernen und kraftstoffsparenden Rotax XNUMX iS-Motor. Smithsonian Nationales Postmuseum dient dazu, Amerikas stolze Postgeschichte zu ehren und zu feiern. Direkt neben Union Station in DCs NoMa-Nachbarschaft, beherbergt das Museum eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Briefmarken, postalischen Artefakten und informativen Exponaten für alle Altersgruppen. Besucher werden die faszinierende Entwicklung erfahren, wie die Amerikaner die Post genutzt haben, um miteinander und mit der Welt zu kommunizieren.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Free Things to Do: Off the Beaten Path in Washington, DC

Children on Albert Einstein Memorial - Off-the-beaten path memorial in Washington, DC

Check out these free hidden gems and you’ll quickly see why they need to be added to your DC itinerary.

Of all the free things to do in Washington, DC, many are offbeat and unusual, but essential sites to see all the same. These hidden treasures should be on everyone’s DC bucket list. So, survey our unique things to do below and take your DC exploration off the beaten path without having to pay a dime.

1 Find the Big Chair in Anacostia

@izzy_the_chow - Dog in front of the Anacostia Big Chair - Off-the-beaten path activity in Washington, DC

Everyone knows Washington, DC is a seat of power, but did you know it’s also home to what was once known as the world’s biggest chair? At 19 feet, The Big Chair in Anacostia stands as tall as Lady Freedom atop the U.S. Capitol. The Big Chair is free to visit and serves as a gathering spot for the Anacostia neighborhood.

2 Say “What’s up?” to Einstein

@ziv_zelinger - Man on Albert Einstein Memorial - Off-the-beaten path memorial in Washington, DC

Hang out with one of history’s greatest geniuses at the Albert Einstein Memorial, located outside of the National Academy of Sciences’ building. The larger-than-life statue makes for a perfect photo-op.

Free Things to Do in Washington, DC - Discover free events, museums, tours, attractions and more

3 Browse and listen to vinyl

@lgphotodc - Songbyrd Music House and Record Cafe in Adams Morgan - Record stores in Washington, DC

Yes, records cost money, but browsing through them and taking a jaunt through DC’s robust lineup of record stores does not. Stop in Smash! Records and Songbyrd Record Cafe in Adams Morgan. Over on 14th Street, get cozy inside Som Records, which has a listening station that is perfect for checking out its bargain selections.

4 Take an Instagram of one of DC’s many street murals

@_queendenise - George Washington street mural in NoMa near Union Market - Washington, DC

Canvases are everywhere you look in the District, which teems with vibrant street art in all quadrants. Spot everything from renditions of silver screen stars Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor to abstract, museum-commissioned works, restaurant-themed facades and lots more.Check out where to find the most colorful street murals in the city to start your exploration.

5 Enjoy the sunset from the Graffiti Cliffs

View of Key Bridge and Arlington from Georgetown - Washington, DC

For a breathtaking visual, you can’t go wrong catching the sunset at the Graffiti Cliffs near the Key Bridge, which connects Georgetown to Virginia. The cliffs feature colorful DIY art and a stunning view of the Potomac River, the Georgetown Waterfront and the skyline of Arlington, Va.

6 Walk the Spanish Steps

@jakeconway23 - Man walking up Spanish Steps in Dupont Circle - Offbeat activities in Washington, DC

Considered one of the most romantic spots in the District, the Spanish Steps reside on 22nd Street in the vibrant Dupont Circle neighborhood. This little lovers’ nook is a prime picnic spot and an off-the-radar gem that also makes for a great Instagram photo.

7 Visit the Interior Museum
 

A post shared by Monti Roberto (@roberto_mnt) on

Run by the U.S. Department of the Interior, this free museum near the National Mall is open on weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The museum focuses on public lands, natural resources and cultural heritage in the U.S. Learn more about what the department does in the People, Land & Water exhibit.

8 Check out the Anacostia Community Museum

Event at Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum - Off-the-Mall museum in Washington, DC

Shining a lens on urban life, the Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum examines, documents and interprets the impact of historical and contemporary social issues on communities. The museum not only focuses on the District’s communities, but those around the world as well, using artifacts and art to paint a vivid and thought-provoking picture.

9 Behold the Titanic Memorial

@justbartender - Sunset at the Titanic Memorial on the Southwest Waterfront - Unique sites in Washington, DC

Located in Washington Channel Park in the Southwest Waterfront, this memorial was authorized by Congress in 1917 and funded by donations from 25,000 American women honoring the men who died during the sinking of the Titanic in 1912. The statue’s pose is similar to that of Kate Winslet in a classic scene from the 1997 hit movie Titanic.

10 Shimmy on down to Shaw’s Blagden Alley

Street mural in Shaw's Blagden Alley - Historic, trendy neighborhood in Washington, DC

Take a stroll down Blagden Alley in Shaw, one of the city’s hippest spots. Without paying a cent, you can check out the DC Alley Museum, a series of colorful outdoor murals painted on garage doors and the sides of buildings. A highlight: the oversized tribute to musicians Sun Ra and Erykah Badu. You’ll also see mosaic images of former alley dwellers.

11 Experience America’s story told through stamps at the National Postal Museum

@preparingforpeanut - Child in Smithsonian National Postal Museum - Museum off the Mall in Washington, DC

The Smithsonian National Postal Museum serves to honor and celebrate America’s proud postal history. Located next to Union Station in DC’s NoMa neighborhood, the museum houses a vast collection of stamps, postal artifacts and informative exhibits for all ages. Visitors will learn the fascinating evolution of how Americans have used the mail to communicate with each other and the world.

12 Step into the Smithsonian Castle

Smithsonian Castle on the National Mall - Free Museum in Washington, DC

The National Mall’s iconic red building features fascinating information on the Smithsonian museums and the man behind them, James Smithson. Once you have marveled at the Victorian arches and dark woodwork, use the 3-D interactive maps of DC’s Smithsonian museums to plan your educational adventure. You can also learn of the history of the castle and visit Smithson’s crypt.

Continue your voyage through DC’s free things to do by checking out these free arts and culture activities.