跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
鋼琴

華盛頓特區的 4 個爵士樂場地是蜜蜂的膝蓋



沉浸在這些歷史瑰寶和現代奇蹟中,彷彿仍是爵士時代

在線詞源詞典認為爵士薩克斯演奏家 Lester Young 創造了使用“酷”作為形容爵士樂的形容詞,這有助於產生現在經常使用的描述詞。 楊曾經在華盛頓特區炫耀他的薩克斯風——有時是在 Olivia Davis 的 Patio Lounge。 與現在是梅西百貨所在地的爵士樂場所不同,Cap City 保留了許多其他有價值的靜修場所,仍然散發著爵士樂的氣息和烈酒的氣味。 下次有需要時,這裡有一些可以存入銀行。

01

漢密爾頓現場的 Jive

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

集體分享的帖子 (@collectivedcband)

這個場地,位於同名餐廳的喧囂之下,以舉辦各種藝術家而聞名,從放克到鄉村以及介於兩者之間的一切。 每年六月期間 DC爵士音樂節,您會發現 The Hamilton Live 變成了爵士樂的聖地。 格萊美獎得主、大型銅管樂隊和流派潮流引領者的流暢聲音匯聚在一起,帶來您不會很快忘記的體驗。

02

與林肯劇院建立聯繫並獲得爵士條紋

1993 年被列入國家史蹟名錄, 林肯劇院 在哈萊姆文藝復興之前是美國黑人文化的中心,演過比莉·霍利迪、艾拉·菲茨杰拉德和本土兒子艾靈頓公爵等表演。 今天,該場地擁有涵蓋廣泛流派的全國知名藝術家。

03

在歷史悠久的霍華德劇院盡情狂歡

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

@hasinct 分享的帖子

很難去相信 這個富蘭克林 D. 羅斯福的最愛於 1910 年開業,在 2012 年重新開放之前關閉了三個多世紀。今天,您會發現時尚人群在場,體驗各種各樣的表演者,從果醬樂隊和 R&B 歌手到藍調和流行音樂表演者。 不要錯過每個月的第一個星期日的靈魂食物福音早午餐。

04

在 Blues Alley 回到 1930 年代

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Eric Shullman (@shullman) 分享的帖子

美國歷史最悠久的爵士晚餐俱樂部, 藍調小巷 is 喬治敦's 悠閒的深夜避難所。 每週的每一天都沉浸在讓人想起爵士時代黎明的氛圍中。 在這座經過改建的 XNUMX 世紀馬車房內,總有可看的東西和您想听的人。

既然您已經仔細閱讀了 DC 最好的爵士樂場所,是時候探索其無數的音樂選擇了。 查看 凹槽 這個國家的首都必須提供的。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon

LaVan Anderson / Howard Theatre

Howard Theatre - Live Music Venues and Concert Halls in Washington, DC

4 Jazz Venues In Washington, DC That Are The Bee’s Knees



Get down like it’s still the Jazz Age at these historical gems and modern-day marvels

The online etymology dictionary credits jazz sax player Lester Young with coining the use of “cool” as an adjective to describe jazz, which helped give rise to the now oft-used descriptor. Young used to flash his sax chops in Washington, DC—sometimes at Olivia Davis’ Patio Lounge. Unlike that jazz venue, which is now the site of a Macy’s, Cap City has kept a slew of other worthwhile retreats still swirling with jazzy notes and the smell of strong drinks. Here’s a few to bank for the next time you’re in need.

01

Jive at The Hamilton Live

This venue, which sits below the hustle and bustle of the restaurant that shares its name, is known for hosting a wide range of artists, from funk to country and everything in between. Each June during the DC Jazz Festival, you’ll find that The Hamilton Live transforms into a jazz mecca. The smooth sounds of Grammy winners, big brass bands and genre trendsetters all come together for an experience you won’t soon forget.

02

Link up with Lincoln Theatre and earn your jazz stripes

Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1993, the Lincoln Theatre was at the center of American black culture prior to the Harlem Renaissance, staging acts like Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald and native son, Duke Ellington. Today, the venue hosts nationally acclaimed artists covering a wide range of genres.

03

Jam out at the historic Howard Theatre

It’s hard to believe this Franklin D. Roosevelt favorite, which opened in 1910, was shuttered for more than three decades before reopening in 2012. Today, you’ll find hip crowds on hand to experience an eclectic array of performers, from jam bands and R&B crooners to blues and pop performers. Don’t miss the soul food-serving gospel brunch every first Sunday of the month.

04

Travel back to the 1930s at Blues Alley

The nation’s oldest continually operating jazz supper club, Blues Alley is Georgetown's laid-back, late-night sanctuary. Revel in an ambience reminiscent of the dawn of the Jazz Age every day of the week. There’s always something to see – and someone you’ll want to hear – inside this converted eighteenth century carriage house.

Now that you’ve perused DC’s finest jazz venues, it’s time to explore its myriad music options. Check out the grooves that the nation’s capital has to offer.

Partner Content
Partner Content