Passer au contenu principal
Accueil

CARTE TI

icône de carte icône de fermeture
Patio de nuit au restaurant Le Diplomate sur la 14e Rue - Stephen Starr Restaurant à Washington, DC

Meilleurs plats que vous devez essayer dans les restaurants de Washington, DC



Ces plats essentiels du restaurant DC montrent l'incroyable diversité de la scène culinaire du district.

En tant que l'un des pays meilleures destinations de restauration, nous voulons mettre en valeur les plats et les saveurs signature de certains des restaurants les plus populaires de la ville. Bien sûr, il est difficile de se tromper dans bon nombre de ces restaurants, mais si vous êtes du genre « quel est le plat que je devrais essayer ? » type de dîner, nous avons ce qu'il vous faut.
 

Un rappel : les menus des restaurants changent fréquemment, donc bien que ces plats soient souvent présentés, rien ne garantit qu'ils seront disponibles le soir de votre visite. Vérifiez auprès d'un serveur la disponibilité du plat ou optez pour une autre offre savoureuse du restaurant.
 

Les meilleurs restaurants et endroits où manger à Washington, DC

01

La ville du soleil à Call Your Mother

Appelle ta mère, qui se présente comme "une épicerie juive", sert les classiques que vous connaissez et aimez avec une touche d'originalité. Le Sun City est l'un des sandwichs les plus populaires à cet endroit nommé d'après Bon appétitLa liste des 50 meilleurs nouveaux restaurants américains lors de son ouverture en 2019. Qu'est-ce qui rend The Sun City si bon, demandez-vous ? Pensez à un œuf moelleux en couches de « style bodega » avec du fromage fondant américain et du cheddar et votre choix de bacon ou de pastrami, le tout arrosé de miel épicé et emballé dans un bagel à tout faire.

02

La salade de porc et de litchi au Rose's Luxury

Nommé meilleur nouveau restaurant d'Amérique par Bon Appétit en 2014 et également récipiendaire d'une étoile Michelin, Aaron Silverman's Le luxe de Rose on Le Parlement Américain a de nombreuses façons de vous impressionner. Les convives se sont particulièrement émerveillés de la salade de litchi, un plat de base qui est resté fidèle à un menu en constante évolution. Ce plat composé de litchis sucrés, de saucisse de porc, d'oignon rouge et de cacahuètes est surmonté d'une crème fraîche à la noix de coco et, comme le restaurant lui-même, laisse toute une impression.

03

Mezzi Rigatoni à La Poule Rouge

Une cuisine au feu de bois, un décor bucolique et un menu infusé à l'italienne ont tourné La poule rousse dans l'un des restaurants de quartier les plus populaires de la ville. Le mezzi rigatoni est un incontournable des débuts du restaurant qui impressionne par sa délicieuse simplicité. Des rigatoni courts faits maison sont accompagnés d'un ragoût de saucisse au fenouil et garnis de pecorino romano pour une perfection des pâtes.

04

Poulet frit chez Maketto

L'élégant Maketto on Rue H NE propose l'un des plats les plus chauds de la ville. Le chef Erik Bruner-Yang s'attaque au poulet frit avec brio, le transformant en un plateau taïwanais croustillant à la fois sucré et épicé (grâce au coup de poivre en grains). Servi sur du pain français, l'ensemble peut nourrir deux ou trois personnes, qui resteront probablement assises en silence en s'émerveillant de l'explosion de saveur du plat.

05

Khachapuri à la rose des vents

Le confort de quartier de Compass Rose se reflète dans sa carte, parsemée d'une cuisine internationale qui peut être servie dans un restaurant ou dans la rue. La vedette du spectacle dans ce point chaud situé à un pâté de maisons de Rue U est le khachapuri, un bateau à pain rempli de fromage enrobé d'un œuf biologique et de beurre, souvent servi en Géorgie. Associez-le à n'importe quel nombre de vins géorgiens disponibles et vous êtes officiellement transporté.

06

Palak Chaat à Rasika West End

Le très acclamé Rasika West End du chef primé James Beard Vikram Sunderam est connu pour de nombreux plats, mais le palak chaat salé pourrait être d'un autre niveau. Le plat met en vedette des bébés épinards croustillants, feuilletés et croquants, qui sont surmontés d'une sauce au yogourt au tamarin et de dattes. Préparez-vous à une cuisine de style indien à son meilleur.

07

Soupe à l'oignon gratinée au Diplomate

Cette petit coin de Paris du restaurateur Stephen Starr est un favori vivace et très apprécié. Mi-brasserie, mi-café, mi-bistro, attendez-vous à une ambiance décontractée mais chic au Diplomate. Tout comme dans la Ville Lumière, « Le Dip » (comme l'appellent les locaux) entasse de généreuses portions de fromage débordant sur le dessus de cette soupe que vous n'oublierez pas de sitôt.

08

Proper Burger™ chez Duke's Grocery

Vous ne pouvez pas vous tromper avec le Proper Burger™ de L'épicerie du Ducun Dupont Circle pilier avec des retombées dans Fond brumeux et Parc Woodley. Le hamburger que ce pub de quartier inspiré de Londres produit est si populaire qu'ils en ont déposé le nom. Deux galettes de bœuf juteuses sur un petit pain brioché moelleux sont recouvertes de gouda fondu, d'oignon rouge carbonisé, d'une sauce chili douce et d'aïoli à l'ail. Creuser !

09

Shoyu Ramen épicé à Haikan

Si vous n'avez pas essayé les ramen de style Sapporo, il n'y a pas de meilleur moment que maintenant. Les prises éblouissantes du chef Katsuya Fukushima sur les ramen sont pleinement exposées à Haïkan in Shaw, qui est lié au compteur de ramen très populaire Daikaya mais traverse un terrain qui lui est propre. Le ramen shoyu épicé est complété par du bouillon de poulet, de bœuf et de porc et est accompagné de nouilles importées du Japon et de tous les fixins.

10

Mac et fromage au Smith

Avec des emplacements dans Quartier Penn et sur Rue U, il y a deux fois plus de raisons d'essayer cette entrée ooey, gluante et oui, ringard, perfectionnée par Les Dupont. La spécialité rôtie à la poêle est un puissant cheddar-Fontina-Gruyère-Parmigiano Reggiano parfait pour le fractionnement (ou en faire un plat principal si vous ne voulez pas partager). Soyez prêt à inonder vos abonnés Instagram avec des boomerangs de bonté filandreuse et fromagée.

11

Rouleau de homard à la ligne de sel

Une visite à La ligne de sel vous transportera du district à la côte de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, alors que le restaurant axé sur les fruits de mer du chef Kyle Bailey incorpore des saveurs de la côte est comme peu d'autres restaurants de la région. Le rouleau de homard est un favori au Bord de la rivière du Capitole locale, servi sur un petit pain fendu et garni à votre goût (nous le préférons habillé de beurre). Vous ne pouvez pas non plus vous tromper avec la barre brute ici.

12

Planche de poisson fumoir de Ivy City Smokehouse

Le parfum envoûtant du poisson fumé salé rayonne à toute heure de la Taverne à Ivy City Smokehouse, faisant cela Guide Michelin Bib Gourmand destinataire à visiter absolument. La délicieuse planche de poisson fumoir garnie de cinq poissons fumés différents, de deux bagels et de tout ce dont vous avez besoin est un favori de la foule que vous ne voulez pas manquer.

13

Pizza Sedgewick à la pizzeria polyvalente

Pour les amateurs de pizza, les emplacements All-Purpose Pizzeria à Shaw et Bord de la rivière du Capitole sont un rêve devenu réalité. L'équipe derrière The Red Hen et Boundary Stone a apporté son expertise en cuisine italo-américaine à ce concept qui ancre la scène de la pizza du district avec des tartes distinctives qui ne manqueront pas de teinter vos passions. Essayez le Sedgewick, une pizza blanche qui incorpore de la ricotta fouettée, du taleggio, de la mozzarella et du parmesan avec de la ciboulette et du miel de truffe.

14

Boudin Blanc chez Marcel de Robert Wiedmaier

De l'esprit du chef Robert Wiedmaier, cet établissement gastronomique est une expérience française de part en part. Le boudin blanc est un favori, à tel point qu'il est écrit comme "Marcel's Classic Boudin Blanc" sur le menu. La délicieuse saucisse blanche est servie avec une purée de saison, des oignons caramélisés et des lardons de bacon.

15

Le Gros Fromage au Cochon Fédéraliste

Entrer dans Cochon Fédéraliste in Adam Morgan et vous aurez l'impression d'avoir accès à la cuisine privée de quelqu'un. Le confort cède la place à certains des meilleurs barbecues de la ville, et The Big Cheese est un joyau de la couronne : du fromage fondu, des oignons croustillants et de la sauce barbecue sont moussés sur votre choix de porc haché ou de poitrine. Assurez-vous de faire le plein de sauces et d'accompagnements (nous adorons le macaroni au fromage au cheddar fumé!).
 

Toujours faim? Découvrez ces restaurants chauds à essayer maintenant pendant que vous dégustez et dînez à travers le District.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire

You are here

Best Dishes You Must Try at Washington, DC Restaurants

Nighttime patio dining at Le Diplomate on 14th Street - Stephen Starr Restaurant in Washington, DC

These essential DC restaurant dishes show off the incredible diversity of the District's dining scene.

As one of the country's top dining destinations, we want to show off the signature dishes and flavors at some of the city’s most popular restaurants. Of course, it’s hard to go wrong at many of these eateries, but if you’re a “what’s the dish I should try?” type of diner, we’ve got you covered.

A reminder: restaurant menus frequently change, so while these dishes are often featured, there’s no guarantee that they will be available on the night of your visit. Check with a server about the dish’s availability, or opt for another one of the restaurant’s tasty offerings.

The Best Restaurants and Places to Eat in Washington, DC

1 The Shyne at Call Your Mother

@arlington.dining - The Shyne bagel sandwich from Call Your Mother deli in Park View - Signature must-try dishes in Washington, DC

Call Your Mother, which bills itself as “a Jew-ish deli,” serves up the classics you know and love with a twist. The Shyne is one of the most popular sandwiches at this spot named to Bon Appétit's list of America's 50 best new restaurants for 2019. What makes The Shyne so good, you ask? Think a pillowy, layered “bodega-style” egg with melty American and cheddar cheese and your choice of bacon or pastrami, all drizzled with spicy honey and packed into an everything bagel.

2 Lychee Salad at Rose's Luxury

@triciawilla - Lychee Salad at Aaron Silverman's Rose's Luxury - Best dishes at DC Michelin Star restaurant

Named the best new restaurant in America by Bon Appétit in 2014 and also the recipient of a Michelin Star, Aaron Silverman’s Rose’s Luxury on Capitol Hill has plenty of ways to wow you. Diners have especially marveled at the lychee salad, a staple dish that has remained steadfast on an ever-changing menu. This dish featuring sweet lychees, pork sausage, red onion and peanuts is topped with a cool coconut cream and, like the restaurant itself, leaves quite the impression.

3 Mezzi Rigatoni at The Red Hen

@redhendc - Handmade Mezzi Rigatoni dish at The Red Hen - Signature restaurant dishes in Washington, DC

A woodfire-powered kitchen, bucolic decor and an Italian-infused menu have turned The Red Hen into one of the city’s most popular neighborhood restaurants. The mezzi rigatoni is a staple from the restaurant’s early days that wows with its delicious simplicity. Short, made-in-house rigatoni is paired with a fennel sausage ragu and topped with pecorino Romano for pure pasta perfection.

4 Fried Chicken at Maketto

@rudefoodpics - The famous fried chicken at Maketto on H Street NE - Must-try restaurant dishes in Washington, DC

The stylish Maketto on H Street NE features one of the city’s hottest dishes. Chef Erik Bruner-Yang takes on fried chicken with flair, turning it into a crispy Taiwanese platter that is both sweet and spicy (thanks to the kick of peppercorns). Served on top of French bread, the ensemble can feed two or three people, who will most likely sit in silence as they marvel at the dish’s flavor explosion.

5 Khachapuri at Compass Rose

Khatchapuri from Compass Rose Washington, DC

The neighborhood comfort of Compass Rose is reflected in its menu, sprinkled with international cuisine that can be served in a restaurant or on the street. The star of the show at this hot spot located one block from U Street is the khachapuri, a cheese-filled bread boat coated in an organic egg and butter, often served in Georgia. Pair this with any number of Georgian wines available and you’re officially transported.

6 Palak Chaat at Rasika West End

Palak Chaat at Vikram Sunderam's Rasika West End Indian restaurant - Dishes in DC you have to try

The highly acclaimed Rasika West End from James Beard Award-winning chef Vikram Sunderam is known for many dishes, but the savory palak chaat might be on another level. The dish stars crispy, flaky and crunch baby spinach, which is topped by a tamarind yogurt sauce and dates. Prepare for Indian-style cooking at its best.

7 Onion Soup Gratinée at Le Diplomate

@jbcevents - Onion soup gratinée at Stephen Starr's Le Diplomate on 14th Street - The best dishes in Washington, DC

This little slice of Paris from restaurateur Stephen Starr is a perennial, highly lauded favorite. Part brasserie, part cafe, part bistro, expect a laidback yet chic vibe at Le Diplomate. Just like in the City of Lights, “Le Dip” (as it’s known to locals) heaps generous portions of fromage brimming over the top of this soup you won’t soon forget.

8 Proper Burger™ at Duke’s Grocery

@dukesgrocery - The Proper Burger from Duke's Grocery - Where to get the best hamburger in Washington, DC

You can’t go wrong with the Proper Burger™ from Duke’s Grocery, a Dupont Circle mainstay with spinoffs in Foggy Bottom and Woodley Park. The burger that this London-inspired neighborhood pub churns out is so popular that they’ve trademarked the name. Two juicy beef patties on a fluffy brioche bun are slathered with melted gouda, charred red onion, a sweet chili sauce and garlic aioli. Dig in!

9 Spicy Shoyu Ramen at Haikan

@dcnomster - Spicy shoyu ramen from Haikan in Shaw - The best ramen spots in Washington, DC

If you haven’t tried Sapporo-style ramen, there’s no better time than now. Chef Katsuya Fukushima’s dazzling takes on ramen are on full display at Haikan in Shaw, which is related to uber-popular ramen counter Daikaya but traverses a terrain all its own. The spicy shoyu ramen is completed by chicken, beef and pork stock and comes with Japanese-imported noodles and all the fixin’s.

10 Lobster Gratin at Plume

@thejeffersondc - Lobster gratin at Michelin-starred Plume in the luxury Jefferson Hotel in Washington, DC

Guided by German-born chef Ralf Schlegel, Plume is the recipient of a coveted Michelin Star in DC’s Michelin Guide. It’s easy to understand why when you try the restaurant’s rendition of lobster gratin, a classic seafood dish brought to life by Schlegel and his crew. Lobster meat is accompanied by lobster bisque and lobster chips, as well as seasonal root vegetables. We're ready to dig in.

11 Mac and Cheese at The Smith

Macaroni and cheese at The Smith restaurants - Signature dishes in Washington, DC restaurants

With locations in Penn Quarter and on U Street, there are twice as many reasons to try this ooey, gooey and yes, cheesy, starter perfected by The Smith. The skillet-roasted specialty is a cheddar-Fontina-Gruyère-Parmigiano Reggiano powerhouse perfect for splitting (or make it a main if you don’t want to share). Be prepared to inundate your Instagram followers with boomerangs of stringy, cheesy goodness.

12 Lobster Roll at The Salt Line

@itsaliwant - Dinner at The Salt Line on the Capitol Riverfront - Popular seafood restaurant in Washington, DC

A visit to The Salt Line will transport you from the District to coastal New England, as chef Kyle Bailey’s seafood-centric eatery incorporates flavors from the Eastern seaboard like few other restaurants in the area. The lobster roll is a favorite at the Capitol Riverfront locale, served on a split top bun and garnished to your liking (we prefer it dressed in butter). You can’t go wrong with the raw bar here, either.

13 Smokehouse Fish Board from Ivy City Smokehouse

@eulabee.eats - Smoked fish board at Ivy City Smokehouse - The best places to eat in DC's Ivy City neighborhood

The tantalizing scent of savory smoked fish radiates at all hours from the Tavern at Ivy City Smokehouse, making this Michelin Guide Bib Gourmand recipient a must-visit. The delightful smokehouse fish board topped with five different smoked fishes, two bagels and everything else you need is a crowd favorite you don't want to miss.

14 Sedgewick Pizza at All-Purpose Pizzeria

@allpurposeshaw - Pizza dinner at All-Purpose in Shaw - Great restaurants in Washington, DC

For pizza lovers, All-Purpose Pizzeria’s locations in Shaw and Capitol Riverfront are a dream come true. The team behind The Red Hen and Boundary Stone brought their Italian-American cuisine expertise to this concept that anchors the District’s pizza scene with distinctive pies sure to tinge your passions. Try the Sedgewick, a white pizza that incorporates whipped ricotta, taleggio, mozzarella and parmesan cheeses with chives and truffle honey.

15 Roast Chicken at Kinship

Roast Chicken en Panade at Kinship - Michelin Starred Restaurant in Washington, DC

One of the city’s most spectacular culinary creatives for more than a decade, Eric Ziebold gets bold at the Michelin-starred Kinship. A whole roast chicken is stuffed with a lemony, garlicky panade and served alongside a frisée salad and a unique take on potatoes. This simple-yet-delightful dish tastes as excellent as it sounds.

16 Boudin Blanc at Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier
Boudin Blanc at Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier

From the mind of Chef Robert Wiedmaier, this fine dining establishment is a French experience through and through. The boudin blanc is a favorite, so much so that it’s written as "Marcel’s Classic Boudin Blanc" on the menu. The delicious white sausage is served with a seasonal puree, caramelized onions and lardons of bacon.

17 Barbacoa Tacos at Espita Mezcaleria

Authentic Mexican food from Espita Mezcaleria in Shaw - Where to get the best tacos in Washington, DC

Espita Mezcaleria serves Southern Mexican cuisine in the happening Shaw neighborhood, and, as you may be able to glean from its name, plenty of mezcal. Take the taste buds on quite the trip with the barbacoa tacos, which consist of slow-roasted lamb shoulder, salsa verde and onion. That flavor explosion goes hand in hand with a strong mezcal drink.

18 The Big Cheese at Federalist Pig

Signature Barbecue Sandwiches Federalist Pig - BBQ in Adams Morgan - Places to Eat in Washington, DC

Step into Federalist Pig in Adams Morgan and you will feel as if you’ve been granted access to someone’s private kitchen. The coziness gives way to some of the best barbecue in the city, and The Big Cheese is a crown jewel: melted cheese, crispy onions and barbecue sauce are lathered on top of your choice of chopped pork or brisket. Make sure to load up on sauces and sides (we love the smoked cheddar mac and cheese!).

Still hungry? Check out these hot restaurants to try now as you wine and dine your way through the District.

Dig in to the hottest and best new restaurants in Washington, DC