跳到主要內容
會議
搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索
搜索
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示

@ac_shrader

阿納科斯蒂亞公園輪滑運動員

在 DC 的 Anacostia 社區看和做的 13 件事



前往河流以東,探索這個充滿活力的街區的歷史和自然地標。

歷史悠久的河畔街區 阿納卡斯蒂亞 真的是一顆寶石。 有些人認為所有史密森學會博物館都住在國家廣場上,但阿納科斯蒂亞有自己的完全致力於社區概念的博物館。 弗雷德里克·道格拉斯 (Frederick Douglass) 可能是阿納卡斯蒂亞社區最著名的成員,在這里永垂不朽,他在雪松山 (Cedar Hill) 的家已被命名為國家註冊歷史遺址。 該社區還擁有無限的海濱自然美景,擁有野生動物、荷花、睡蓮和步行道。

01

在阿納卡斯蒂亞社區博物館了解哥倫比亞特區的歷史

當地藝術家和思想領袖在這座最近翻修過的博物館裡講述這個街區的故事。 如果您在任何一天碰巧遇到其中一位策展人,請不要感到驚訝。 史密森尼安納科斯蒂亞社區博物館 也定期舉辦電影、節日和活動。 乘坐地鐵的綠線到阿納科斯蒂亞,然後乘坐 W2 和 W3 地鐵到大樓。 在夏季,您可以從國家廣場乘坐免費周末班車(它也在弗雷德里克·道格拉斯國家歷史遺址和阿納科斯蒂亞藝術中心停靠)。

02

參觀弗雷德里克·道格拉斯 (Frederick Douglass) 的故鄉雪松山 (Cedar Hill)

Anacostia 是一個歷史悠久的黑人社區,與歷史上最著名的非裔美國人之一有聯繫。 出生於奴隸制並最終獲得自由的政治家弗雷德里克·道格拉斯 (Frederick Douglass) 走遍全國,反對奴隸制。 當他不旅行時,他住在山頂 雪松山 在他家,您可以全天遊覽。 計劃您的訪問 遊覽時間表 or 提前訂票 收取少量費用。 如果您不參加旅遊,您可以隨時從道格拉斯的家中欣賞到城市的全景。

03

在娛樂和體育競技場享受遊戲或表演

威爾在華盛頓特區的娛樂和體育競技場 - 音樂和體育場館表演

威爾在華盛頓特區的娛樂和體育競技場 - 音樂和體育場館表演

Anacostia 的最新、最奢華的補充是 娛樂和體育館,它將作為華盛頓神秘隊和首都 Go-Go 的主場,以及華盛頓奇才隊的練習場。 此外,最先進的舞台將舉辦音樂會。 檢查他們的 活動月曆 看看還有什麼在商店。

04

享受阿納科斯蒂亞藝術中心的場景

Anacostia 藝術中心外的白天場景 - DC Anacostia 社區的社區和藝術空間

Anacostia 藝術中心外的白天場景 - DC Anacostia 社區的社區和藝術空間

這個 社區空間 於 2013 年開業,設有黑匣子劇院、生動的解決方案畫廊和其他精品店和快閃店。 體驗前衛的藝術展覽,細讀古董店的貨架,或看看您可以品嚐哪些健康食品 藝術腎上腺素咖啡館. 請注意,Anacostia 藝術中心每週一關閉。

05

拿出手機拍一張大椅子的照片

建於 1959 年,作為長期關閉的柯蒂斯兄弟家具店的坐式廣告牌,站在大椅子的 19 英尺處。 此後經過翻新,可以說是附近最具標誌性的景點之一。 您可以在 Martin Luther King Jr. 大道和 V Street SE 的拐角處找到它的所有榮耀。

06

在阿納科斯蒂亞河節慶祝社區

如果您在四月左右訪問,您將不會想錯過 阿納卡斯蒂亞河節,這結束了為期三週的 全國櫻花節. 在那裡,享受附近的遊覽、藝術項目、現場音樂、釣魚工作坊和其他慶祝環境和地區的活動。

07

租一輛自行車,沿著河道騎行(或步行)

Anacostia 對自行車特別友好。 從那裡租一輛自行車 無限次騎車 or 首都自行車共享,然後乘坐 Frederick Douglass Memorial 或 11th Street 的橋樑到河的東側(這條路上的任何地方) 谷歌自行車地圖)。 蜿蜒穿過被青翠樹葉環繞的曲線,您會覺得自己擁有屬於自己的自然保護區。 自行車道一直延伸到 凱尼爾沃思公園和水上花園.

08

在凱尼爾沃思公園和花園呼吸新鮮空氣

在阿納科斯蒂亞東北約 XNUMX 英里處,你會發現 這個自然奇觀. 前來參觀,您可能會與攝影師、觀鳥者甚至遛狗者共享公園。 享受在 2 月下旬至 XNUMX 月間盛開的夏季鮮花。 早晨是觀賞著名的睡蓮和荷花的最佳時間。 對於野生動物,從 XNUMX 月到次年 XNUMX 月要注意觀察,因為此時缺少樹葉使得捕鳥更容易。 從阿納科斯蒂亞 (Anacostia) 到達那裡的最佳方式是通過 Uber 等拼車應用、騎自行車或乘坐 VXNUMX Metrobus。 否則,乘坐橙線到附近的迪恩伍德地鐵站。

09

參觀雕塑“Journey Anacostia”模仿藝術

旅程阿納卡斯蒂亞雕塑 - 在阿納科斯蒂亞看的東西 - 華盛頓特區

旅程阿納卡斯蒂亞雕塑 - 在阿納科斯蒂亞看的東西 - 華盛頓特區

這座藝術裝置位於 Good Hope Road 1201 號和 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue SE,與阿納卡斯蒂亞的多元化歷史和遺產相呼應。 這項工作的創建是為了“就阿納科斯蒂亞過去、現在和未來的相互聯繫建立對話”。 Wilfredo Valladares 創作了這件藝術作品,於 2013 年夏天揭幕。參觀雕塑“Journey Anacostia”模仿藝術。

10

在 Capitol Riverfront 租一艘皮划艇

阿納卡斯蒂亞河上的皮划艇運動員 - 華盛頓特區的戶外活動

阿納卡斯蒂亞河上的皮划艇運動員 - 華盛頓特區的戶外活動

想讓您對阿納科斯蒂亞的訪問嚴格按照航海方式進行嗎? 前往 棒球場船庫 在 Yards Park,租一艘皮划艇。 您可以按照自己的節奏沿著阿納卡斯蒂亞河的海岸線航行,享受大量的野生動物和自然風光。 如果您有自己的獨木舟、皮划艇或小船,您可以從 Anacostia Drive SE 北端的船坡道登上 Anacostia。

11

看看阿納卡斯蒂亞劇院的舞台上有什麼

主舞台上的製作 阿納卡斯蒂亞劇場 經常以當地劇作家和小型劇院公司的作品為特色。 該空間設在一個可容納多達 120 位客人的倉庫中,還舉辦音樂會和口語表演等表演。 該劇場距離 Anacostia 地鐵站僅 XNUMX 個街區。

12

在 MahoganyBooks 發現文學寶藏

桃花心木書 是一家獨立書店,致力於分享“為非洲僑民寫的、由他們或關於非洲僑民的文學作品”。 十多年前開始的僅在線商店已經發展成為阿納科斯蒂亞藝術中心內的全國知名實體店,舉辦以非裔美國作家為特色的社區圖書活動。 確保檢查 他們的博客 獲取最新更新和暢銷書。

13

在 Anacostia 公園穿上溜冰鞋

安納科斯蒂亞公園擁有所有其他國家公園都沒有的東西: 一個輪滑館. 在夏季遊覽公園時,體驗每英尺四輪的生活。 這種古老的消遣最好的部分是滑冰租賃是免費的! 查看滑冰時間,並考慮在周末的黃昏參觀,感受舞會般的氛圍,伴隨著放克和嘻哈音樂。

 

完成對阿納卡斯蒂亞的探索後,跳河過河,發現熱鬧的一切 國會大廈濱河街區.

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

12 Things to See & Do in Anacostia

Frederick Douglass National Historic Site

Venture east of the river and discover this vibrant neighborhood and some natural landmarks

The historic riverside neighborhood of Anacostia is truly a gem. Some people think all Smithsonian Institution museums live on the National Mall, but Anacostia has its own completely dedicated to the concept of community. Perhaps the most famous member of the Anacostia community, Frederick Douglass is immortalized in Anacostia, where his home at Cedar Hill has been named a registered national historic site. The neighborhood also has boundless natural beauty along its waterfront, featuring wildlife, lotuses, water lilies and walking trails.

1 Learn about DC history at the Anacostia Community Museum
Learn about DC history at the Anacostia Community Museum

Local artists and thought leaders tell the story of the neighborhood at this museum. Don't be surprised if you happen to meet one of the curators on any given day. Smithsonian’s Anacostia Community Museum regularly hosts films, festivals and events, too. Take Metro’s Green Line to Anacostia and ride the W2 and W3 Metrobus to the building. In summertime, ride the free weekend shuttle there from the National Mall (it also stops at Frederick Douglass National Historic Site and the Anacostia Art Center).

2 Take a tour of Cedar Hill, the home of Frederick Douglass
Take a tour of Cedar Hill, the home of Frederick Douglass Frederick Douglass National Historic Site

Anacostia is a historically black community with ties to one of the most prominent African Americans in history. Born into slavery and eventually freed, statesman Frederick Douglass traveled the nation to speak out against slavery. When he wasn’t traveling he was residing atop Cedar Hill at his home, which you can tour throughout the day. Plan your visit with the tour schedule or order tickets in advance for a small fee. If you don’t get in for a tour, you can always marvel at the panoramic views of the city from Douglass’ home.

3 Enjoy the scene at the Anacostia Arts Center
Enjoy the scene at the Anacostia Arts Center Anacostia Arts Center

This community space opened in 2013 and features Black Box Theater, Vivid Solutions Gallery and other boutique and pop-up spaces. Experience an edgy art exhibit, peruse the racks of a vintage shop or see what healthful eats you can munch on from The Art-drenaline Café. The Anacostia Arts Center is closed on Mondays.

4 Pay tribute to Anacostia’s roots at Uniontown Bar & Grill
Pay tribute to Anacostia’s roots at Uniontown Bar & Grill Uniontown Bar & Grill

Before it was called Anacostia, this District subdivision was known as Uniontown. The name lives on at the Uniontown Bar & Grill, where the Southeast set goes for fried catfish sandwiches, chicken and waffles and the robust house Angus burger.

5 Get your phone out and snap a pic of the Big Chair
Get your phone out and snap a pic of the Big Chair

Built in 1959 as a sitting billboard to the long-closed Curtis Brothers Furniture store stands all 19 feet of the Big Chair. It has since been refurbished and is arguably one of the most iconic sights in the neighborhood. You can find it in all its glory standing on the corner of Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue and V Street SE.

6 Celebrate the community at the Anacostia River Festival
Celebrate the community at the Anacostia River Festival 11th Street Bridge Park

If you’re visiting around April, you won’t want to miss the Anacostia River Festival, which caps off the three-week-long National Cherry Blossom Festival. Be there and enjoy tours through the neighborhood, art projects, live music, fishing workshops and other events celebrating the environment and area.

7 Rent a bike and ride (or walk) along the river trails
Rent a bike and ride (or walk) along the river trails District Department of Transportation

Anacostia is especially bike-friendly. Rent a bike from Bike and Roll or Capital Bikeshare, and take either the Frederick Douglass Memorial or 11th Street bridges to the east side of the river (anywhere on this Google Bike Map). Wind through curves surrounded by verdant foliage, and you’ll feel like you have your very own nature preserve to yourself. The bike trail runs all the way to Kenilworth Park & Aquatic Gardens.

8 Catch some fresh air at Kenilworth Park & Gardens
Catch some fresh air at Kenilworth Park & Gardens Adam Fagen

About five miles northeast of Anacostia, you’ll find the natural wonder of DC. Come for a visit, and you’ll likely share the park with photographers, birders and even dog-walkers. Enjoy summer flowers, which bloom between late May through September. Mornings are the best times to see the famed water lilies and lotuses. For wildlife, be on the lookout from October through March, when lack of foliage makes birding for bald eagles easier. From Anacostia, the best way to get there is via a rideshare app like Uber, on bike or on the V2 Metrobus. Otherwise, take the Orange Line to the nearby Deanwood Metro station.

9 Imitate art by visiting the sculpture "Journey Anacostia"
Imitate art by visiting the sculpture "Journey Anacostia" Wilfredo Valladares

Located at 1201 Good Hope Road and Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue SE, this art installation echoes Anacostia’s diverse history and heritage.  The work was created to “establish a dialogue on the interconnection of the past, present and future of Anacostia.” Wilfredo Valladares created the work of art, which was unveiled in the summer of 2013.Imitate art by visiting the sculpture "Journey Anacostia."

10 Rent a kayak in Capitol Riverfront
Rent a kayak in Capitol Riverfront

Want to keep your visit to Anacostia strictly nautical? Head to the Ballpark Boathouse in Yards Park, and rent a kayak. You can cruise along the shoreline of the Anacostia River at your own pace and enjoy plenty of wildlife and nature. If you have your own canoe, kayak or boat, you can embark on the Anacostia from the boat ramp at the north end of Anacostia Drive SE.

11 See what’s on stage at the Anacostia Playhouse
See what’s on stage at the Anacostia Playhouse Anacostia Playhouse

Productions on the main stage at the Anacostia Playhouse often feature the work of local playwrights and small theater companies. Set in a warehouse that can accommodate as many as 120 guests.  The space also hosts concerts and spoken word, among other performances. The playhouse is only five blocks from the Anacostia Metro stop.

12 Lace up some roller skates at Anacostia Park

Anacostia Park has something that all of its fellow National Parks don’t: a roller skating pavilion. Experience life on four wheels per foot, when visiting the park in summer. The best part about this old pastime is that skate rentals are free! Check to see skate times and consider visiting at dusk on the weekends for a dance party-like atmosphere complete with funk and hip-hop tunes. If you want to ice skate, consider checking out these amazing places to ice skate in DC.

Once you're done exploring Anacostia, hop across the river and discover all that's happening in the lively Capitol Riverfront neighborhood.