跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
岩溪公園橋

岩溪公園必做的 10 件事



在該地區的城市綠洲遠足、跑步、野餐等等。

岩溪公園由美國國會於 1890 年成立,是美國首都的休閒資源。 這 1,700 英畝的土地穿過華盛頓特區西北部的大片土地,為人類和野生動物提供了避風港。 繁華都市中的一片綠洲, 岩溪公園 由硬木樹、沸騰的小溪和岩石露頭組成。 但坐落在公園內的令人興奮的活動可以列入您的必做清單。 以下是您可以在 Rock Creek Park 找到的一些我們最喜歡的東西。

01

享受公園的小徑

Rock Creek Park 跑步者 - 華盛頓特區及周邊地區的戶外活動

Rock Creek Park 跑步者 - 華盛頓特區及周邊地區的戶外活動

岩溪公園的瀝青 步道 大部分是平坦的,允許騎自行車的人、跑步者、旱冰者和徒步旅行者在遇到另一條道路或汽車之前長途跋涉。 週末,Rock Creek Park 的部分地區禁止汽車通行,使其成為鍛煉身體和逃離城市環境的健康場所。

02

從馬背上陶醉於大自然

您不會相信自己是在城市中心騎馬,但 Rock Creek 的馬術小徑蜿蜒穿過橡樹、山毛櫸、雪松和山茱萸樹林。 岩溪馬匹中心 位於軍事路以南,再往北是 梅多布魯克馬厩 在地區線的 Chevy Chase 附近。

03

在史密森國家動物園狂野

熊貓吃竹子

Rock Creek Park 與指定的財產接壤 史密森尼國家動物園. 廣受歡迎的動物園有兩個入口,裡面有美國第一批大熊貓。 入場免費,但需支付停車費。 主入口位於西北康涅狄格大道,另一個可從公園內的 Rock Creek 和 Potomac Parkway 進入。

04

檢查皮爾斯磨坊內的機器

皮爾斯·米爾 是唯一一家由國家公園管理局經營的 19 世紀磨坊。 1829 年,一位貴格會農民建造了這座石頭結構來加工穀物,後來在內戰期間,它被改造成鋸木廠和果園。 1918 年,Peirce Mill 成為茶館; 今天,它已成為歷史性地標。

05

在家庭友好的環境中了解大自然

拿起地圖,看看當地植物的展品 岩溪公園的自然中心. 兒童探索室舉辦教育遊戲和活動,裡面有活魚、蛇、海龜和蜂巢。 步行從自然中心開始的適合家庭的半英里步道。 讓孩子們記住他們的訪問並激勵他們覆蓋更多領域的另一種有趣方式是拿起一個 “護照” 在自然中心。 當您的孩子訪問各個網站時,他或她可以在護照上蓋章。

06

嘗試室內觀星

岩溪公園天文館 使用特殊軟件將夜空圖像投影到圓頂形天花板上。 公園巡遊者在免費節目中討論天文學、太陽系、銀河系及其他領域。 門票可在隔壁的自然中心購買。 孩子必須年滿五歲才能參加。

07

與公園護林員一起漫步小徑

喜歡了解自然世界的遊客將享受 季節性步行 與國家公園護林員。 環保倡導者可能希望加入清理工作,以清除公園內的入侵物種。 岩溪保護區.

08

打包野餐

岩溪公園 - 戶外活動和活動 - 華盛頓特區

岩溪公園 - 戶外活動和活動 - 華盛頓特區

前往眾多目的地之一 野餐地點 岩溪公園內。 一些網站有燒烤、野餐桌或被涼亭覆蓋。 如果找不到官方野餐地點,也沒關係,帶上毯子,找個風景優美的地方看小溪滾滾而來。

09

踏著安倍老實的腳步

站在亞伯拉罕·林肯總統巡迴演出的地方 史蒂文斯堡 內戰期間。 當他與聯邦軍隊會面時,史蒂文斯堡遭到了敵人的砲火攻擊。 今天,有一塊花崗岩巨石標誌著這一事件。

10

打網球或高爾夫球

岩溪公園是 岩溪網球中心,位於第 16 街和肯尼迪街。 球場全年開放,打球費用從每小時 12 美元到 20 美元不等。 或者,如果您更喜歡打高爾夫球,可以在高爾夫球場打 18 洞 岩溪高爾夫球場. 具有挑戰性的公共球場有海拔變化、茂密的樹林和狹窄的球道,對於初學者和有經驗的球員來說都很有趣。

 

探索完岩溪公園後,看看這些 免費戶外活動 在華盛頓特區。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

11 Things to Do in Rock Creek Park

Rock Creek Park - Outdoor Activities & Things to Do - Washington, DC

Hike, run, picnic and more in the District's urban oasis.

Rock Creek Park was founded in 1890 by the United States Congress as a recreational resource for the nation’s capital. These 1,800 acres cut a wide swath through Northwest Washington DC, providing a haven for people and wildlife. An oasis in a bustling city, most of Rock Creek Park consists of hardwood trees, a boiling brook, and rocky outcrops. But nestled inside the park are exciting activities to put on your must-do list. Here are some of our favorite things you can find in Rock Creek Park.

1 Enjoy the park's trails
Enjoy the park's trails

Rock Creek Park’s asphalt trails are mostly flat and allow bikers, runners, rollerbladers and hikers to travel for a great distance before encountering another road or car. On weekends, parts of Rock Creek Park are closed to automobiles, making it a healthy place to exercise and escape from the urban environment.

2 Revel in nature from horseback
Revel in nature from horseback Andre Chinn

You won’t believe you’re riding a horse in the middle of a city, but Rock Creek’s equestrian trails wind through groves of oaks, beech, cedars and dogwood trees. Rock Creek Horse Center is located south of Military Road and further north is Meadowbrook Stables near Chevy Chase at the District Line.

3 Take in live music & entertainment
Take in live music & entertainment Citi Open

The Carter Barron Amphitheatre is a 4,200 seat multi-use outdoor venue that houses plays, concerts, festivals and a popular Citi Open tennis tournament each July. Located east of Rock Creek, it’s accessible from 16th Street NW. Check the website for programs and events.  

4 Get wild at the Smithsonian National Zoo

Flamingos at the Smithsonian National Zoo - Things to Do in Washington, DC

Rock Creek Park borders the property designated for the Smithsonian National Zoo. There are two entrances to the wildly-popular zoo that houses America’s first pandas. Entry is free although there is a parking charge. The main entrance is on Connecticut Avenue, NW and the other is accessed from inside the park on the Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway.

5 Check out the machinery inside Peirce Mill

Peirce Mill in Peirce Mill Park Washington DC

Peirce Mill is the only 19th century gristmill operated by the National Park Service. A Quaker farmer built the stone structure in 1829 to process grain, and later, during the Civil War, it was transformed into a sawmill and orchard. In 1918, Peirce Mill became a Tea House; today it serves as a historic landmark.

6 Learn about nature in a family friendly environment

A photo posted by Liz Laribee (@lizlaribee) on

Pick up maps and see exhibits on native plants at the Nature Center in Rock Creek Park. The Children’s Discovery Room hosts educational games and activities, and houses live fish, snakes, turtles and a bee hive. Walk the family friendly half-mile trail that starts at the Nature Center. Another fun way for kids to remember their visit, and motivate them to cover more territory, is by picking up a “passport” at the Nature Center. When your child visits the various sites, he or she can add stamps to their passport.

7 Try indoor stargazing

The Rock Creek Park Planetarium uses special software to project an image of the night sky onto a dome-shaped ceiling. Park Rangers discuss astronomy, the solar system, the galaxy and beyond during the free program. Tickets are available at the Nature Center next door. Kids must be five years or older to participate.

8 Stroll the trails with a Park Ranger
Stroll the trails with a Park Ranger

Visitors who love learning about the natural world will enjoy a seasonal walk with a National Park Ranger. Environmental advocates might want to join in the clean-up efforts to rid the park of invasive species led by the Rock Creek Conservancy.

9 Pack a picnic

Rock Creek Park - Outdoor Activities & Things to Do - Washington, DC

Head to one of the many picnic sites within Rock Creek Park. Some sites have barbeques, picnic tables or are covered by a pavilion. If you can’t find an official picnic site, no matter, just take a blanket and find a scenic place to watch the creek roll by.

10 Walk in the footsteps of Honest Abe

Fort Stevens - Historic Sites in Washington, DC

Stand where President Abraham Lincoln did when he was touring Fort Stevens during the Civil War. While he met with the Union troops, Fort Stevens came under enemy fire. Today, there’s a granite boulder marking the event.

11 Play tennis or golf
Play tennis or golf Rock Creek Golf Course

Rock Creek Park is home to the Rock Creek Tennis Center, located at 16th and Kennedy streets. The courts are open year-round and the fee to play ranges from $12 - $20 per hour. Or if you prefer golf, play 18 holes at the Rock Creek Golf Course. The challenging public course has elevation changes, dense woods, and narrow fairways, making it fun for both beginners and experienced players.

The 2,100 acres that make up Rock Creek Park remain a beautifully preserved habitat for wildlife, undeveloped land with miles of trails to explore; and recreational activities that are either free or very inexpensive. Just walking through Rock Creek Park is a soothing and inspiring experience, providing a refreshing contrast from the bustling city that surrounds it.

Once you're done exploring Rock Creek Park, check out these free outdoor activities in Washington, DC.