跳到主要內容
會議
搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索 搜索
搜索
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
我心U街壁畫

在 U 街上看和做的 10 件事



學區的 U 街街區色彩繽紛,歷史悠久 - 這座城市的不夜城,到處都是不拘一格的美食選擇、深夜舞蹈和豐富的文化。

U街 曾經是華盛頓特區真正的黑人文化中心,以無與倫比的音樂和夜生活吸引當地人和遊客。 近年來,該社區已經捲土重來,充滿了各種景點和餐飲選擇。 查看在這個正在發生的“引擎蓋”中要做的所有事情。

01

在 Kyirisan 廚師 Tim Ma 吃的地方吃

 

與主廚 Tim Ma 共度一天 麒麟山 當他路過 U 街走廊上幾個他最喜歡的地方時。 激發你的食慾並調整到這個 廚師菜 DC 美食家冒險 當馬在品嚐全球街頭美食時 羅盤玫瑰 並在 Columbia Room 啜飲創意雞尾酒。

02

Groove 到現場音樂

從地下 U街音樂廳 到寬敞的 9:30俱樂部,U 街上到處都是現場音樂。 聽爵士樂或吃福音式早午餐 歷史悠久的霍華德劇院,深入了解時髦的 ska 樂隊、歐洲進口的 DJ、EDM 組合等等。

03

在當地農貿市場享用新鮮農產品

儘管 U 街上散佈著一流且價格實惠的餐廳,但我們建議您早起並仔細閱讀 14&U農貿市場 分佈在 14 街和 U 街的西北角(眾多街道之一) 華盛頓特區的大型農貿市場)。 附近卡車的種植者種植生機勃勃的蔬菜、乳製品、肉類和其他食品。 它於 9 月至 1 月的周六上午 XNUMX 點至下午 XNUMX 點開放,是了解當地人(人和農產品)的好方法。 

04

看看北美最長的瀑布噴泉

Meridian Hill Park 位於 U 街以北幾個街區,是該地區最大的公共公園。 設計靈感來自意大利花園,配有 XNUMX 個盆地級聯噴泉,比您在歐洲大陸上找到的任何噴泉都要長。 每週日下午和晚上都會形成一個獨特的、社區主導的鼓圈,而團體則可以踢足球、野餐和享受陽光。 當地人經常用它的別名來稱呼它:Malcolm X Park。

05

在 Ben's Chili Bowl 品嚐標誌性的半煙

Ben's Chili Bowl - U 街的餐飲場所 - 華盛頓特區

Ben's Chili Bowl - U 街的餐飲場所 - 華盛頓特區

說到歷史:沒有什麼比停留更能同時說明“文化”和“美味”了 本的辣椒碗. 自 1958 年開業以來,它一直為社區服務。當地人、總統和名人蜂擁而至,在原來的凳子、攤位和富美家櫃檯為它服務。 招牌菜:傳統DC半煙 被辣椒悶死了。 營業時間很早也很晚,現在提供多個地點,其中一個位於里根國家機場。

06

前往“小埃塞俄比亞”享受獨特的美食體驗

在其眾多綽號中,U 街也曾因遍布街道的一系列餐廳而被稱為“小埃塞俄比亞”。 許多埃塞俄比亞餐館後來搬到馬里蘭州銀泉市和弗吉尼亞州亞歷山大市,但仍有幾家歷史悠久的餐館向非洲之角地區致敬,例如 杜克姆餐廳. 去那裡尋找有趣的香料、鮮豔的色彩和一種叫做 injera 的海綿麵包,所有這些都是你用手吃的。

07

出售非凡發現的古董店

如果您已經光顧全國零售商或喜歡四處逛逛,可以在 U 街兩旁的眾多古董店和二手店中閒逛。 您可以在時髦、另類的場所找到從連衣裙到梳妝台再到 T 恤和茶几的所有商品,例如 交界 和 好木.

08

在非裔美國人內戰紀念館和博物館了解歷史

非裔美國人內戰紀念雕像

這座重要的紀念碑隱藏在顯眼的位置,就在 U 街地鐵站出口處。 青銅器 雕像和相關博物館 就在街對面,孩子們可以在那裡試穿內戰服裝,紀念 200,000 多名在內戰期間為聯邦而戰的非裔美國士兵。 紀念碑被放置在這裡是為了紀念這個社區是該市非裔美國人文化的中心。

09

在街頭壁畫前自拍

 

God Fearing (@gambriel22) 發布的照片 on

當然,它的博物館數量可能比該國任何城市都多,但您也可以在華盛頓的街道上找到藝術品。 由此 菲利普斯收藏- 在 905 U Street NW 到 Ben's Chili Bowl 一側的委託工作,您會在整個城市找到街頭壁畫。

10

來個歡樂時光

馬文屋頂華盛頓特區

馬文屋頂華盛頓特區

在這條獨一無二的街道上度過了漫長的一天后,按照 DC 朝九晚五的安排,在歡樂時光放鬆一下。 這裡的許多餐廳和酒吧從下午 9 點開始提供食物和飲料的超值優惠。 花一分鐘放鬆一下。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

You are here

10 Things to See & Do On U Street

@amandaeisner - Washington, DC Skyline from U Street

The District's U Street neighborhood is both colorful and historic – the part of the city that never sleeps, full of eclectic food options, late-night dancing and rich culture.

U Street was once truly the heart of black culture in Washington, DC, attracting locals and visitors for an unparalleled music and nightlife scene. The neighborhood has experienced a comeback in recent years, and is full of diverse attractions and dining options. Check out all there is to do in this happening 'hood.

1 Eat where Kyirisan chef Tim Ma Eats

Spend the day with chef Tim Ma of Kyirisan as he drops by a few of his favorite spots on the U Street Corridor. Stoke your appetite and tune in to this Chefs Dish DC foodie adventure as Ma samples global street food at Compass Rose and bites into braised short ribs at District Distilling Co., the first distillery-restaurant hybrid in the nation's capital.

2 Groove to live music

30 Club Washington DC - Credit Lisa A. Walker

From the underground U Street Music Hall to the spacious 9:30 Club, live music abounds on U Street. Catch jazz or eat brunch gospel-style at the historic Howard Theatre, get down to funky ska bands, European-imported DJs, EDM sets, and so much more.

3 Enjoy farm-fresh produce at a local farmers' market
Enjoy farm-fresh produce at a local farmers' market Bossi via Flickr

Though fantastic and affordable restaurants are sprinkled throughout U Street, we recommend waking up early and perusing the 14&U Farmers’ Market spread out at the northwest corner of 14th and U streets (one of the many great farmers' markets in DC). Growers from nearby truck in vibrant vegetables, dairy, meat and other edibles. It’s open Saturday mornings, 9 a.m.-1 p.m., from May to November, and is great way to get to know the locals (both people and produce). 

4 Check out the longest cascading fountain in North America

Meridian Hill Park - Public parks and gardens in Washington, DC

Situated a couple blocks north of U Street, Meridian Hill Park is the largest public park in this part of town. The design inspiration comes from an Italian garden, complete with a thirteen basin cascading fountain that's longer than any you'll find on the continent. A unique, community-led drum circle forms every Sunday afternoon and evening, while groups play soccer, have picnics and simply enjoy the sun. Locals often refer to it by its alias: Malcolm X Park.

5 Sample the signature half-smoke at Ben’s Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl - Places to Eat on U Street - Washington, DC

Speaking of history: nothing says both “culture” and “delicious” like a stop at Ben’s Chili Bowl. It’s been continuously serving the community since opening in 1958. Locals, presidents and celebrities have flocked inside for service at the original stools, booths and Formica counter for its signature dish: the traditional DC half-smoke smothered in chili. It’s open early and very late, and now offers multiple locations, including one at Reagan National Airport.

6 Travel to "Little Ethiopia" for a unique culinary experience
 

A post shared by We The People DC (@wethepeopledc) on

Among its many nicknames, U Street was also once known as “Little Ethiopia” for a stretch of restaurants that dotted the street. Many Ethiopian eateries have since moved to Silver Spring, Md. and Alexandria, Va., but there are still a couple time-honored eateries that pay tribute to the Horn of Africa region, like Dukem Restaurant. Go there for intriguing spices, bright colors and a spongy bread called injera, all of which you eat with your hands.

7 Vintage shop for exceptional finds

GoodWood - Vintage shopping on U Street in Washington, DC

If you’ve already hit the national retailers or are prefer to hunt around, wander through the many vintage and secondhand shops lining U Street. You’ll find everything from dresses to dressers to tees and end tables at funky, offbeat establishments like Junction and GoodWood.

8 Learn about history at the African American Civil War Memorial and Museum

African American Civil War Memorial Statue

This important memorial is hidden in plain sight, right at the U Street Metro stop exit. The bronze statue and related museum just across the street, where kids can try on Civil War attire and commemorate the more than 200,000 African American soldiers who fought for the Union during the Civil War. The memorial was placed here in honor of this neighborhood being a heart of African American culture in the city.

9 Snap a selfie by street murals
 

A photo posted by God Fearing (@gambriel22) on

Sure it may have more museums than any city in the country, but you can also find art on the streets in DC. From this Phillips Collection-commissioned work on 905 U Street NW to the side of Ben’s Chili Bowl, you’ll find street murals throughout the city.

10 Hit up happy hour

Marvin Rooftop Washington, DC

After a long day of taking in this one-of-a-kind street, do as DC’s 9-to-5 set does and unwind at a happy hour. The many restaurants and bars here offer fantastic deals starting at 5 p.m. on food and drinks. Take a minute to relax.

Looking for more things to do on U Street? Check out this buzzy neighborhood's unparalleled music and nightlife scene.