Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol
Familie außerhalb des National Museum of African American History and Culture

Kostenlose Aktivitäten: Geschichte und Kultur der Afroamerikaner in Washington, DC



In DC erwartet Sie eine faszinierende afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur, vom Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture bis zum Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial und vielem mehr.

Die afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Erlebens von Washington, DC. Die Stadt, in der der Marsch auf Washington stattfand, und Martin Luther King, Jr.s Rede „I Have A Dream“ bietet zahlreiche andere frei zugängliche Websites, die Ihnen helfen, die afroamerikanische Erfahrung zu entdecken, darunter das Smithsonian National Museum of African Amerikanische Geschichte und Kultur, das ehemalige Wohnhaus von Frederick Douglass und viele mehr Websites. Lesen Sie weiter und entdecken Sie einige unserer Favoriten.

01

Besuchen Sie das Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture


Die Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture liegt an der Nationale Mall neben dem Washington Monument. Das Museum zeigt den Reichtum und die Vielfalt der afroamerikanischen Erfahrung mit der Mission, einen Dialog über Rassen zu fördern und Heilung zu inspirieren. Bitte beachten Sie, dass das Museum derzeit geschlossen ist; besuchen Sie es Website  für die neuesten Informationen.

02

Stehen Sie neben Martin Luther King, Jr.

Das vier Hektar große, halbmondförmige Gelände im West Potomac Park im Tidal Basin wurde für die Martin Luther King Jr., Gedenkstätte. Präsident Obama hat das Denkmal am 16. Oktober 2011 eingeweiht. Die beiden Berge stellen den „Berg der Verzweiflung“ dar, der nach „Hoffnung aus Verzweiflung“ greift, während der Raum in der Mitte die Distanz zwischen ihnen symbolisiert. Das Denkmal ist einer der Höhepunkte der Nationale Mall.

03

Gedenken an den Tag der Emanzipation am 16. April

2016 Emanzipation Day Parade in Washington, DC


Die Hauptstadt war während des Bürgerkriegs eine Dichotomie. Sklavenhändler kauften und verkauften noch immer Sklaven in der Stadt, während Abolitionisten in der Gemeinde erbittert gegen die Sklaverei kämpften. Der Kongress erließ den DC Compensated Emancipation Act im April 1862, neun Monate bevor Lincoln seine Emanzipationsproklamation machte. Es war ein rechtlicher und symbolischer Akt, der die Sklaverei in DC offiziell beendete und schließlich zum nationalen Dekret führte. Washingtonians sowie die Regierung des District of Columbia feiern Emanzipationstag jedes Jahr mit einer Parade, Live-Musik, Essen und Feuerwerk.

04

Besichtigen Sie das Denkmal und das Museum des afroamerikanischen Bürgerkriegs

Während des Bürgerkriegs waren mehr als 10 Prozent der Soldaten der Unionsarmee Afroamerikaner. Da ihre Beiträge zuvor nicht ordnungsgemäß anerkannt worden waren, Afroamerikanisches Bürgerkriegsdenkmal wurde 1998 im historischen U-Straße Nachbarschaft. Der begleitende Museum wurde 2011 an seinem festen Standort im Grimke-Haus eröffnet. Archibald Grimke wurde als Sklave geboren, war aber der zweite Afroamerikaner, der seinen Abschluss an der Harvard Law School machte.

05

Fahren Sie östlich des Anacostia River zur Heimat von Frederick Douglass

Der berühmte Abolitionist Frederick Douglass wurde in die Sklaverei hineingeboren, aber nachdem er weggelaufen war, wurde er ein ausgesprochener Fürsprecher, der das Ohr der amerikanischen Führer hatte. Während des Bürgerkriegs ermutigte Douglass Präsident Lincoln, den Idealen der Unabhängigkeitserklärung gerecht zu werden. Jahre später kaufte Douglass sein geliebtes Haus, Zedernhügel in Anakostie, und lebte dort bis zu seinem Tod. Die Site wurde wiedereröffnet; besuchen Sie es Website für die neuesten Informationen.

06

Entdecken Sie die "I Have a Dream"-Stufen am Lincoln Memorial

Auf den Stufen des lines sind fünf Linien eingraviert Lincoln Memorial wo Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. seine „I Have a Dream Speech“ gehalten hat. Wenn Sie die Wörter nicht verstehen können, möchten Sie vielleicht etwas Wasser über den Stein gießen, um den Text besser lesen zu können. Die kraftvollen Linien verflechten Dr. King und Präsident Lincoln, zwei wichtige Persönlichkeiten in der Geschichte der Bürgerrechte.

07

Besuchen Sie den Benjamin-Banneker-Gedächtnispark am L'Enfant Plaza

Benjamin Banneker war autodidaktischer Astronom, Landwirt, Mathematiker und Stadtplaner. Im Jahr 1791 half Banneker als freier Mann buchstäblich bei der Gestaltung des Distrikts, indem er mit Major Andrew Ellicott zusammenarbeitete, um die Grenzen der zukünftigen Hauptstadt der Nation zu vermessen. Benjamin-Banneker-Gedenkpark, ein Liebling der Landschaftsarchitekten, huldigt dem Vermesser.

08

Hommage an Ikonen auf dem Howard Theatre Walk of Fame

Der Howard Theatre Walk of Fame ist der erste seiner Art im Distrikt, eine beeindruckende Hommage an afroamerikanische Ikonen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Erstreckt sich vom 1900er Block der 7th Street NW bis zum Howard Theater Eingang in der T Street NW, der Spaziergang zeigt seine Ehrengäste in Bronzemedaillons mit handgeformten Flachreliefporträts, die in den Bürgersteig eingebettet sind. Sogar gewisse architektonische Details der Theaterfassade spiegeln sich in den Medaillons wieder. Während Ihres Spaziergangs werden Sie die unglaubliche Vielfalt an geehrten Musikern bemerken, darunter Ella Fitzgerald, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Chuck Brown und Mamie Smith. Jeder von ihnen trat im Howard Theatre auf und trug dazu bei, das wichtige Erbe zu etablieren, das der Veranstaltungsort heute hält.

09

Genießen Sie kostenlose Auftritte während des DCJazzFest

Die DCJazzfest findet jeden Sommer an Veranstaltungsorten in der ganzen Stadt statt. Das Festival bietet zahlreiche Programme, darunter kostenlose Aufführungen und Wettbewerbe. Das Wochenende ist gefüllt mit Musik und Aktivitäten, die die ganze Familie genießen kann. Schaut unbedingt beim Festival vorbei Website für alle anderen kostenlosen Gelegenheiten sowie Zeitpläne und Aufstellungen für die nächste stadtweite Veranstaltung.

10

Machen Sie eine Führung durch das Mary McLeod Bethune Council House

In der Nähe gelegen Logan-Kreis, die Mary McLeod Bethune Ratshaus ist die Heimat des Organisators und nationalen politischen Führers, der den National Council of Negro Women gegründet hat. Ihr Zuhause ist heute eine National Historic Site, in der Dolmetscher Geschichten über ihr Leben und ihr Vermächtnis erzählen. Obwohl das Haus derzeit aufgrund von COVID-19 geschlossen ist, informieren Sie sich auf seiner Website über die neuesten Updates. Die typischen Öffnungszeiten sind Donnerstag bis Samstag von 9 bis 5 Uhr. Quer durch die Stadt in Capitol Hill, Sie können auch a . besuchen Statue zu Ehren von Mary McLeod Bethune.

11

Schauen Sie sich das Wandbild von Ben's Chili Bowl an

Bens Chili Bowl ist eine DC-Institution. Das Gerät an U-Straße ist berühmt für sein Essen, insbesondere für den Halbrauch, aber es hat auch ein charakteristisches Wandbild an seiner Fassade, das kürzlich aktualisiert wurde. Dieses Stück enthält sowohl lokale als auch nationale afroamerikanische Ikonen, darunter die Obamas, Prince, Wale, Chuck Brown, Muhammad Ali und viele mehr.

 

Auf der Suche nach mehr kostenlosen in DC? Schau dir noch mehr an kostenlose und historische Dinge zu tun im DC.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

Free Things to Do: African American History & Culture in Washington, DC

Free African American History and Culture Experiences in Washington, DC - Contemplative Court inside the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

Fascinating African American history and culture awaits in DC, from the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial and so much more.

African American history and culture is an essential part of experiencing Washington, DC. The city that hosted the March on Washington and Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have A Dream” speech features a memorial dedicated to King, as well as numerous other free-to-experience sites that help you to discover the African American experience, including the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, the former home of Frederick Douglass and many more sites. Read on and explore some of our favorites.

1 Visit the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

@jessipatel - Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture and the Washington Monument - Free Smithsonian Museum in Washington, DC

The Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture is located on the National Mall adjacent to the Washington Monument. The museum exhibits the richness and diversity of the African American experience, with a mission of promoting a dialogue on race and inspiring healing. Make sure to secure your timed passes for the National Mall’s newest museum.

2 Stand beside Martin Luther King, Jr.
Stand beside Martin Luther King, Jr. Geoff Livingston

The four-acre crescent shaped site in West Potomac Park on the Tidal Basin was selected for the Martin Luther King Jr., Memorial. President Obama dedicated the memorial on Oct. 16, 2011. The two mountains represent the “Mountain of Despair” reaching for “Hope from Despair,” while the space in the middle symbolizes the distance between them. The memorial is one of the highlights of the National Mall.

Free Things to Do in Washington, DC - Discover free events, museums, tours, attractions and more

3 Commemorate Emancipation Day on April 16

2016 Emancipation Day Parade in Washington, DC

The capital city was a dichotomy during the Civil War. Slave traders still bought and sold slaves in the city, while abolitionists in the community fought fiercely against slavery. Congress issued the DC Compensated Emancipation Act in April of 1862, nine months before Lincoln made his Emancipation Proclamation. It was a legal and symbolic act that officially ended slavery in DC and led to the eventual national decree. Washingtonians, as well as the District of Columbia government, celebrate Emancipation Day each year with a parade, live music, food and fireworks.

4 Tour the African American Civil War Memorial and Museum

Children at African American Civil War Memorial and Museum - Museum and Memorial in Washington, DC

During the Civil War, more than 10 percent of the soldiers serving in the Union Army were African American. As their contributions had not been properly recognized before, the African American Civil War Memorial was dedicated in 1998 in the historic U Street neighborhood. The accompanying museum opened in its permanent location in 2011, in the Grimke Building. Archibald Grimke was born a slave but became the second African American to graduate from Harvard Law School.

5 Head east of the Anacostia River to the home of Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass National Historic Site Cedar Hill in Anacostia - African American History and Culture Sites in Washington, DC

Famed abolitionist Frederick Douglass was born into slavery, but after running away, he became an outspoken advocate who had the ear of American leaders. During the Civil War, Douglass encouraged President Lincoln to live up to the ideals stated in the Declaration of Independence. Years later, Douglass bought his beloved home, Cedar Hill in Anacostia, and lived there until his death. National Park Service offers daily tours, and this month, the site will celebrate Douglass’ 200th birthday.

6 Spot the "I Have a Dream" steps at the Lincoln Memorial

@jonlloydjr - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s 'I Have a Dream' speech steps at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC

There are five lines etched on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial designating where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream Speech.” If you can't make out the words, you may want to pour some water over the stone to better read the text. The powerful lines further intertwine Dr. King and President Lincoln, two vital figures in the history of civil rights.

7 Take in Benjamin Banneker Memorial Park in L’Enfant Plaza

@i.cami - Benjamin Banneker Park in L'Enfant Plaza - Parks in Washington, DC

Benjamin Banneker was a self-educated astronomer, farmer, mathematician and urban planner. In 1791, as a free man, Banneker literally helped shape the District by working with Major Andrew Ellicott to survey the boundaries of the future nation’s capital. Benjamin Banneker Memorial Park, a favorite of landscape architects, pays homage to the surveyor.

8 Pay homage to icons at the Howard Theatre Walk of Fame

Sign in front of the Howard Theatre Walk of Fame - Free things to do African American history and culture in Washington, DC

The Howard Theatre Walk of Fame is the first of its kind in the District, a stunning tribute to 20th century African American icons. Extending from the 1900 block of 7th Street NW to the Howard Theatre entrance on T Street NW, the walk depicts its honorees in bronze medallions featuring hand-sculpted bas relief portraits embedded in the sidewalk. Even certain architectural details from the theater's facade are mirrored in the medallions. As you walk, you’ll notice the incredible array of musicians honored, including Ella Fitzgerald, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Chuck Brown and Mamie Smith. Each one performed at Howard Theatre and helped to establish the vital legacy that the venue holds today.

9 Enjoy free performances during the DC Jazz Festival

DC Jazz Festival at Yards Park on the Capitol Riverfront - Outdoor Summer Music Festival in Washington, DC

The DC Jazz Festival is held at venues across the city each June. The festival features numerous programs, including free performances during Jazz ‘N Families Fun Days. The weekend is filled with free music and activities that the entire family can enjoy. Make sure to check the DC Jazz Festival website for any other free opportunities, as well as schedules and lineups for this year’s citywide event.

10 Take a guided tour of the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House

Free guided tour at the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House in DC - National Park Service national historic site

Situated near Logan Circle, the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House is the home of the organizer and national political leader who founded the National Council of Negro Women. Her home is now a National Historic Site where interpreters share stories of her life and legacy. The Mary McLeod Bethune Council House is open Thursday through Saturday from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Across town in Capitol Hill, you can also visit a statue dedicated in her honor.

11 Check out the mural at Ben’s Chili Bowl

U Street Mural at Ben's Chili Bowl - Street Art and Murals in Washington, DC

Ben’s Chili Bowl is a DC institution. The fixture on U Street is famous for its food, especially the half smokes, but it also has a signature mural on its facade that was recently updated. This piece includes African American icons both local and national, including the Obamas, Prince, Wale, Chuck Brown, Muhammad Ali and many more.

Looking for more free in DC? Check out even more free and historic things to do in DC.