Passer au contenu principal
Réunions
recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche recherche
recherche
Accueil

CARTE TI

icône de carte icône de fermeture

©Alan Karchmer

NAAMHC

Activités gratuites : histoire et culture afro-américaines à Washington, DC



Une histoire et une culture afro-américaines fascinantes vous attendent à DC, du Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture au Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial et bien plus encore.

Histoire et culture afro-américaines est une partie essentielle de l'expérience de Washington, DC. La ville qui a accueilli la Marche sur Washington et le discours « I Have A Dream » de Martin Luther King, Jr. propose de nombreux autres sites gratuits qui vous aident à découvrir l'expérience afro-américaine, notamment le Smithsonian National Museum of African Histoire et culture américaines, l'ancienne maison de Frederick Douglass et bien d'autres des sites. Continuez à lire et explorez certains de nos favoris.

01

Visitez le Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

Le plus Musée national Smithsonian d'histoire et de culture afro-américaines est situé sur la Centre commercial national à côté du Washington Monument. Le musée expose la richesse et la diversité de l'expérience afro-américaine, avec pour mission de promouvoir un dialogue sur la race et d'inspirer la guérison.

02

Tenez-vous à côté de Martin Luther King, Jr.

Mémorial MLK Jr.

Le site en forme de croissant de quatre acres dans le parc West Potomac sur le bassin de marée a été sélectionné pour le Martin Luther King Jr., Mémorial. Le président Obama a inauguré le mémorial le 16 octobre 2011. Les deux montagnes représentent la « montagne du désespoir » pour « Espoir du désespoir », tandis que l'espace au milieu symbolise la distance qui les sépare. Le mémorial est l'un des points forts de la Centre commercial national.

03

Commémorez la Journée de l'émancipation chaque 16 avril

Défilé du jour de l'émancipation à Washington DC

La capitale était une dichotomie pendant la guerre civile. Les marchands d'esclaves achetaient et vendaient toujours des esclaves dans la ville, tandis que les abolitionnistes de la communauté luttaient farouchement contre l'esclavage. Le Congrès a publié le DC Compensated Emancipation Act en avril 1862, neuf mois avant que Lincoln ne promulgue sa proclamation d'émancipation. C'était un acte juridique et symbolique qui a officiellement mis fin à l'esclavage à Washington et a conduit à l'éventuel décret national. Les Washingtoniens, ainsi que le gouvernement du District de Columbia, célèbrent Jour de l'émancipation chaque année avec un défilé, de la musique live, de la nourriture et des feux d'artifice.

04

Visitez le mémorial et le musée de la guerre civile afro-américaine

Mémorial de la guerre civile afro-américaine

Pendant la guerre civile, plus de 10 pour cent des soldats servant dans l'armée de l'Union étaient afro-américains. Comme leurs contributions n'avaient pas été dûment reconnues auparavant, les Mémorial de la guerre civile afro-américaine a été consacrée en 1998 dans le Quartier de la rue U. L'accompagnement musée ouvert dans son emplacement permanent en 2011, dans le bâtiment Grimke. Archibald Grimke est né esclave mais est devenu le deuxième Afro-Américain à être diplômé de la Harvard Law School.

05

Dirigez-vous à l'est de la rivière Anacostia jusqu'à la maison de Frederick Douglass

Le célèbre abolitionniste Frederick Douglass est né esclave, mais après s'être enfui, il est devenu un ardent défenseur qui avait l'oreille des dirigeants américains. Pendant la guerre civile, Douglass a encouragé le président Lincoln à être à la hauteur des idéaux énoncés dans la Déclaration d'indépendance. Des années plus tard, Douglass a acheté sa maison bien-aimée, Cedar Hill in Anacostie, et y vécut jusqu'à sa mort.

06

Repérez les marches « I Have a Dream » au Lincoln Memorial

J'ai un marqueur de rêve au Lincoln Memorial

Il y a cinq lignes gravées sur les marches du Lincoln Memorial désignant l'endroit où le Dr Martin Luther King Jr. a prononcé son « J'ai un discours de rêve ». Si vous ne pouvez pas distinguer les mots, vous pouvez verser de l'eau sur la pierre pour mieux lire le texte. Les lignes puissantes entrelacent davantage le Dr King et le président Lincoln, deux figures vitales de l'histoire des droits civils.

07

Visitez le parc commémoratif Benjamin Banneker à L'Enfant Plaza

Benjamin Banneker était un astronome, agriculteur, mathématicien et urbaniste autodidacte. En 1791, en tant qu'homme libre, Banneker a littéralement contribué à façonner le district en travaillant avec le major Andrew Ellicott pour arpenter les limites de la future capitale nationale. Parc commémoratif Benjamin Banneker, chouchou des paysagistes, rend hommage au géomètre.

08

Rendez hommage aux icônes au Howard Theatre Walk of Fame

Le Howard Theatre Walk of Fame est le premier du genre dans le district, un superbe hommage aux icônes afro-américaines du 20e siècle. S'étendant du bloc 1900 de 7th Street NW au Théâtre Howard entrée sur T Street NW, la promenade dépeint ses lauréats dans des médaillons en bronze avec des portraits en bas-relief sculptés à la main incrustés dans le trottoir. Même certains détails architecturaux de la façade du théâtre se reflètent dans les médaillons. En marchant, vous remarquerez l'incroyable éventail de musiciens honorés, dont Ella Fitzgerald, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Chuck Brown et Mamie Smith. Chacun s'est produit au Howard Theatre et a contribué à établir l'héritage vital que le lieu détient aujourd'hui.

09

Profitez de performances gratuites pendant le DCJazzFest

Groupe DC JazzFest

Le plus DCJazzFest se déroule chaque été dans des lieux à travers la ville. Le festival propose de nombreux programmes, dont des spectacles gratuits et des compétitions. Le week-end est rempli de musique et d'activités que toute la famille peut apprécier. Assurez-vous de vérifier le festival site de NDN Collective pour toutes les autres opportunités gratuites, ainsi que les horaires et les files d'attente pour le prochain événement à l'échelle de la ville.

10

Faites une visite guidée de la maison du conseil Mary McLeod Bethune

Maison du Conseil Mary Mcleod Bethune

Situé à proximité Cercle de Logan, Maison du conseil Mary McLeod Bethune est la maison de l'organisateur et leader politique national qui a fondé le Conseil national des femmes noires. Sa maison est maintenant un lieu historique national où des interprètes racontent des histoires sur sa vie et son héritage. À travers la ville dans Le Parlement Américain, vous pouvez également visiter un statue dédiée en l'honneur de Mary McLeod Bethune.

11

Découvrez la peinture murale au Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl

Ben's Chili Bowl est une institution DC. Le luminaire sur Rue U est célèbre pour sa nourriture, en particulier la demi-fumée, mais il a également une fresque murale sur sa façade qui a été récemment mise à jour. Cette pièce comprend des icônes afro-américaines à la fois locales et nationales, notamment les Obamas, Prince, Wale, Chuck Brown, Muhammad Ali et bien d'autres.

 

Vous cherchez plus de gratuit à DC? Découvrez encore plus activités gratuites et historiques à faire à DC.

Contenu partenaire
Contenu partenaire

You are here

Free Things to Do: African American History & Culture in Washington, DC

Free African American History and Culture Experiences in Washington, DC - Contemplative Court inside the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

Fascinating African American history and culture awaits in DC, from the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture to the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial and so much more.

African American history and culture is an essential part of experiencing Washington, DC. The city that hosted the March on Washington and Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have A Dream” speech features a memorial dedicated to King, as well as numerous other free-to-experience sites that help you to discover the African American experience, including the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, the former home of Frederick Douglass and many more sites. Read on and explore some of our favorites.

1 Visit the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

@jessipatel - Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture and the Washington Monument - Free Smithsonian Museum in Washington, DC

The Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture is located on the National Mall adjacent to the Washington Monument. The museum exhibits the richness and diversity of the African American experience, with a mission of promoting a dialogue on race and inspiring healing. Make sure to secure your timed passes for the National Mall’s newest museum.

2 Stand beside Martin Luther King, Jr.
Stand beside Martin Luther King, Jr. Geoff Livingston

The four-acre crescent shaped site in West Potomac Park on the Tidal Basin was selected for the Martin Luther King Jr., Memorial. President Obama dedicated the memorial on Oct. 16, 2011. The two mountains represent the “Mountain of Despair” reaching for “Hope from Despair,” while the space in the middle symbolizes the distance between them. The memorial is one of the highlights of the National Mall.

Free Things to Do in Washington, DC - Discover free events, museums, tours, attractions and more

3 Commemorate Emancipation Day on April 16

2016 Emancipation Day Parade in Washington, DC

The capital city was a dichotomy during the Civil War. Slave traders still bought and sold slaves in the city, while abolitionists in the community fought fiercely against slavery. Congress issued the DC Compensated Emancipation Act in April of 1862, nine months before Lincoln made his Emancipation Proclamation. It was a legal and symbolic act that officially ended slavery in DC and led to the eventual national decree. Washingtonians, as well as the District of Columbia government, celebrate Emancipation Day each year with a parade, live music, food and fireworks.

4 Tour the African American Civil War Memorial and Museum

Children at African American Civil War Memorial and Museum - Museum and Memorial in Washington, DC

During the Civil War, more than 10 percent of the soldiers serving in the Union Army were African American. As their contributions had not been properly recognized before, the African American Civil War Memorial was dedicated in 1998 in the historic U Street neighborhood. The accompanying museum opened in its permanent location in 2011, in the Grimke Building. Archibald Grimke was born a slave but became the second African American to graduate from Harvard Law School.

5 Head east of the Anacostia River to the home of Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass National Historic Site Cedar Hill in Anacostia - African American History and Culture Sites in Washington, DC

Famed abolitionist Frederick Douglass was born into slavery, but after running away, he became an outspoken advocate who had the ear of American leaders. During the Civil War, Douglass encouraged President Lincoln to live up to the ideals stated in the Declaration of Independence. Years later, Douglass bought his beloved home, Cedar Hill in Anacostia, and lived there until his death. National Park Service offers daily tours, and this month, the site will celebrate Douglass’ 200th birthday.

6 Spot the "I Have a Dream" steps at the Lincoln Memorial

@jonlloydjr - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s 'I Have a Dream' speech steps at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, DC

There are five lines etched on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial designating where Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream Speech.” If you can't make out the words, you may want to pour some water over the stone to better read the text. The powerful lines further intertwine Dr. King and President Lincoln, two vital figures in the history of civil rights.

7 Take in Benjamin Banneker Memorial Park in L’Enfant Plaza

@i.cami - Benjamin Banneker Park in L'Enfant Plaza - Parks in Washington, DC

Benjamin Banneker was a self-educated astronomer, farmer, mathematician and urban planner. In 1791, as a free man, Banneker literally helped shape the District by working with Major Andrew Ellicott to survey the boundaries of the future nation’s capital. Benjamin Banneker Memorial Park, a favorite of landscape architects, pays homage to the surveyor.

8 Pay homage to icons at the Howard Theatre Walk of Fame

Sign in front of the Howard Theatre Walk of Fame - Free things to do African American history and culture in Washington, DC

The Howard Theatre Walk of Fame is the first of its kind in the District, a stunning tribute to 20th century African American icons. Extending from the 1900 block of 7th Street NW to the Howard Theatre entrance on T Street NW, the walk depicts its honorees in bronze medallions featuring hand-sculpted bas relief portraits embedded in the sidewalk. Even certain architectural details from the theater's facade are mirrored in the medallions. As you walk, you’ll notice the incredible array of musicians honored, including Ella Fitzgerald, James Brown, Marvin Gaye, Chuck Brown and Mamie Smith. Each one performed at Howard Theatre and helped to establish the vital legacy that the venue holds today.

9 Enjoy free performances during the DC Jazz Festival

DC Jazz Festival at Yards Park on the Capitol Riverfront - Outdoor Summer Music Festival in Washington, DC

The DC Jazz Festival is held at venues across the city each June. The festival features numerous programs, including free performances during Jazz ‘N Families Fun Days. The weekend is filled with free music and activities that the entire family can enjoy. Make sure to check the DC Jazz Festival website for any other free opportunities, as well as schedules and lineups for this year’s citywide event.

10 Take a guided tour of the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House

Free guided tour at the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House in DC - National Park Service national historic site

Situated near Logan Circle, the Mary McLeod Bethune Council House is the home of the organizer and national political leader who founded the National Council of Negro Women. Her home is now a National Historic Site where interpreters share stories of her life and legacy. The Mary McLeod Bethune Council House is open Thursday through Saturday from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Across town in Capitol Hill, you can also visit a statue dedicated in her honor.

11 Check out the mural at Ben’s Chili Bowl

U Street Mural at Ben's Chili Bowl - Street Art and Murals in Washington, DC

Ben’s Chili Bowl is a DC institution. The fixture on U Street is famous for its food, especially the half smokes, but it also has a signature mural on its facade that was recently updated. This piece includes African American icons both local and national, including the Obamas, Prince, Wale, Chuck Brown, Muhammad Ali and many more.

Looking for more free in DC? Check out even more free and historic things to do in DC.