Direkt zum Inhalt
Home

KARTE IT

Mapit-Symbol Schließen-Symbol
Die Wharf Waterfront während des Tages

13 Sehenswürdigkeiten und Aktivitäten im Südwesten und in der Wharf-Nachbarschaft



Erkunden Sie Southwest & The Wharf, ein pulsierendes Viertel mit zahlreichen Kunst- und Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten, einem historischen Fischmarkt und The Wharf.

Entlang dieser Flussufergemeinde findet eine Renaissance statt, und die neue Entwicklung heißt The Wharf. Trotz großer Veränderungen bewahrt dieses historische Viertel viele wichtige Überreste seiner Vergangenheit, darunter den historischen Fischmarkt, das Weltklasse-Theater, den Bootsanleger für Freizeitkreuzfahrten und die Uferpromenade entlang des Potomac River. Hier ist eine Liste der aktuellen Ereignisse in der Südwesten & The Wharf Gegend.

01

Verbringen Sie den Tag im The Wharf

Familie im The Wharf an der Southwest Waterfront - Restaurants und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Washington, DC

Familie im The Wharf an der Southwest Waterfront - Restaurants und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Washington, DC

Das dynamische, bahnbrechende Waterfront-Entwicklung wurde im Oktober 2017 eröffnet und umfasst 24 Hektar Land und 50 Hektar Wasser. Über die gesamte Länge der Küste vom Maine Avenue Fish Market nach Fort McNair, The Wharf Features drei Hotels, Einzelhandel, ebenso gut wie viele Restaurants von den renommiertesten Köchen des Bezirks.

02

Erleben Sie amerikanisches Theater auf der Arena Stage

Das zweitgrößter Theaterkomplex in Washington, DC hat die Revitalisierung des Viertels inspiriert. 2010 wurde ein atemberaubender Umbau abgeschlossen, der das ursprüngliche Rundtheater bewahrt und zwei neue Bühnen für experimentelle Produktionen und Theaterpädagogik hinzufügt. Das Mead Center umschließt die Bühnen mit Blick auf die Uferpromenade aus seinen raumhohen Fenstern.

03

Probieren Sie den Fang des Tages auf dem Maine Avenue Fish Market

Dieses 1805 gegründete Wahrzeichen von DC ist das ältester kontinuierlich betriebener Open-Air-Markt für Meeresfrüchte im Volk. Mehrere Verkäufer verkaufen zubereitete und rohe Meeresfrüchte – einige von schwimmenden Lastkähnen. Es ist ein großartiger Ort, um die berühmten Chesapeake Bay-Krabben und Austern der Region zu probieren.

04

Setzen Sie die Segel von einem Yachthafen aus

Die Gangplank Marina ist eine kommerzielle Marina, die Washingtons führende Sightseeing-Kreuzfahrten anbietet. Siehe die Jefferson-Denkmal und andere Wahrzeichen von DC aus dem verglasten Luxus von Hornblower-Kreuzfahrten' The Odyssey mit eleganten mehrgängigen Menüs und das Spirit of Washington, das für beliebte Brunch-Kreuzfahrten bekannt ist. Die Washington Marina wurde 1951 gegründet und ist nach wie vor ein pulsierendes Zuhause vieler "Live-Aboards" oder Bootsbesitzer, die das ganze Jahr über hier wohnen. 

05

Besuchen Sie das Kulturhaus DC

In einer ehemaligen Baptistenkirche aus dem 19. Jahrhundert untergebracht, Kulturhaus DC, früher bekannt als Blind Whino SW Arts Club, hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, der Gemeinschaft eine "zugängliche Kunstumgebung mit vielfältigen Erfahrungsmöglichkeiten" zu bieten. Diese Erfahrungen kommen in Form von avantgardistischen Produktionen, ausgefallenen Events und ein Kunstanhang mit einer für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglichen Galerie mittwochs und am Wochenende.

06

Sehen Sie sich eine Show im The Anthem oder Pearl Street Warehouse an

Mit der Eröffnung von The Wharf kommen zwei neue Musiklokale in diesem angesagten Viertel. Die Hymne ist der akustisch optimierte, von IMP betriebene Konzertsaal für 6,000 Personen (von 9:30 Clubruhm), während Lager in der Pearl Street ist ein gemütlicher Ort, an dem Sie Ihren Lieblingsrock-, Country- oder Blues-Künstler hautnah erleben können. Beide Veranstaltungsorte versprechen ein musikalisches Erlebnis, das Sie nicht so schnell vergessen werden.

07

Abhängen am Hains Point

Diese malerische Halbinsel zwischen dem Washington Channel und dem Potomac River ist ein Erholungsparadies mit Golf, Schwimmen und Angeln sowie Wege zum Laufen und Radfahren. Es gibt viele Aktivitäten, um den ganzen Tag mit Familie und Freunden in diesem perfekt instagramfähigen Park zu verbringen.

08

Begeben Sie sich auf Ihre eigene Spionagemission

Früher eine feste Größe in der Innenstadt von DC, das Internationales Spionagemuseum ist in ein neues, speziell gebautes Gebäude in L'Enfant Plaza umgezogen. Das hochmoderne Museum bietet genug Spionage-Intrigen und interaktiven Familienspaß für einen ganzen Tag. Erkunden Sie die umfangreichen Exponate des Museums, testen Sie Ihre Spionagefähigkeiten bei einer Undercover-Mission und vieles mehr.

09

Erkunden Sie die Restaurantszene im The Wharf

Die erste Phase des Wharf wird bis zum Frühjahr 20 mehr als 2018 neue Restaurants und Bars in DC eröffnen, darunter neue Konzepte von preisgekrönten und mit Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichneten Köchen, Fast-Casual-Favoriten und sogar eine Brennerei. Und was wäre das Essen am Wasser ohne Austern? Bei lokalen Favoriten Muscheln schlürfen Hanks Oyster Bar und dem Rappahannock Austernbar. Aber das ist noch nicht alles – es gibt noch viel mehr Restaurants, die Sie im The Wharf . erwarten können.

10

Genießen Sie beeindruckende Glasmalereien in der Katholischen Kirche St. Dominic

Erbaut im Jahre 1875 Treffpunkt in der Nachbarschaft hat einen beeindruckenden beleuchteten Kirchturm und 24 Buntglasfenster, die das Leben des Schutzpatrons der Kirche, Dominikus, illustrieren. Am Sonntagabend veranstaltet die Kirche religiöse Filmseminare.

11

Besuchen Sie das Titanic Memorial der Frauen

Gelegen in Washington Channel Park, dieses Denkmal wurde 1917 vom Kongress genehmigt und durch Spenden von 25,000 amerikanischen Frauen zu Ehren der Männer finanziert, die 1912 beim Untergang der Titanic ums Leben kamen. Sie erinnern sich vielleicht an Kate Winslet, die eine ähnliche Pose einnahm, als sie den Oscar gewann Film „Die Titanic“.

12

Spazieren Sie entlang der Wheat Row, einer historisch reizvollen Straße

Diese charmante Straße beansprucht einige der ältesten Häuser in Washington, DC. Diese im National Register of Historic Places eingetragenen Reihenhäuser im späten georgianischen Stil stammen aus dem 1700. Jahrhundert und wurden von dem Washingtoner Architekten William Lovering entworfen.

13

Lehnen Sie sich zurück und entspannen Sie im Mandarin Oriental Hotel Spa

Als eines der luxuriösesten Spas Wählen Sie in DC aus einem halb- oder ganztägigen Spa-Erlebnis mit Gesichts- und Körperbehandlungen, Gesundheitserziehung sowie Fitnessaktivitäten.

Es gibt viele aufregende Viertel im Bezirk – erkunde sie alle und suche dir dein nächstes Abenteuer aus.

Partnerinhalt
Partnerinhalt

You are here

13 Things to See & Do on the Southwest Waterfront

Sunny Fall Day at The Wharf on the Southwest Waterfront - Dining, Shopping and Entertainment Destination in Washington, DC

Explore the Southwest Waterfront, a vibrant neighborhood with an array of arts and entertainment options, a historic fish market and The Wharf

A renaissance is happening along this riverfront community, and the new development is called The Wharf. Despite big changes, this historic neighborhood maintains many important remnants of its past including its historic seafood market, world-class theater, leisure cruise boat pier and riverfront promenade along the Potomac River. Here is a list of the current happenings in the Southwest Waterfront neighborhood.

1 Spend the day at The Wharf

Family at The Wharf on the Southwest Waterfront - Dining and Shopping Destination in Washington, DC

The dynamic, groundbreaking waterfront development opened in October 2017, encompassing 24-acres of land and 50-acres of water. Spanning the length of the shoreline from the Maine Avenue Fish Market to Fort McNair, The Wharf features three hotels, retail, as well as plenty of restaurants from the District’s most prestigious chefs.

2 Experience American theater at Arena Stage

Arena Stage Washington DC performance

The second-largest theater complex in Washington, DC has inspired the revitalization of the Southwest Waterfront. A breathtaking renovation was completed in 2010, preserving the original theater-in-the-round and adding two new stages for experimental productions and theater education. The Mead Center encloses the stages with views of the waterfront from its floor-to-ceiling windows.

3 Sample the catch of the day at the Maine Avenue Fish Market

Maine Avenue Fish Market at The Wharf on the Southwest Waterfront - Historic fish market in Washington, DC

Established in 1805, this DC landmark is the oldest continuously operating open-air seafood market in the nation. Several vendors sell prepared and raw seafood – some from floating barges. It’s a great place to sample the region’s iconic Chesapeake Bay crabs and oysters.

4 Set sail from a marina

Entertainment Cruises - Romantic Cruises in Washington, DC

The Gangplank Marina is a commercial marina serving Washington’s premier sightseeing cruises. See the Jefferson Memorial and other DC landmarks from the glass-enclosed luxury of Entertainment Cruises' The Odyssey, featuring elegant multi-course meals, and the Spirit of Washington, which is known for popular brunch cruises. The Washington Marina was established in 1951 and remains a vibrant home of many “live aboards,” or owners of boats who reside here year-round. 

5 Check out the SW Arts Club at the Blind Whino
 

A post shared by Sharon Yang (@syang) on

Housed in a former 19th century Baptist church, the SW Arts Club is dedicated to bringing an "accessible arts environment with multiple experiential opportunities" to the community. These experiences come in the form of avant-garde productions, edgy events and an art annex with a gallery open to the public on Wednesdays and on weekends.

6 Catch a show at The Anthem or Pearl Street Warehouse

Patrons at Bar Overlooking The Anthem at The Wharf on the Southwest Waterfront - Dining, Shopping and Entertainment Destination in Washington, DC

With the opening of The Wharf comes two new music venues in this happening neighborhood. The Anthem is the acoustically optimized, 6,000-person concert hall operated by I.M.P. (of 9:30 Club fame), while Pearl Street Warehouse is a cozy venue that allows you to get up close and personal with your favorite rock, country or blues artist. Both venues promise a musical experience you won’t soon forget.

7 Hang out at Hains Point

Washington DC skyline from Hains Point

This scenic peninsula between the Washington Channel and the Potomac River is a recreational haven with golf, swimming and fishing, as well as trails for running and biking. There are plenty of activities to spend the whole day with family and friends in this perfectly Instagrammable park.

8 Play 18 holes at the East Potomac Golf Course
 

A post shared by Amir Matin Sadeghy (@amirmatin) on

Located on Hains Point, this 18-hole public course is run by the National Park Service, with three courses that offer varying degrees of difficulty. During the summer, the mini-golf course, clubhouse and driving range are in full operation. The White Course welcomes players to try FootGolfDC, on weekdays anytime, and on weekends after 2 p.m.

9 Explore the dining scene at The Wharf

Diners outside at Requin seafood restaurant at The Wharf - Restaurant on the Southwest Waterfront in Washington, DC

The Wharf’s phase one will bring more than 20 new restaurants and bars to DC opening now through spring 2018, including new concepts from award-winning and Michelin-starred chefs, fast-casual favorites and even a distillery. And what would waterfront dining be without oysters? Slurp down bivalves at local favorites Hank’s Oyster Bar and Rappahannock Oyster Bar. But that’s not all – there are plenty more dining destinations you can expect to find at The Wharf.

10 Enjoy impressive stained glass works at St. Dominic Catholic Church

St. Dominic's interior chapel

Built in 1875, this neighborhood gathering place has an impressive illuminated steeple and 24 stained glass windows illustrating the life of the church’s patron saint, Dominic. On Sunday evenings, the church hosts religious movie seminars.

11 Stop by the Women's Titanic Memorial
 

A post shared by Trip Hacks DC (@triphacksdc) on

Located in Washington Channel Park, this memorial was authorized by Congress in 1917 and funded by donations from 25,000 American women honoring the men who died during the sinking of the Titanic in 1912. You may remember Kate Winslet, striking a similar pose, in the Academy Award winning movie “The Titanic.”

12 Walk along Wheat Row, a historically charming street
Walk along Wheat Row, a historically charming street NCinDC via Flickr

This charming street claims some of the oldest homes in Washington, DC. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, these late Georgian-style row houses date back to the 1700s and were designed by a Washington architect William Lovering.

13 Kick back and relax at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Spa
Kick back and relax at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Spa The Spa at Mandarin Oriental

Considered one of the most luxurious spas in DC, choose from a half- or full-day spa experience with face and body treatments, health education, as well as fitness activities.

There are many exciting neighborhoods in the District – explore them all and pick your next adventure.