跳到主要內容
首頁
英雄形象

2023 年最佳旅遊城市

華盛頓特區將在來年舉辦不容錯過的活動、新展覽和值得稱讚的表演。

每年,華盛頓特區都是不容錯過的旅遊目的地之一。 問問主要旅遊刊物的讀者 CondéNast Traveler,誰最近命名了該區 美國最好的城市之一 反過來,我們在下面列出了這份令人難以置信的未來一年的大事清單,只要您準備好了,就預訂這些很棒的住宿 DC酒店的優惠.

 

重新開放的國家航空航天博物館

經過大規模翻修後,世界上訪問量最大的博物館之一向眼花繚亂的觀眾展示了其改造後的自我。 八個新的和精緻的畫廊在等待首次參觀者 國家航空航天博物館 在國家廣場上,包括展示,如 美國航空, 目的地月亮, 早班機速度之國.

 

碼頭二期

DC的西南海濱開發項目已啟動 第二階段 供您在 2023 年全年享用。有新的 Pendry 酒店,位於 Marshall Park Landing 的 1.5 英畝公園,95,000 平方英尺的零售空間和大量新開的餐廳。 這份名單包括周永康的北京風味餐廳、Lucky Buns、Mason's Famous Lobster Rolls、Bartaco、Blank Street Coffee、Hell's Kitchen 和 Gordon Ramsay 的炸魚薯條、Kinfolk Southern Kitchen、Limani、Milk and Honey、Slice of Matchbox 和 Kilwins Chocolates & 冰淇淋。

 

魯貝爾博物館

魯貝爾博物館

魯貝爾的第二個 博物館 取材於家族廣泛收藏的當代雕塑、繪畫、照片和視頻。 32,000 平方英尺的空間還提供活動、書店和帶室內和室外用餐的咖啡廳。

 

幻覺博物館

已經席捲30多個主要城市的轟動在該區落地。 在 幻覺博物館,參觀者可以沉浸在詭計中,了解人腦的工作原理並提高他們的視力和感知能力。

 

餐廳週 – XNUMX 月和 XNUMX 月待定

華盛頓大都會飯店協會每年都會舉辦兩場 DC 不拘一格的餐飲場所慶祝活動:一月份和八月份的夏季版。 對於兩個季節性版本, 餐廳週 為食客提供午餐/早午餐(25 美元)和晚餐(40 美元和 55 美元)的預定菜單。

 

華盛頓車展 – 20 月 29 日至 XNUMX 日

世界級盛會 在 Walter E. Washington 會議中心內展示工程實力和創新以及來自 600 多家汽車製造商的 30 多款新車型。 互動展示和現場活動增加了這個機動車輛展示的魅力。

 

菲利普古斯頓現在 – 26 月 27 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

一位標誌性的美國藝術家 50 年的職業生涯成為備受期待的主題 展出國家美術館. 將展出 150 多幅繪畫和素描,講述加斯頓在抽象表現主義、壁畫主義和具象藝術中的迷人故事。 藝術家自己的個人懺悔和政治信仰,正如他的作品所展示的那樣,也是這次大型展覽的中心。

 

喊,姐姐,喊! – 15 月 13 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

福特劇院迎來了 新音樂劇 基於 Gayle F. Wald 的勵誌著作。 跟隨音樂傳奇人物 Rosetta Tharpe 的故事,沉浸在 1930 和 40 年代的音樂場景中,她以她的雄心和勇氣為 Black rock、R&B 和福音歌手和吉他手鋪平了道路。 薩佩也是一位先驅,因為她毫不掩飾地加入了種族和性別平等的抗議活動。 不要錯過這個鮮為人知的故事的引人入勝的製作。

 

全國櫻花節

全國櫻花節 – 20 月 16 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

DC 慶祝櫻花盛開 為期一個月的節日 紀念 1912 年東京市長尾崎由紀夫贈予該市的禮物。 盛開的高峰通常發生在四月初。 查看 最新節日活動更新 在慶祝活動之前。

 

美國天使第 XNUMX 部分:千禧年方法 – 24 月 23 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

美國最偉大的戲劇之一來到競技場舞台。 托尼庫什納獲得普利策獎和托尼獎 戲劇也被改編成廣受好評的 HBO 迷你劇,將由匈牙利導演兼電影製片人 János Szász 全面上演。 故事講述了兩對努力在一起的夫妻,以及每個角色所面臨的考驗和磨難。 哈珀和喬處理了前者的恐懼和後者的隱秘同性戀; 路易斯和普里爾不得不面對普里爾毀滅性的艾滋病診斷。

 

窈窕淑女 – 6 月 9 日至 XNUMX 日

勒納和羅意威 永恆的經典 收到林肯中心劇院精心渲染的新作品。 導演巴特利特·謝爾 (Bartlett Sher) 掌舵這場激動人心的複興,它將提醒您音樂劇是多麼鼓舞人心。 在體驗 Eliza Doolittle 的標誌性故事的同時,欣賞《我本可以整夜跳舞》和《在你居住的大街上》等令人難忘的歌曲表演。

 

孤星淚 – 11 月 29 日至 XNUMX 日

早在 1986 年,肯尼迪中心就舉辦了百老匯演出前的演出,該演出已成為有史以來最受歡迎的音樂劇之一。 而在2023年春天, 萊斯·米斯 回家。 全球超過 130 億人觀看了這部經典作品的精彩全新演繹,講述了一個以 19 世紀法國為背景的關於愛情、激情、救贖和生存的史詩故事。

 

迪士尼的阿拉丁 – 19 月 30 日至 XNUMX 日

熱門百老匯 音樂改編自經典迪斯尼電影,來到華盛頓歷史悠久的國家劇院。 一盞燈和三個願望推出了一部出色的作品,其中充滿了心愛的歌曲、震撼人心的喜劇、華麗的佈景設計和神奇的地毯騎行。 帶上全家人來觀看這場盛大的演出。

 

護照DC

護照 DC – 1 月 31 日至 XNUMX 日

全市一個月的節目集中於展示 DC 的 國際文化. 環遊世界大使館之旅(6 月 13 日)和歐盟開放日(XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日)是年度亮點。 大多數活動和旅遊都可以完全免費享受。

 

資本驕傲

Capital Pride – 2 月 11 日至 XNUMX 日

每年,當地的非營利組織 資本驕傲 舉辦一系列激動人心的活動,2023 年也不例外。 六月將有很多方式來表達社區的愛心。 去年的景點包括 Pridemobile Parade 和 Taste of Pride 早午餐,以及一年一度的音樂會和節日。 活動日期和詳情將在未來幾個月內公佈。

 

黑德斯敦 – 6月18日至XNUMX日

2019 年八項托尼獎得主(包括最佳音樂劇), 黑德斯敦 是一種充滿活力的音樂體驗,將兩個神話故事融合到令人毛骨悚然的黑社會之旅中。 當您的想像力在俄耳甫斯和歐律狄刻以及哈迪斯國王和他的妻子珀耳塞福涅的故事中被席捲時,期待一群充滿活力的舞者和歌手。

 

真棒騙局 - 16 月 18 日至 XNUMX 日

超過 70,000 名粉絲可以從漫畫、電影、電視、玩具和遊戲中看到他們最喜歡的明星 真棒騙局,為期三天的節日,是華盛頓特區自己的動漫展。 在這座城市最具活力的年度活動之一中,期待大量穿著盛裝的與會者和一系列活動。

 

迪斯尼 獅子王 – 21 月 29 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

在舞台上成為一種現象的電影轟動返回華盛頓特區最負盛名的場地。 迪斯尼 獅子王 已經被全球超過100億人體驗過,並獲得了六項托尼獎。 這部標誌性的音樂劇將埃爾頓·約翰和蒂姆·賴斯的經典歌曲融入了辛巴及其冒險的驚險故事。 適合家庭的傑作將成為夏季的一大亮點。

 

巨人國都燒烤大戰——24月25-XNUMX日

每個人的最愛 燒烤風味的活動 已在 DC 舉辦了 30 多年。 來自所有 50 個州的 Pitmasters、當地餐館和現場音樂表演關閉了位於西北 3 街和 7 街之間的賓夕法尼亞大道,舉辦了一場為期兩天的熱鬧街頭派對。 烹飪演示和免費品嚐會帶來美味(和充實)的體驗。

 

1776 – 27 月 16 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

在肯尼迪中心觀看完全重新構想的托尼獎獲獎音樂劇。 新的嘗試 1776 重新審視美國歷史上的關鍵時刻,演員陣容包括認同女性、非二元性別和跨性別並代表多種種族和民族的演員。 約翰亞當斯說服他的同齡人投票支持美國獨立的努力通過廣泛的音樂數字和鼓舞人心的演講被記錄下來。

 

史密森民俗節

史密森尼民俗節 – 28 月 4 日 – 6 月 9 日,XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日至 XNUMX 日

獨一無二的夏季傳統, 民俗節 是該地區的溫暖天氣電話卡。 舉辦的免費國際文化節 國家廣場 每年聚焦各個國家和社區,還設有沉浸式展覽、現場音樂、烹飪演示和熱鬧的市場。

 

錯戲 – 18 月 12 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

準備好通過有史以來最有趣的偵探之一大笑。 錯戲 是哈弗舍姆莊園謀殺案的開幕之夜。 你問怎麼了? 嗯,很多,包括一個失去知覺的女主角,不能走路或說話的演員和一具無法完成工作的屍體。 期待在肯尼迪中心度過一個瘋狂而熱鬧的夜晚。

 

奧塔康 – 28 月 30 日至 XNUMX 日

Otakon 在 Walter E. Washington 會議中心舉行,這可能是專用活動空間全年最熱鬧的功能。 這個適合家庭的大會由亞洲媒體、娛樂和流行文化的粉絲舉辦,並專門為這些粉絲舉辦,包括動漫、漫畫、音樂、電影和視頻遊戲。 慶祝活動的範圍從角色扮演比賽、短劇和現場音樂到與漫畫書(超級)英雄、待售藝術品等的小組討論。

 

花旗公開賽 – 31 月 6 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

區的 標誌性的職業網球錦標賽 將於 54 年重返 Rock Creek Park 網球中心舉辦第 2023 屆。來自世界各地的頂尖人才將爭奪享有盛譽的獎杯,帶來您不想錯過的來回動作。

 

紅磨坊! 音樂劇! – 2 月 24 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

巴茲·魯爾曼 紅磨坊! 2001 年上映時吸引了觀眾和評論家,標誌著好萊塢音樂劇新時代的開始。 當然,Luhrmann 的創作在舞台上表現得很好,肯尼迪中心將在即將到來的 XNUMX 月舉辦托尼獎獲獎導演亞歷克斯·廷伯斯的改編。 這部劇充滿浮華、魅力和壯麗,肯定會以其激動人心的安排和舞蹈數字讓觀眾興奮不已。

 

DCJazzFest 的聽眾群

DC JazzFest – 1 月 4 日至 XNUMX 日

在此期間,美國的終極藝術形式將與來自世界各地的頂尖藝術家一起登上 DC 舞台 一年一度的節日. 在整個城市舉行的表演都是免費的,也有售票。 查看一個 2022 年回顧 並讓自己為 2023 年有望舉行的更大慶祝活動做好準備。

 

亞當斯摩根日——九月中旬

舉辦時間最長的鄰里節 該區將於 45 年慶祝 2023 週年。熱鬧的第 18 街將充滿音樂、食品攤販、待售藝術品和適合家庭的活動。 在這個由志願者領導的為期一天的盛會中慶祝華盛頓最熱鬧、最多樣化的社區之一,展示了組成亞當斯摩根的企業、藝術家和組織。

 

步行鎮 DC - 九月下旬

文化旅遊特區展示了該國首都令人難以置信的步行性 華盛頓特區,一個免費的、為期一周的公共旅遊計劃。 整個地區總共舉辦了數十場帶導遊的徒步旅行,包括社區展示、主題遊覽、歷史之旅等等。 歷史學家、持牌導遊、社區領袖和企業主等人將舉辦這些冒險活動,帶您前往華盛頓特區著名和隱藏的瑰寶。

 

重新開放的國家婦女藝術博物館 - 2023 年秋季

唯一一個專門展示女性藝術家的博物館 將通過改進的內部和外部空間、新的機械系統、增強的便利設施和可達性、擴大的畫廊空間以及額外的研究和教育空間重新開放。

 

馬克·羅斯科:紙上繪畫 – 19 年 31 月 2024 日 – XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日

馬克·羅斯科以其畫布上的抽像畫而聞名(其中一些可以在華盛頓的菲利普斯收藏館中看到),在他長​​達數十年的傑出職業生涯中,他還創作了 1,000 多幅紙上畫作。 國家美術館將 展示 100 多幅這樣的畫面,其中許多將首次向公眾展示,這為觀看 20 世紀最重要的藝術家之一的新作品提供了一個獨特的機會。

 

市中心假日市場 – XNUMX 月下旬 – XNUMX 月中旬

DC的 自由到頻繁的市中心集市 位於史密森尼美國藝術博物館和國家肖像畫廊前面的中心位置。 心愛的市場橫跨第 7 街和第 9 街之間的兩個 F 街街區。 從數十個彈出式帳篷中尋找不拘一格的商品,並在後台現場演奏季節性風味的音樂。 當地烘焙的咖啡和眼前製作的迷你甜甜圈激發了寒冷天氣的食慾,營造出在城市其他任何地方都找不到的假日氛圍。

 

國家燭台照明 – 7 月 XNUMX 日

光明節由此開始 世界最大燭台的點亮儀式 在白宮橢圓形上,用烙餅、甜甜圈、燭台套件和陀螺迎接所有人。 美國海軍樂隊的音樂將為現場添加配樂。 按照慣例,光明節八天的每一天都會點亮一根新蠟燭。

 

全國聖誕樹點燈——十二月初

國家聖誕樹 是 DC 在假期中聲名鵲起的原因,這是有充分理由的。 華麗的針葉樹生活在橢圓形白宮的總統公園內,周圍環繞著裝飾著來自美國 56 個州和地區的手工裝飾品的樹木,並在整個假日季節伴隨著夜間音樂表演。 展覽是免費參觀的。
 

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Home
HERO IMAGE

The Best City to Visit in 2023

Washington, DC shines with can’t-miss events, new exhibits and praiseworthy performances throughout the upcoming year.

Every year, Washington, DC is among a short list of can’t-fail travel destinations. Just ask readers of major travel publication Condé Nast Traveler, who recently named the District one of the best cities in the U.S. In turn, we’ve laid out this incredible list of big things in the year ahead below, and whenever you’re ready, book your stay with these great deals at DC hotels.

 

The reopened National Air and Space Museum

After an extensive renovation, one of the world’s most visited museums has unveiled its transformed self to dazzled audiences. Eight new and refined galleries await first-time visitors at the National Air and Space Museum on the National Mall, including displays such as America by Air, Destination Moon, Early Flight and Nation of Speed.

 

Phase 2 of The Wharf

DC’s Southwest Waterfront development has launched its second phase for you to enjoy throughout 2023. There’s the new Pendry Hotel, a 1.5-acre park at Marshall Park Landing, 95,000 square feet of retail space and a wealth of new restaurants that are opening on a rolling basis. The list includes Philippe Chow’s Beijing-style restaurant, Lucky Buns, Mason’s Famous Lobster Rolls, Bartaco, Blank Street Coffee, Hell’s Kitchen and Fish & Chips from Gordon Ramsay, Kinfolk Southern Kitchen, Limani, Milk and Honey, Slice of Matchbox and Kilwins Chocolates & Ice Cream.

 

Rubell Museum

The Rubell Museum

The Rubells’ second museum draws from the family’s extensive collection of contemporary sculptures, paintings, photographs and videos. The 32,000-square-foot space also offers activations, a bookstore and a café with indoor and outdoor dining.

 

The Museum of Illusions

The sensation that has already swept more than 30 major cities has touched down in the District. At the Museum of Illusions, visitors can be immersed in trickery, learn about how the human brain works and sharpen their vision and perception.

 

Restaurant Week – Jan. & Aug. TBD

Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington hosts two annual celebrations of DC’s eclectic dining scene: one in January and a summer edition in August. For both seasonal editions, Restaurant Week offers diners pre-fixe menus for lunch/brunch ($25) and dinner ($40 and $55).

 

Washington Auto Show – Jan. 20-29

The world-class event displays engineering prowess and innovation along with more than 600 new models from 30+ car manufacturers inside the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Interactive displays and on-site activations add to the fascination of this motor vehicle showcase.

 

Philip Guston Now – Feb. 26 – Aug. 27

The 50-year career of an iconic American artist serves as the subject of a highly anticipated exhibit at the National Gallery of Art. More than 150 paintings and drawings will be on display, telling Guston’s fascinating story as he moved through abstract expressionism, muralism and figuration. The artist’s own personal confessions and political beliefs, as showcased in his work, are also at the center of this major exhibition.

 

Shout, Sister, Shout! – March 15 – May 13

Ford’s Theatre welcomes a new musical based on Gayle F. Wald’s inspiring book. Immerse yourself in the music scene of the 1930s and ‘40s as you follow the story of Sister Rosetta Tharpe, a musical legend who paved the way for Black rock, R&B and gospel singers and guitarists with her ambition and courage. Tharpe was also a pioneer in that she unabashedly joined protests for racial and sexual equality. Don’t miss a riveting production of this under-told story.

 

NATIONAL CHERRY BLOSSOM FESTIVAL

National Cherry Blossom Festival – March 20 – April 16

DC celebrates the blooming of cherry trees with a month-long festival commemorating the 1912 gift from Mayor Yukio Ozaki of Tokyo to the city. Peak bloom usually takes place in early April. Check out the the latest festival’s event updates in the lead-up to the celebration.

 

Angels in America Part One: Millennium Approaches – March 24 – April 23

One of the great American plays comes to Arena Stage. Tony Kushner’s Pulitzer Prize- and Tony Award-winning drama, which has also been adapted into an acclaimed HBO miniseries, will be staged in the round by Hungarian director and filmmaker János Szász. The story concerns two couples struggling to stay together and the trials and tribulations each character faces. Harper and Joe deal with the former’s fears and the latter’s closeted homosexuality; Louis and Prior have to face Prior’s devastating AIDS diagnosis.

 

My Fair Lady – April 6-9

Lerner and Loewe’s timeless classic receives a lovingly rendered new production from Lincoln Center Theater. Director Bartlett Sher helms this rousing revival that will remind you of how inspiring musical theater can be. Enjoy performances of unforgettable songs like “I Could Have Danced All Night” and “On the Street Where You Live” as you experience the iconic story of Eliza Doolittle.

 

Les Misérables – April 11-29

Back in 1986, the Kennedy Center hosted the pre-Broadway run of what has become one of the most popular musicals of all time. And in the spring of 2023, Les Mis comes home. Seen by more than 130 million people worldwide, this brilliant new interpretation of the classic production tells an epic story of love, passion, redemption and survival set in 19th-century France.

 

Disney’s Aladdin – April 19-30

The hit Broadway musical, adapted from the classic Disney film, comes to the historic National Theatre in DC. One lamp and three wishes launch an outstanding production filled with beloved songs, gut-busting comedy, gorgeous set design and magical carpet rides. Bring the entire family to this majestic show.

 

PASSPORT DC

Passport DC – May 1-31

A month of programming across the city focuses on showcasing DC’s international culture. The Around the World Embassy Tour (May 6) and the European Union Open House (May 13) are annual highlights. Most events and tours can be enjoyed entirely free of charge.

 

CAPITAL PRIDE

Capital Pride – June 2-11

Each year, local nonprofit Capital Pride hosts an array of exciting events and 2023 will be no different. There will be plenty of ways to show the community love in June. Last year’s attractions included a Pridemobile Parade and a Taste of Pride brunch, in addition to the yearly concert and festival. Event dates and details will be announced in the coming months.

 

Hadestown – June 6-18

Winner of eight Tony Awards in 2019 (including Best Musical), Hadestown is a vibrant musical experience that blends two mythic tales into a hair-raising voyage into the underworld. Expect an energetic ensemble of dancers and singers as your imagination is swept up in the tales of Orpheus and Eurydice and King Hades and his wife, Persephone.

 

Awesome Con – June 16-18

More than 70,000 fans can see their favorite stars from comics, films, TV, toys and games throughout Awesome Con, a three-day festival that is Washington, DC’s own Comic Con. Expect plenty of costumed attendees and an array of activities to enjoy during one of the city’s most vibrant annual events.

 

Disney’s The Lion King – June 21 – July 29

The film sensation that became a phenomenon on stage returns to Washington, DC’s most prestigious venue. Disney’s The Lion King has been experienced by more than 100 million people around the world and has won six Tony Awards. The iconic musical features the classic songs of Elton John and Tim Rice woven into the breathtaking tale of Simba and his adventures. The family-friendly masterpiece will be a highlight of the summer.

 

Giant National Capital Barbecue Battle – June 24-25

Everyone’s favorite barbecue-flavored event has been held in DC for more than 30 years. Pitmasters from all 50 states, local restaurants and live music shut down Pennsylvania Avenue between 3rd and 7th streets NW for a lively, two-day street party. Cooking demos and free tastings make for a savory (and filling) experience.

 

1776 – June 27 – July 16

See a Tony-Award winning musical completely reimagined at the Kennedy Center. The new take on 1776 re-examines the critical moment in American history with a cast that includes actors who identify as female, non-binary and trans and represent a multitude of races and ethnicities. John Adams’ efforts to convince his peers to vote for American independence is chronicled through sweeping musical numbers and inspiring speeches.

 

SMITHSONIAN FOLKLIFE FESTIVAL

Smithsonian Folklife Festival – June 28 – July 4, July 6-9

A summer tradition like none other, the Folklife Festival is a warm weather calling card for the District. The free international cultural festival held on the National Mall spotlights various nations and communities every year and also features immersive exhibits, live music, cooking demos and a lively marketplace.

 

The Play That Goes Wrong – July 18 – Aug. 12

Prepare to laugh your way through one of the funniest whodunits ever staged. The Play That Goes Wrong is the opening night of The Murder at Haversham Manor. What goes wrong, you ask? Well, plenty, including an unconscious lead actress, actors who can’t walk or talk straight and a corpse that has trouble doing its job. Expect a manic and hilarious evening at the Kennedy Center.

 

Otakon – July 28-30

Otakon is held at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center and just might be the dedicated event space’s liveliest function all year long. The family-friendly convention is run by and dedicated to fans of Asian media, entertainment and pop culture, including anime, manga, music, movies and video games. The festivities range from cosplay contests, skits and live music to panel discussions with comic book (super)heroes, for-sale artworks and more.

 

Citi Open – July 31 – Aug. 6

The District’s signature professional tennis tournament will return to Rock Creek Park Tennis Center for its 54th edition in 2023. Top-tier talent from all over the world will compete for a prestigious trophy, leading to back-and-forth action that you do not want to miss.

 

Moulin Rouge! The Musical! – Aug. 2 – Sept. 24

Baz Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge! captivated audiences and critics upon its arrival in theaters in 2001, signifying the beginning of a new era of Hollywood musicals. Of course, Luhrmann’s creation translates well to the stage, and the Kennedy Center will host Tony Award-winning director Alex Timbers’ adaptation this coming August. Filled with glitz, glamour and plenty of grandeur, the play is sure to electrify audiences with its stirring arrangements and dance numbers.

 

Crowd of listeners at DCJazzFest

DC JazzFest – Sept. 1-4

The ultimate American art form comes to DC stages with leading artists from all over the world during this annual festival. Performances, which take place across the city, are both free and ticketed. Check out a 2022 recap and psych yourself up for what promises to be an even bigger celebration in 2023.

 

Adams Morgan Day – Mid-September

The longest-running neighborhood festival in the District will celebrate 45 years in 2023. The lively 18th Street will be buzzing with music, food vendors, for-sale artwork and family-friendly activities. Celebrate one of DC’s liveliest, most diverse neighborhoods with this day-long extravaganza that is led by volunteers and showcases the businesses, artists and organizations that make up Adams Morgan.

 

Walkingtown DC – Late September

Cultural Tourism DC showcases the incredible walkability of the nation’s capital during Walkingtown DC, a free, week-long public tour program. In total, dozens of guided walking tours are held throughout the District, including neighborhood showcases, themed excursions, historical journeys and many more. Historians, licensed tour guides, community leaders and business owners, among others, host these adventures that will take you to both well-known and hidden gems across DC.

 

The reopened National Museum of Women in the Arts – Fall 2023

The only museum solely dedicated to highlighting women artists will reopen its doors with improved interior and exterior spaces, new mechanical systems, enhanced amenities and accessibility, enlarged gallery space and additional research and education space.

 

Mark Rothko: Paintings on Paper – Nov. 19 – March 31, 2024

Known for his abstract paintings on canvas (some of which can be seen at the Phillips Collection in DC), Mark Rothko also crafted more than 1,000 paintings on paper over the course of his illustrious, decades-long career. The National Gallery of Art will showcase more than 100 of these tableaus, many of which will be on view to the public for the first time, making for a unique opportunity to see new work from one of the most important artists of the 20th century.

 

Downtown Holiday Market – Late November – Mid-December

DC’s free-to-frequent downtown bazaar is centrally located in front of the Smithsonian American Art Museum and National Portrait Gallery. The beloved market stretches across two blocks of F Street between 7th and 9th streets. Scope out eclectic wares from dozens of pop-up tents with seasonally flavored music performed live in the background. Locally roasted coffee and crafted-before-your-eyes mini-doughnuts inspire a cold-weather appetite, creating a holiday atmosphere you won’t find anywhere else in the city.

 

National Menorah Lighting – Dec. 7

Chanukah kicks off with this lighting ceremony of the world’s largest menorah on the White House Ellipse, which greets all with latkes, doughnuts, menorah kits and dreidels. Music from the United States Navy Band will add a soundtrack to the scene. As is the custom, a new candle is illuminated on each of the eight days of Chanukah.

 

National Christmas Tree Lighting – Early December

The National Christmas Tree is DC’s claim to fame during the holidays, and for good reason. The gorgeous conifer lives in President’s Park on the White House Ellipse, where it's surrounded by trees decorated with handmade ornaments from 56 U.S. states and territories and is accompanied by nightly musical performances throughout the holiday season. The display is free to visit.
 

Partner Content
Partner Content