You are here

National Symphony Orchestra: Dvořák's Cello Concerto

Daily, February 6, 2020 - February 9, 2020
Times Vary

“Music is life,” declared Carl Nielsen, “and like it, inextinguishable.” Composed against the backdrop of World War I, Nielsen’s Fourth is one of the most dramatic of symphonies ever composed, from the volcanic opening to the thrilling finale with a duel for two sets of timpani. French German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt makes his NSO debut playing a Dvořák favorite, the sublime Cello Concerto. This is music that makes you feel alive, and conductor Edward Gardner has it pulsing through his veins. 

Event Location

John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts
2700 F St. NW,
Washington, DC 20566
Foggy Bottom


(202) 467-4600

Admission: $15.00 - $99.00


Posted by: John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts