跳到主要內容
首頁

藝術+工業大廈

史密森尼藝術與工業大樓的“未來”

您的“未來”指南

去史密森尼藝術 + 工業大樓旅行

史密森尼 (Smithsonian) 最近翻修的傑作展示了一個開創性的新展覽,它將帶您及時地來回走動——不需要德洛林。

期貨 是史密森尼對未來的第一次重大建築範圍探索,並在近二十年來首次重新開放該機構最古老的博物館。 部分展覽,部分節日,將於 20 月 6 日開幕,一直持續到 2022 年 175 月 32,000 日,慶祝史密森學會成立 150 週年,佔地 XNUMX 平方英尺,展示了 XNUMX 多個融合藝術、技術的令人敬畏的物品、想法、原型和裝置,設計和歷史,以幫助遊客想像許多可能的未來。 繼續閱讀有關這種千載難逢的 DC 體驗的更多精彩細節,並確保在日曆上標記 我們夢想的未來 社區周末,其中將有一個 來自社會正義和節目策展人 Monica O. Montgomery,關於社區行動和講故事(14 月 XNUMX 日), 虛擬電影首映 隨後是與電影製作人的問答環節(15 月 XNUMX 日)和 特別的家庭日 (16月XNUMX日)。

 

像所有美好的未來一樣,它始於派對。

慶典正式拉開帷幕 期貨混音 在開幕週末(19 月 21 日至 XNUMX 日),這是一個免費的節日,包括面對面參觀、週六的公共音樂會、週日的家庭日以及為期三天的虛擬對話、表演和預覽。 就像裝置本身一樣,這個週末派對將邀請所有年齡段的人體驗一個完全想像的未來,當不同觀點的人聚集在一起學習、解決問題和創造時。 確保 敬請回复 並為比爾·奈、卡爾·潘、科學家瑪麗亞等人的精彩節目做好準備。

 

聖路易斯精神 - 史密森學會

史密森學會

您可以在一切開始的地方看到接下來會發生什麼。

歷史 “博物館之母”是一個複雜的問題。 然而,貫穿始終的一個共同點是:它作為偉大思想和現代奇蹟的家園的地位。 受 1876 年世界博覽會的啟發,國家博物館(當時稱為)逐漸從實時展示歷史(聖路易斯精神在飛行兩週後在那裡展示)逐漸演變為一個可容納七人的孵化器史密森尼收藏(包括航空航天、自然歷史和美國歷史)。 現在, 期貨過去 作為藝術 + 工業大樓 (AIB) 變革性新篇章的一部分,將重點展示史密森尼歷史上的文物。

 

一走進門或“跨過門檻”,您的思緒就會被震撼 擴展現在

Soo Sunny Park 的 擴展現在 將在您進入 AIB 時向您致意。 彩虹色裝置作為從現在到未來的門戶——一個“介於兩者之間”的空間。 由金屬釘、柵欄和 NASA 創造的稱為“二向色玻璃”的材料製成, 擴展現在 將根據觀看者的位置、天氣和時間全天以各種方式反射光線。

 

期貨 是由用戶激活的活的展覽。

你將能夠將未來變成一場內在的俏皮冒險 鼓舞人心的未來,您可以隨意使用眾多互動元素。 Doing Nothing With AI 是設計師 Emanuel Gollob 的裝置作品,邀請您進行創造性的白日夢。 與藝術家 Tamiko Thiel 和合作者 /p 一起走進未來派景觀,他們通過增強現實技術呈現野花草地。 想像一下新的食物、物種、棲息地、材料等等。

 

體驗技術如何團結我們所有人。

期貨 還深入探討了我們的“正常”在未來幾年可能會是什麼樣子。 有效的期貨 重點介紹可作為旅行、太空探索、農業和文化遺產保護領域解決方案的引人入勝的技術發明。 展示的創新包括 Virgin Hyperloop Pegasus、BioSuit 和 Mineral Rover。 在 團結的期貨,您可以發現新的、富有成效的方式來協作、聯繫和挖掘我們共同的人性。 與“The Co-Lab”的人工智能設計合作夥伴共同設計一個可持續和包容的社區,與 Devan Shimoyama 的“The Grove”裝置一起進入森林,觀看社區如何通過“Futures We Dream”實現夢想” 紀錄片系列。

合作夥伴內容
合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Home

Arts + Industries Building

'FUTURES' at Smithsonian's Arts and Industries Building

Your Guide to ‘FUTURES’

Go time traveling at the Smithsonian’s Arts + Industries Building

Smithsonian's recently renovated masterpiece unveils a groundbreaking new exhibit that will take you backwards and forwards in time – no DeLorean needed.

FUTURES is the Smithsonian’s first major building-wide exploration of the future and reopens the institution’s oldest museum for the first time in nearly two decades. The part-exhibition, part-festival, which opens Nov. 20 and runs through July 6, 2022, celebrates the Smithsonian’s 175th anniversary with 32,000 square feet featuring more than 150 awe-inspiring objects, ideas, prototypes and installations that fuse art, technology, design and history to help visitors imagine many possible futures on the horizon. Read on for more fascinating details of this once-in-a-lifetime, only-in-DC experience.

 

Like all good futures, it starts with a party.

The celebration officially kicks off with FUTURES Remixed on opening weekend (Nov. 19-21), a free festival that includes in-person tours, a public concert on Saturday, a family day on Sunday and virtual conversations, performances and previews across all three days. Like the installation itself, this weekend-long party will invite people of all ages to experience a radically imagined future when those of diverse perspectives come together to learn, problem solve and create. Make sure to RSVP and prepare for a riveting slate of programming featuring Bill Nye, Kal Penn, Mariah the Scientist and many more.

 

Spirit of St. Louis - Smithsonian Institution

Smithsonian Institution

You can see what’s next in the place where it all started.

The history of the “mother of museums” is a complicated one. However, there’s one common thread throughout: its status as a home for big ideas and modern marvels. Inspired by the World’s Fair of 1876, the National Museum (as it was then known) gradually evolved from a real-time showcase of history (the Spirit of St. Louis was displayed there just two weeks after it flew) to an incubator for seven Smithsonian collections (including Air and Space, Natural History and American History). Now, Futures Past will highlight artifacts from throughout Smithsonian’s history as part of the Arts + Industries Building’s (AIB) transformative new chapter.

 

Your mind will be blown as soon as you walk in the door – or “cross the threshold” – into the Expanded Present

Soo Sunny Park’s Expanded Present will greet you upon your entrance to AIB. The iridescent installation serves as a portal from the present into the future – an “in between” space of sorts. Created with metal studs, fencing and a material created by NASA called “dichroic glass,” Expanded Present will reflect light in a variety of ways throughout the day based on the viewer’s position, weather and time.

 

FUTURES is a living exhibit activated by the user.

You will be able to turn the future into a playful adventure inside Futures that Inspire, with numerous interactive elements at your disposal. Doing Nothing With AI, an installation by designer Emanuel Gollob, invites you to creatively daydream. Step into a futuristic landscape with artists Tamiko Thiel and collaborator /p, who present a wildflower meadow via augmented reality. Imagine new foods, species, habitats, materials and much, much more.

 

Experience how technology can unite all of us.

FUTURES also dives into how our “normal” may look in the years ahead. Futures that Work highlights fascinating technological inventions that can serve as solutions in the fields of travel, space exploration, farming and the preservation of cultural heritages. Showcased innovations include the Virgin Hyperloop Pegasus, the BioSuit and the Mineral Rover. In Futures that Unite, you can discover new, productive ways to collaborate, connect and tap into our common humanity. Co-design a sustainable and inclusive community with an AI design partner at “The Co-Lab,” journey into the forest with Devan Shimoyama’s “The Grove” installation and watch how communities come together to make dreams come true through the “Futures We Dream” documentary series.

Partner Content
Partner Content