跳到主要內容
首頁

映射 IT

地圖圖標 關閉圖示
國家廣場上的國家非裔美國人歷史和文化博物館和華盛頓紀念碑

免費博物館之都



預訂您的下一個國家首都假期,並免費參觀這些地區唯一的博物館

在計劃假期時,華盛頓特區應該是您的首選。 國家首都提供 100 多項免費活動,但毫無疑問,博物館是最受歡迎的景點之一。

 

我們已經詳細介紹了該市四個最受歡迎的博物館(包括一個專門展示活體動物的博物館),其中任何一個都不收費。

國家動物園入口

史密森尼國家動物園

在這個國家首都的中心,有一個通往世界各地野生動物的門戶。 史密森尼國家動物園通過伍德利公園附近 163 英畝的城市公園提供第一手的、適合家庭的體驗,公園里約有 2,700 只動物,代表 390 多個物種。

 

該動物園還與史密森尼保護生物學研究所(位於弗吉尼亞州 Front Royal 的非公共設施)相連,這是一項保護物種和培訓未來保護主義者的全球努力。 對保護瀕危動物的關注延伸到動物園,因為其展出的物種中有五分之一屬於這一類。

面對邊緣:國家動物園的保護勝利

歷史

DC 的動物園故事始於 1886 年,當時國家博物館的活體動物部成立。 到 1889 年,國會通過一項法案正式創建了動物園,計劃由史密森學會的秘書塞繆爾·蘭利、環保主義者威廉·坦普爾·霍納迪和設計美國國會大廈場地的景觀設計師弗雷德里克·勞·奧姆斯特德監督。

三人組為動物愛好者創造了一個公共目的地,也為北美遭受襲擊的野生動物提供了一個避難所。

 

到 1960 年代,動物園已經從展示少量外來動物物種轉變為保護的主要力量,因為它的努力更加專注於繁殖和研究瀕危物種,並為其居民提供專業的醫療保健。 1958年,動物園聘請了第一位全職獸醫。 到 1975 年,保護和研究中心成立,現在被稱為上述史密森對話生物學研究所。

 

經驗

今天參觀國家動物園  (通行證 必須)並準備好在這片動物奇觀的綠洲中目瞪口呆。 有 18 個不同的區域可供探索,請務必穿上最好的步行鞋。 大熊貓棲息地是動物園的一個顯著景點,梅香(成年雌性)和田甜(成年雄性)的心愛二人組就居住在這裡。

 

美香已經生下了三隻倖存的幼崽,生下了一個男嬰,名叫小七姬。 跟著動物園看 熊貓攝像頭.

 

一定要參觀大像小徑,在那裡您可以在兩英畝的戶外空間觀察亞洲象。 小哺乳動物館是名副其實的物種綜藝節目; 金獅狨猴、狐猴、貓鼬、狐狸、雪貂、貓鼬和犰狳都生活在這裡。 Great Ape House 是大猩猩和猩猩的家園,您可能會看到後者在 O Line 上晃來晃去,這是一條 50 英尺高的懸索軌道,延伸到棲息地外。 爬行動物探索中心會讓孩子們驚嘆於眼鏡王蛇、響尾蛇、陸龜、鱷魚和吉拉怪物; 科莫多龍展覽也位於大樓後面。 還有獅子、老虎、熊、野牛……我們可以繼續前進。 你應該繼續 開始規劃你的路線.

 

星球詞

免費博物館 通過互動展覽和以文字為主題的裝置突出了語言的不可思議的力量。 Planet Word 是世界上第一個聲控博物館,這是一項技術成就,旨在通過多元文化的視角激發對識字的熱愛。

 

在這麼多話...

 

  • 位於 925 13th Street NW in the Franklin School 大樓,DC 的第一所公立學校之一
  • 世界上第一個無線語音傳輸的地點,由亞歷山大·格雷厄姆·貝爾於 1880 年進行
  • 一次重大修復重振了大廳,複製了原始壁畫和大樓梯

 

 

閱讀更多關於免費活動的信息

免費活動:華盛頓特區的博物館

了解為什麼 DC 是免費博物館和互動展覽之都...

自由活動之都

訪問一個以莫桑比克為特色的首都,為您的下一個假期節省開支。

自由活動:秋天在華盛頓特區

隨著今年秋天樹葉變色,是時候探索一些 D...

免費活動:最好的華盛頓特區

發現最好的免費體驗、景點和活動......

免費活動:適合家庭

經驗

這座最先進的博物館因其令人驚嘆的互動能力而立即脫穎而出。 作為遊客,您通過接觸書面文字和口語使建築栩栩如生,從而獲得該地區與眾不同的體驗。 致智者的一句話:雖然Planet Word 不收取入場費, 鼓勵捐贈.

 

會說話的柳樹是開創性藝術家 Rafael Lozano-Hemmer 在 DC 的第一個永久性裝置,當客人通過其分支機構時,會以數百種語言歡迎客人。 身臨其境的金屬雕塑看起來像垂柳,具有 364 個獨立揚聲器和 3.6 英里的以太網電纜。

 

藝術作品展覽

Planet Word的上層由三個展品組成,包括 第一句話,它著眼於我們如何學習我們的第一語言。 口語世界 通過 31 種母語的使用者和手語者,全球語言的多樣性會讓您驚嘆不已。 會說話的 22 英尺高的牆 詞從何而來? 檢查英語語言和許多常用單詞的起源。
 

博物館的中層也許是最冒險的地方。 你可以測試你的公開演講技巧,用文字來改變你周圍房間的顏色,瀏覽一個充滿文學秘密的神奇圖書館(和密室),其中一些你可以放在桌子上的書“活起來”與數字圖像。 您還可以唱卡拉 OK 風格的標誌性歌曲,並進入幽默畫廊,以確定您的工作人員中最有趣的成員。 在較低的樓層, 文字很重要 展覽提供了一個錄音室,歡迎您分享文字如何改變您的生活的故事。 您還可以聽到來自世界各地其他人的故事。 我被賣了! 展示廣告商如何使用語言來影響消費者,並要求您製作自己的文案。

直到您查看 Planet Word 的 Shared Studios 門戶,您的訪問才算完成,該門戶配備了視聽技術,可讓您與來自世界各地的市民交談和互動,就像您在同一個房間一樣。 Planet Word 和 Shared Studios 還合作開展了 DIVERCITIES 計劃,該計劃將連接 DC 當地人與來自世界各地的詩人、藝術家、記者和活動家的對話。

星球詞已經重新開放! 有關門票、營業時間和活動安排的更多信息,請訪問博物館的 網站.

 

國家廣場上的國家非裔美國人歷史和文化博物館和華盛頓紀念碑

艾倫·卡奇默

史密森尼國家歷史博物館

當這個 地標性博物館 開幕後,這個國家的首都為國家廣場增添了另一個建築奇蹟。 由著名的大衛·阿賈耶 (David Adjaye) 設計,外觀是一個精心製作的三層青銅色屏風,其格子向美國南部被奴役的非裔美國人鍛造的複雜鐵製品致敬。 在踏入內部之前,您會意識到一段令人震驚的重要歷史正在等待著您。 博物館是非裔美國人故事的發源地,在很多方面,這都是美國本身的故事。

強調

歷史

經過近一個世紀的建設,該博物館於 24 年 2016 月 3,500 日開幕,現已成為美國黑人歷史的主要中心,展出約 XNUMX 件文物。

 

早在 1915 年,黑人聯盟軍的退伍軍人聚集在華盛頓舉行團聚。 這些為維護一個奴役他們和他們祖先的國家而奮鬥的人,仍然遭受著暴力歧視。

反過來,退伍軍人成立了一個委員會,以紀念非裔美國人的成就。 到 1929 年,赫伯特·胡佛總統任命了自己的委員會負責建造國家紀念碑,但國會不支持該項目,私人籌款也沒有成功。

 

官僚和立法爭論持續了幾十年; 傳奇的眾議員約翰·劉易斯和眾議員米奇·利蘭於 1989 年首次為史密森學會下屬的獨立非裔美國人歷史博物館提出立法,但直到 19 年 2003 月 16 日,眾議院才正式通過了國家非裔美國人歷史博物館和文化法案,然後於 13 月 600,000 日簽署成為法律。從那時起,距離博物館正式開放又過去了 XNUMX 年,四層博物館的選址和設計競賽、建築變化和大規模建設都起到了作用。 然而,博物館一開館就引起了極大的興趣,前三個月就有XNUMX萬人參觀,這促使必須定時通行才能進入這個非常受歡迎的景點。

 

經驗

一次參觀不可能完成整個博物館。 其展品的廣度確實令人驚訝,因為博物館描繪了 500 年經驗的生動畫面。 在您度過難關時,給自己一些時間來安慰和沈思。

 

事實上,博物館的一個區域是專門為這一行為建造的:沉思法庭。 這個房間的位置是為了迎接您的到來 奴隸制與自由 展覽,一個特別有啟發性的部分,肯定會激起情緒。 該展覽使用第一人稱敘述和引人注目的歷史文物。 您將追溯從 15 世紀的非洲和歐洲到美國內戰和重建的奴隸制。 這段重要的歷史強調了美國的奴隸制和自由深深地交織在一起,而奴隸制的故事實際上是一個共同的故事,它位於該國政治、經濟和日常生活的核心。

 

捍衛自由, 定義自由不斷變化的美國 也有啟示意義。 前者涵蓋了種族隔離的時代和民權運動的開始,突出了美國黑人在建立文化身份和他們自己的社區方面所面臨和征服的鬥爭。 後者從 1968 年到現在,涵蓋了從小馬丁路德金的暗殺到巴拉克奧巴馬的兩屆總統任期,從黑豹到#BlackLivesMatter。

 

音樂十字路口 展覽是一個迷人的黑人音樂膠囊。 在採樣和學習從爵士樂到靈魂樂再到嘻哈音樂的一系列流派中,您將了解黑人音樂家如何帶來新的表達形式,為自由、正義和變革點燃蠟燭。 體育:平整比賽場地 展示了非裔美國人在為爭取平等和認可而不斷奮鬥的過程中在場內和場外做出的貢獻。 從傑基·羅賓遜 (Jackie Robinson) 到奧運選手,再到 NFL 超級巨星,這場展覽廣撒網。

 

有關參觀史密森尼國家非裔美國人歷史和文化博物館的更多信息,包括時間、定時通行證、展品和文物,請訪問博物館的 網站. 您還可以查看 我們的博物館參觀指南.

 

國家美術館

DC 作為藝術創造力燈塔的地位始於 國家美術館. 校園由兩座建築、一座雕塑花園和一個溜冰場組成,是跨越多個國家和歷史時代的完整、生動的藝術文獻。 其藏品總計約 150,000 幅繪畫、素描、雕塑、照片和其他形式的媒體,可追溯至中世紀。

 

作為您在世界任何地方都能找到的完整系列,畫廊擁有強大的藝術家名人錄:達芬奇、梵高、塞尚、雷諾阿、卡薩特、畢加索、達利、羅斯科、波洛克、沃霍爾、奧基夫.

西樓

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

國家美術館 (@ngadc) 分享的帖子

對西樓的探索仍然像美國一樣具有啟發性和感人的博物館體驗。數以千計的重要作品,按時期和民族來源組織,排列在兩層展覽空間的壯觀而綜合的畫廊中。 主樓層展示了可追溯到 13 世紀的歐洲繪畫和雕塑,以及開創性的美國藝術。 在一樓,您可以欣賞馬奈、雷諾阿、塞尚和達芬奇等重要大師的作品,以及裝飾藝術、版畫和素描。 博物館寬敞的禮品店也位於一樓,非常值得一遊,因為它的產品可以讓您更深入地了解迷人的藝術歷史和演變。

東樓

貝聿銘魔幻般的東樓在 2010 年代大修後更顯壯觀。 兩個天窗通透的塔樓畫廊和兩個樓梯連接了博物館的各個層次。 屋頂露台讓人們可以反射性地凝視憲法大道,並提供引人注目的 哈恩/公雞 凱瑟琳·弗里奇 (Katherine Fritsch) 的雕塑,一隻 15 英尺高、令人眼花繚亂的藍色公雞。 裡面有 500 多件引領潮流的藝術作品,包括亞歷山大·考爾德、芭芭拉·克魯格、賈斯珀·約翰斯、巴勃羅·畢加索和馬克·羅斯科的作品。 設計時尚的機翼與整個 DC 的 Beaux Arts 和古典建築形成鮮明對比,代表著進入藝術領域的遠航。

 

連接東西方建築是 Leo Villareal 令人難以置信的 多元宇宙 安裝。 超過 41,000 個 LED 節點照亮了 200 英尺的空間,創造了抽象的配置,當您通過地下大廳從一棟建築前往另一棟建築時,這些配置確實照亮了您的道路。 旅程也代表了博物館的隱喻轉型; 您是在畫廊的收藏中向前或向後旅行,具體取決於您要離開的建築物。

 

國家美術館定期舉辦臨時展覽,突出展示各種媒介的傑出藝術家。 從文藝復興時期的大師到現代的奇蹟,您將能夠欣賞到先進和挑戰形式和結構的創作。 一定要看看博物館的 當前的展品和裝置 當您計劃訪問時。

 

有關國家美術館的更多信息,請訪問其 網站 並查看我們的 博物館指南. 我們還建議您查看我們的 以照片為中心的重新設計的東樓.

 

合作夥伴內容

Skip to main content
Home

MAP IT

mapit icon close icon
National Museum of African American History and Culture on the National Mall with Washington Monument

The Capital of Free Museums



Book your next vacation to the nation’s capital and visit these only-in-the-District museums, free of charge

As you return to traveling this year, Washington, DC should be at the very top of your list. The nation’s capital offers more than 100 free things to do, but it should come as no surprise that museums are some of the most popular attractions.

 

We’ve gone into deep detail on four of the city’s most popular museums (including one dedicated to living animals), none of which charge admission.

 

Find the latest updates on visiting museums, including Smithsonian's plans to have all of its museums open by the end of August 2021, mask mandates for all indoor museums and the latest ticketing requirements. 

National Zoo entrance

Smithsonian's National Zoo

In the heart of the nation’s capital lives a portal to wildlife from around the world. Smithsonian’s National Zoo offers a firsthand, family-friendly experience through a 163-acre urban park in the Woodley Park neighborhood teeming with roughly 2,700 animals that represent more than 390 species.

 

The zoo is also connected to the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (a non-public facility located in Front Royal, Va.), a global effort to conserve species and train future conservationists. This focus on preserving endangered animals extends to the zoo, as one-fifth of its exhibited species fall into this category.

Facing the Brink: Conservation Wins at the National Zoo

History

DC’s zoo story begins back in 1886, with the founding of the National Museum’s Department of Living Animals. By 1889, an act of Congress officially created the zoo, with plans overseen by secretary of the Smithsonian Samuel Langley, conservationist William Temple Hornaday and landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted, who designed the grounds of the U.S. Capitol.

The trio created both a public destination for animal lovers and a refuge for wildlife under attack in North America.

 

By the 1960s, the zoo had moved from exhibiting a small collection of exotic animal species to becoming a major force for conservation, as its efforts focused more intently on breeding and studying endangered species and providing its inhabitants with professional healthcare. In 1958, the zoo hired its first full-time veterinarian. By 1975, the Conservation and Research Center was founded, which is now known as the aforementioned Smithsonian Conversation Biology Institute.

 

Experience

Visit the National Zoo today (timed entry passes are required) and prepare to be dazzled in this oasis of animal wonders. With 18 distinct areas to explore, make sure to don your best walking shoes. The Giant Panda Habitat is a notable attraction for the Zoo, where the beloved duo of Mei Xiang (adult female) and Tian Tian (adult male) reside.

 

Mei Xiang, having already given birth to three surviving cubs, birthed a baby boy named Xiao Qi Ji. Follow along by watching the zoo’s panda cam.

 

Make sure you visit Elephant Trails, where you can observe Asian elephants in a two-acre outdoor space. The Small Mammal House is a veritable variety show of species; golden lion tamarins live here, as do lemurs, meerkats, foxes, ferrets, mongooses and armadillos. The Great Ape House is home to gorillas and orangutans and you might see the latter swinging around on the O Line, a 50-foot-high suspended cable track that extends outside the habitat. The Reptile Discovery Center will have the kids marveling at king cobras, rattlesnakes, tortoises, crocodiles and gila monsters; a Komodo dragon exhibit is also located just behind the building. There’s also lions, tigers, bears, bison...we could keep going. You should just go ahead and start planning your route.

 

Planet Word

The newest addition to DC’s robust roster of free museums highlights the incredible power of language through interactive exhibits and word-themed installations. Planet Word is the world’s first voice-activated museum, a technological achievement that aims to inspire a love of literacy through a multicultural lens.

 

In So Many Words ...

 

  • Located at 925 13th Street NW in the Franklin School building, one of DC’s first public schools
  • The site of the world’s first wireless voice transmission, conducted by Alexander Graham Bell in 1880
  • A major restoration revitalized the Great Hall, replicating the original frescos and grand staircases

 

 

Read More About Free Things to Do

Free Things to Do: Museums in Washington, DC

Find out why DC is the capital of free museums and interactive exhib...

The Capital of Free Things to Do

Save on your next vacation by visiting a capital city featuring monu...

Free Things to Do: Fall in Washington, DC

As the leaves change color this fall, it’s time to explore some of D...

Free Things to Do: Best of Washington, DC

Discover the best free experiences, attractions and things to do i...

Free things to do: Family-Friendly

Experience

The state-of-the-art museum immediately stands out for its awe-inspiring interactive capabilities. As a visitor, you bring the building to life by engaging with the written word and spoken language, making for an experience unlike any other in the District. A Word to the wise: While Planet Word does not charge admission, donations are encouraged.

 

The Speaking Willow Tree, the first permanent installation in DC by trailblazing artist Rafael Lozano-Hemmer, welcomes guests in hundreds of languages as they pass through its branches. The immersive metal sculpture designed to look like a weeping willow features 364 individual speakers and 3.6 miles of ethernet cable.

 

Exhibits

The upper floor of Planet Word consists of three exhibits, including First Words, which looks at how we learn our first language. The Spoken World will amaze you with the diversity of languages around the globe through speakers and signers of 31 native tongues. The talking, 22-foot-tall wall Where Do Words Come From? examines the English language and origins of many commonly used words.
 

The museum’s middle floor is perhaps its most adventurous. You can test out your public speaking skills, use words to transform the color in the room around you, browse a magical library (and secret room) filled with literary secrets, in which certain books you can place on the table "come to life" with digital images. You can also sing an iconic song karaoke-style and step into a humor gallery to determine the funniest member of your crew. On the lower floor, the Words Matter exhibit offers a recording booth that welcomes you to share a story of how words have changed your life. You can also hear stories from others around the globe. I’m Sold! showcases how advertisers use language to influence consumers and asks you to craft your own copy.

Your visit is not complete until you check out Planet Word’s Shared Studios’ Portal, which is equipped with audio-visual technology that allows you to converse and interact with citizens from all over the globe as if you were in the same room. Planet Word and Shared Studios have also collaborated on the DIVERCITIES initiative, which will connect DC locals to moderated conversations with poets, artists, journalists and activists from around the world.

Planet Word has reopened! For more information about tickets, hours and event programming, visit the museum’s website.

 

National Museum of African American History and Culture on the National Mall with Washington Monument

Alan Karchmer

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

When this landmark museum opened, the nation’s capital added yet another architectural marvel to the National Mall. Designed by the renowned David Adjaye, the exterior is a masterfully crafted, three-tiered bronze-colored screen, with a lattice that pays tribute to the intricate ironwork forged by enslaved African Americans in the southern United States. Before stepping inside, you’re made aware that an astounding and essential history awaits. The museum is home to the African American story, which in many ways is the story of America itself.

Highlights

History

Opened on Sept. 24, 2016 after nearly a century’s worth of pushes for such a facility, the museum has become the major hub for Black history in the U.S., with roughly 3,500 artifacts on view.

 

Back in 1915, Black Union Army veterans gathered in DC for a reunion. These men, who fought to maintain a country that had enslaved them and their ancestors, were still experiencing violent discrimination.

In turn, the veterans formed a committee to build a memorial to African American accomplishments. By 1929, President Herbert Hoover had appointed his own commission charged with building a national memorial, but Congress did not support the project and private fundraising was unsuccessful.

 

Bureaucratic and legislative debates raged on for decades; the legendary Rep. John Lewis and Rep. Mickey Leland first introduced legislation for a standalone African American history museum under the Smithsonian Institution in 1989, but not until Nov. 19, 2003 did the House of Representatives officially pass the National Museum of African American History and Culture Act, which was then signed into law on Dec. 16. From there, another 13 years passed before the museum officially opened, with siting and design competitions, architectural changes and extensive construction for the four-level museum all playing a factor. However, upon opening its doors, the museum saw incredible interest, with 600,000 people visiting in its first three months, which prompted the necessity of timed passes to enter the immensely popular attraction.

 

Experience

Navigating the entirety of the museum can’t be done in one visit. The breadth of its exhibits is truly astonishing, as the museum paints a vivid picture of 500 years of experience. Give yourself time for solace and contemplation as you make your way through.

 

In fact, one area of the museum was built specifically for this act: the Contemplative Court. This room is situated so as to welcome you right after encountering the Slavery and Freedom exhibit, a particularly illuminating section that is sure to stir emotions. The exhibit uses first-person accounts and striking historical artifacts. You will trace slavery from 15th century Africa and Europe to the Civil War and Reconstruction in the United States. This vital history emphasizes that American slavery and freedom are deeply intertwined, and that the story of slavery is in fact a shared one that resides at the core of the country’s politics, economics and daily life.

 

Defending Freedom, Defining Freedom and A Changing America are also revelatory. The former covers the era of segregation and the onset of the Civil Rights Movement, highlighting the struggle that Black Americans faced and conquered in establishing a cultural identity and their own communities. The latter goes from 1968 until the present, covering everything from the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. to Barack Obama’s two terms as president, journeying from the Black Panthers to #BlackLivesMatter.

 

The Musical Crossroads exhibit is a captivating capsule of Black music. In sampling and learning about an array of genres, from jazz to soul to hip-hop, you’ll learn how Black musicians brought forth new forms of expression that lit a candle for liberty, justice and change. Sports: Leveling the Playing Field showcases the contributions that African Americans have made both on and off the field in a constant struggle for equality and recognition. From Jackie Robinson to Olympians to NFL superstars, the exhibit casts a wide net.

 

For more information about visiting the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, including hours, timed passes, exhibits, artifacts and health and safety protocols, visit the museum’s website. You can also check out our guide to visiting the museum.

 

National Gallery of Art

DC’s status as a beacon of artistic creativity begins with the National Gallery of Art. Composed of two buildings, a sculpture garden and an ice rink, the campus is a thorough, living document of art across numerous countries and historical eras. Its collection totals roughly 150,000 paintings, drawings, sculptures, photographs and other forms of media, stretching all the way back to the Middle Ages.

 

As complete of a collection as you'll find anywhere in the world, the Gallery features a who's who of powerhouse artists: Da Vinci, Van Gogh, Cézanne, Renoir, Cassatt, Picasso, Dalí, Rothko, Pollock, Warhol, O'Keeffe.

West Building

An exploration of the West Building is still as revelatory and moving of a museum experience as exists in the U.S. Thousands of essential works, organized by period and national origin, are arranged in spectacular and comprehensive galleries across two floors of exhibition space. The main floor features European paintings and sculptures that date as far back as the 13th century, as well as seminal American art. On the ground floor, gaze at pieces by essential masters such as Manet, Renoir, Cézanne and Da Vinci, as well as decorative art, prints and drawings. The museum’s expansive gift shop, also located on the ground floor, is well worth a visit, as its offerings allow for an even deeper dive into the fascinating history and evolution of art.

East Building

I.M. Pei’s magical East Building is an even grander spectacle after its overhaul in the 2010s. Two sky-lit tower galleries and two staircases connect all levels of the museum. The rooftop terrace allows for a reflective gaze over Constitution Avenue and offers the striking Hahn/Cock sculpture by Katherine Fritsch, a dazzling blue rooster that stands 15 feet tall. Inside, more than 500 trendsetting works of art await, including pieces by Alexander Calder, Barbara Kruger, Jasper Johns, Pablo Picasso and Mark Rothko. The sleekly designed wing contrasts the Beaux Arts and Classical architecture throughout DC, representing a voyage into the outer ranges of the artistic spectrum.

 

Connecting the West and East Buildings is Leo Villareal’s incredible Multiverse installation. More than 41,000 LED nodes light up the 200-foot space, creating abstract configurations that literally light your way as you head from one building to the other via underground concourse. The journey also represents a metaphorical transformation of the museum; you’re either traveling forward or back in time in the Gallery’s collection, depending on which building you’re departing.

 

The National Gallery of Art regularly features temporary exhibits that highlight distinctive artists in a range of mediums. From Renaissance masters to modern day marvels, you will be able to take in creations that advance and challenge form and structure. Be sure to check out the museum’s current exhibits and installations as you plan a visit.

 

For more information regarding the National Gallery of Art, including hours and health and safety protocols, visit its website and check out our guide to the museum. We also recommend viewing our photo-centric look at the redesigned East Building.

 

Partner Content